We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Archontia Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Archontia Studios
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just perfect”
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Excellent holiday both enjoyed it.Denise is a star and looked after us well.Met a nice couple from Lincoln but they did drink a lot which isn't that difficult the appartments are clean with all the basics.The hill going to appartments is steep and would not suit people with trouble walking but nothing bad to say of service,pool or staff actually considering retiring there next week and only 44 if i could.Never met anyone in two weeks who had a bad thing to say.Old George is so funny and his drinks are a good measure they put mine to shame its the only holiday i have actually felt depressed when going back home.Actually thought twice about putting a review on website if more people hear how good it is might not get in in September.

  • Liked — position,staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — plastic chairs but no great hardship,mosquitoes just get pugin and sprays
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piemuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Just returned from our first visit to Kefalos and stayed at these studios. Typical greek accommodation, try to get sea view room on top floor if possible as views over bay are amazing. Pool area with bar attached, run by the lovely Denise during the day, breakfast 4euro, and then salads, toasties etc available. Old George who runs the bar at night gives VERY good spirit measures for 3euro and will stay open until last person goes to bed. Family live on site - very friendly and welcoming. Kefalos bay area short stroll down hill (2 mins) and there is a wide range of bars and restaurants, enough to try somewhere new each night. Our faves for drinks was Bravo and One Stop for food. Prices very reasonable ie pizza/pasta 4euro and large mythos 1.5euro (cheapest greek resort we've been to by far). Flew with Air Malta, delayed on both journeys, although slightly more legroom than other holiday charter airlines, screen overhead show route, speed, distance etc.
Overall a laid back, relaxing resort, very quiet and recommended for couples wanting to "chill out" in the very hot sun!

  • Liked — no children!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovepefkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Archontia Studios is typical Greek self catering accommodation - that is to say it is fairly basic.
There is no "reception" and we were welcomed by one of the family who lived there - she did not speak English but we found our room with some pointing and gesturing. The owners of the studios are really helpful and welcoming - thanks to Denise and the Georges ( there were more than one George). It is the owners that really make the visit so pleasant
There is a "snack bar" that is open all hours.
The room was cleaned every other day so was OK. The bathroom was a challenge - the shower was a flexible tube coming from the taps on the wall. There was no facility to attach the shower head on the wall - so it had to be held with one hand whilst washing with the other. This was combined with the fact that there were no sides to the shower - so the room was soaked!
When we visited (May) there were loads of mosquitoes - be sure to get plug in repellants and sprays etc to avoid the bites.

Previous reviewers mentioned the hill up to the accommodation. Yes it is steep but not long - we timed it as less that 2 mins at "flip-flop" pace. We managed with no trouble - but I agree it could be a problem for those with mobility problems.

Be aware that European transfers to this accommodation are mostly Saturday night. We were asked to vacate our room 15 hours before collection! We payed extra to keep the room until midnight but still had to wait outside ( remember there is no indoor facility) until 3 am under a "lean to" next to the closed snack bar

  • Liked — Friendly owners
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

It was the first time i had ever been to kos and we booked up quite late so didnt really know what to expect but i had a great time. The studios were really clean, quite basic but had what you would need. There is also a handy little snack bar run by the owners family who are really friendly and helpful and made the stay even more enjoyable. There are only about 20 studios(i think!) so great if you dont like big complexes( not that there are many in kefalos). the location was great to and we were lucky to get a see view but non of the rooms had a bad view. Its just a short walk to the beach and all of the restaraunts and bars. However there is a bit of a slope to get up to the studios so like it says in the brochure it may not be suitable for people with walking difficulties( but its really not that bad- keeps you fit anyway!). There is also fan hire and saftey deposit boxes for a reasonable price and you can keep you room on for longer if you have a late fight. All in all i had an amazing holiday, the studios were great as was kefalos. There was plenty to do during the day(particularly watersports)and a good choice of resaraunts and bars (not really that lively -except in sydneys and players)

  • Liked — it was clean, friendly and great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed at the Archontia apartments in July 2007. It was our first time to KOS. We were looking for a quiet holiday away from the hustle & bustle of clubs and bars in high season... and that it what we got!!
The apartments are family run, basic but very clean and set back from the road. There is a steep winding hill up to the apartments, do not be put off by this as it is only a short walk and can be managed by even those with walking difficulties. There is a small pool with a pool side bar serving snacks and drinks until early hours of the morning. The family that own the apartments are very friendly and eager to assist. They will ensure that your stay is a good one. We would return to these apartments again. A ten minute stroll will lead you to the beach, tavernas and the 2 bars in the resort that play loud music. Not for the young and lively, but guaranteed for a peaceful relaxing holiday. Food quality is excellent in the resort tavernas and resturants, portions are huge and you will be under no pressure if you decide not to eat. the only down side is, you can not get a decent glass of wine. The beach and the resort is clean, crime almost non existent, food and drink prices very reasonable. Loved the whole holiday!!!

  • Liked — Good location for beach and resort. Clean apartments and friendly family owned.
  • Disliked — The shower head in all apartments is not wall hung.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

we have recently returned home after a lovely week in kos. we stayed at the Archontia studios in Kafalos and can only say that the hospitallity that we received was second to none, the people were lovely and the views over the bay just wonderful, it wont be long before we go back this time we will stay for three weeks.
A big thank you to all at the Archontia studios for making our holiday complete.

  • Liked — the views over the bay and the family atmospher of the hotel the pool was well kept too.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank libraWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

These studios are typically Greek in design,we found them to be very clean.Never had a problem with no hot water.They are a short walk from the beach,the walk up to the old town of Kefalos is much exaggerated,it is an easy walk helped by a flight of steps that cut off one huge corner,we are not youngsters (64+58)but did the walk several evenings to eat up there .All in all we enjoyed our holiday there and would return without hesitation.

  • Liked — simplicity
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrueGreen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sunny View Hotel
Sunny View Hotel
#26 of 39 in Kardamena
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manolis Studios
Manolis Studios
#7 of 14 in Kefalos
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kefalos Studios
Kefalos Studios
#41 of 151 in Kos
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archontia Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archontia Studios

Property: Archontia Studios
Address: Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Archontia Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Archontia Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archontia Studios Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing