We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's basic,and there's Jacks 1”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jack's Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kefalos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jack's Apartments
Ranked #35 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There's basic,and there's Jacks 1”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for a week and after reading many reviews,wasn't expecting a palace but apartments were lot worse. Arrived early hours,apartments in total darkness and no one to meet and greet. Had to search for key to room in the dark. Shower not attached to wall,so have to hold overhead to use,water spilling all over floor. Lots of stray hairs on floor and in sink area,no dustpan or brush in apartment,very uncomfortable beds leaving my legs with bruising from the springs,unclean and old sheets. Witnessed rep being shouted at by Jack on first day,gave very bad impression. Lack of lighting on surrounding area around apartments so not safe to walk to shops/restaurants after dark. Food and drink served at bar was best part of accommodation. Would never visit these apartments again,can't believe booked through Teletext. Do not think they should be selling this holiday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fanilow12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    11
    14
    20
See reviews for
31
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just spent 7 nights staying at Jack 2.

Billy and his wife could not have been more friendly and helpful, Jack and Maria were also great.

Our room was spotless when we arrived and the room was cleaned and all bed linen and towels were replaced once during our stay.

The pool area, bar and restaurant were great and we really enjoyed just relaxing around the pool most days.

We don't understand why some people have to complain as the price we paid Jack's was very good value indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Arrived at apartment to see that there were two builds. We were shown to our room by Jack who seemed a happy guy - that is until we saw the room. In all honesty room 9 in Jack 1 was filthy, drab, depressing and totally dire.

I went and asked if there were any other rooms available - Jack was not happy about this and asked why - I told him the room was dirty - he did not like that at all and barged past me. Honestly it was awful - so much so that we went off and found another lovely place to stay - spring studios. I did however, very much enjoy the pool - which was spotless and the people there. There was a very nice atmosphere - however the music blared up through the floor to room nine. I didn't stay there as stated - however, as I had hired a scooter I did spend a couple of days at the pool using the room just to make a cup of tea - then I would go back to the room that we had now paid for. Would I stay here - not a chance - drab, dirty and depressing - however - although I very much doubt it - it could of just been our bad luck to get room 9.

Room Tip: Do not go to Jack 1 you may have better luck in Jacks 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelsmagic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kefalos hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at Jacks 1, what a lovely place ever so friendly. Jack Maria George and Michael, there sons can't do enough for you, food splendid all home cooked. Met some amazing people who was on holiday with us to, if you want to look for faults. You can find a few at the end of the day you get what you pay for, myself have paid a lot more in other places. But not enjoyed myself as much as this place, and I will Deffo be going back there again. I would be on the next plane back, thank you all at Jacks for the friendliness you showed us all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Returned yesterday from Jacks apartments. Wonderful holiday, lovely value for money accommodation.
First advisory notes . . .
We didn't realise until we'll into the second week of our stay that wifi was available for just 5 euros for the whole stay ! We would have signed up on the first day !!!
We stayed at Jacks 2 which is run by Billy, Jack's brother. They are both gentlemen and cannot do enough for you if you ask. If you don't ask they just leave you alone to relax and enjoy your holiday.
If you are going to go here email ahead and ask for Jacks 2 apartments 10 or 12, the verandas are longer than the apartments. We stayed in J2 12 and were very happy with the apartment.
Apartments are comfy but basic and as mentioned on here the bathrooms are a bit claustrophobic but for the price we paid we were very happy. Some people who post on here must have automatic five star free auto status !!!
Kefalos was peaceful and absolutely perfect for the holiday we wanted. I'm sure the bar / restaurant owners would have liked it busier but it was perfect for us.
Restaurants we would recommend would be Maria's, Santa Barbara and, the one we ate most at, Aphrodites. Family run, who can't do enough for you.
Portions in Kefalos are generally very generous and I think me and missus P only completely finished our meals three or four times in our two week stay !!!
Overall, wonderful stay and the magic question . . .
Would we go back to the same venue and apartments . . .


Yes, tomorrow !!!

Room Tip: Ten or twelve in J 2 Get wifi for 5 € for whole stay at pool bar !!!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Forthright_budgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Myself, my wife and 10 month old baby girl just spent a week at jacks 1 apartments. Pool view even tho we didnt pay for it. Lol :))

Accomodation - basic but does the job.
Pool - fantastic and clean.
Food - home made greek food and more. Great portion sizes. (Try the jacks special 20 oz Steak) - mouthwatering and tasty. They even made vegetables freshly picked from their garden and mashed with chicken FREE of charge for our baby. :))

Drinks - local beer €1.50 - bargain. Milkshakes freshly made with ice cream - gorgeous.
Hosts - jack and his wife maria are true greeks very friendly. Amazing hosts. Make you feel very welcome and look after and cater for any needs. They arrange quad bikes and car hire direct from hotel. Even drop you back to the airport or shops. They even gave us all fresh towels when leaving our room at midday as our flight wasnt til 1am. At this place the rule is if you dont ask you dont get. :))

Overall -
If you have kids and want a fun, friendly warm welcome and value for money on accomodation, food and drinks then make a visit hear.
(I dont know why people write bad reviews about this place?? At the end of the day you get what you pay for. Its not 5 star so dont expect it. But if you want a good holiday at a good price then take a visit.
We will be returning).
The island is very hot but also has a lovely breeze so its fantastic for small / young children and families. :))

Happy Days :)
The Healans from Cardif - August 2013

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from a week at Jack I apartments. We enjoyed our stay very much, the pool area was lovely and clean with plenty of sun beds and a very nice pool bar with lovely staff. The rooms were basic and when we first arrived our room smelt a little musty however it cleared pretty quickly and didn't bother us too much. The balcony was a little disappointing and we didn't use it like we usually would on holiday but the drinks and food at the bar (and in Kefalos in general) was so cheap that it almost didn't make sense to eat in the apartments anyway! The food in Jacks was excellent and with €1.50 a beer you can't complain too much! The other guests at the hotel made our holiday great too- the outdoors bar area was pretty compact so you get to know people pretty quickly!

Kefalos was nice but it is pretty small and the wasn't loads to do. We got the local bus to Kos city which didn't cost too much and from there there are plenty of excursions out to different islands etc. the Agean Cruise was well worth the money. Watch out for the company's excursions such as 'bubble beach' and 'kos shopping' as they are much more expensive than getting the local bus and they don't offer anything different. We got the Bubble Beach excursion for free but it was literally just a coach to the beach, you still pay for sun beds or any activities you want to do when you get there.

Jack I and ii apartments are perfect if you are looking for a very cheap sun, sand and sea holiday.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
0.8 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maritsa Studios
Maritsa Studios
#5 of 14 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sacallis Inn Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kefalos Studios
Kefalos Studios
#40 of 151 in Kos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Bay
Royal Bay
#2 of 14 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack's Apartments

Property: Jack's Apartments
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jack's Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After thirty years working as a chef in the US, Jack returned to his homeland to run this attractive family business. Set back from the hustle and bustle of Kefalos resort and Kamari Bay, Jacks Apartments offer tranquility, great food and drink, a stunning swimming pool setting, and most of all wonderful Greek hospitality. The sumptuous food on offer is always freshly cooked, and only the best local produce is sourced, with the team proud to offer a 'don't like - don't pay' service. In the height of the season, the well-stocked bar stays open long into the Greek evenings and early hours. The team at Jacks are very proud that around 50% of their customers are return guests from previous years, but always want to welcome new holidaymakers to the gorgeous island of Kos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jack`s i And Ii Apartments
Jack`s i & Ii Apartments Hotel Kefalos
Jack's Apartments Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing