We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Kordistos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kordistos Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Stayed for a week at the Kordistos Hotel - arrived early hours of the morning - keys were left on reception - it was really warm and we were very thirsty but there were no drinks available in the room or anywhere. We had a walk into the town but as it was so early there was no where open. Top tip buy a drink and water at the airport and take a travel kettle as these are not supplied. Having said all that the hotel was looked after mainly by family and a couple of polish girls - every request was dealt with not quickly but it was dealt with - the hotel itself is very clean if a little dated we had a side view room the view was stunning. The beach was on the door step. The breakfast was a bun and cake plus orange or grapefruit juice again the view from the restaurant was stunning - we ate at the hotel on a couple of occasions and the food was always good - try Captain Johns in the town the fish is amazing again you are always made very welcome and with every meal you get home made soup and pudding free - get the bus to Paradise Beach its worth a visit also we went to Kalymnos - get the bus to Mastichari and the ferry across - I think it was 6 euros its well worth the trip and much cheaper then booking with the rep - if you miss home go for drinks at the Riverside Cafe the english ladies there made us very welcome - also try the hotel next door Sacallis Inn Hotel - (Wish we had stayed there its lovely and had just had a big refurb this is also in First Choice (not sure why we hadn’t seen it on the web site) the weather was great with a gentle wind we came back with the best tan ever and we didn’t sit in the sun all day - Dont forget to get the bus to Kos its well worth the visit and the bus is very reliable - if you dont hire a car - go to Kastri car rentals they are will to run you anywhere on the island and they agree the cost before you take the trip - we wanted to go up to the village which is quite a hike in hot weather so we they drove us up there it was really worth the visit and there are plenty of bars and restaurants up there

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EARLGREY500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 229 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2008

kefalos is a very basic resort, not much going on. Best part is no wind, which there is on the north side.
hotel right on the beach. About 20 minutes walk from centre.
pool was very clean but cold. plenty of sun beds
breakfast was a large roll, jam, slice of ham and cheese tea/coffee/orange squash help yourself, basic but adequate.
The room was very greek, basic, good sea views, but no hot water, just tepid if you are lucky, shower by six pm.
Nearby restaurants were good especially Antonio's very friendly and good greek food.
Note all museums and castle in Kos etc are closed on Monday in Kos.
Lovely beach locally Kamella Beach, good for snorkelling, only reached by car, steep access.
Trip to Nisyoros (volcano island) good value, book locally, half the price of tour operators. Take a jacket for return journey, we laughed at the people going out in anoraks, but they didn't get wet or cold on return journey.
A car is an asset. with local hire, haggle with car people for price
The temperature at end of september was about 30 degrees in the day but was quite cool at night, take a jacket or sweater.
didn't have evening meal, but other guests said only served between 7pma nd 8pm and they found this quite restrictive (we had b and b)we booked with first choice

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quest_starz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We had the best holiday ever - the family that ran the hotel were so welcoming, accommodating and generally made us feel at home straight away. The rooms were fine - the shower room was greek but we were in greece so what do you expect. The pool and being direct on the beach was fantastic - we had 4 boys ranging from 13-18 and they loved it - we didn't once have an 'i'm bored' from them. The only thing we weren't told by the travel company was how much airconditioning and a fridge were so its worth pushing for the price so you can budget for it - when we were there it was 5euros a night for air-con and 3euros a night for the fridge. Its worth emailing the hotel for the price of this before you go. Otherwise the whole island is beautiful, the weather superb (but not good for those that don't like the heat), food is fantastic (hence putting on 1/2 stone in 2 weeks). Most enjoyable holiday i have had for a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeccaBoop40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at the Kordistos Hotel. Anyone that visits becomes part of the Kordistos family and it is a wonderful experience! Greek hospitality taken to the extreme. We always rate a holiday on the people and you would be hard pushed to meet a more welcoming family anywhere.

We visit at least once a year if not more and are never disappointed.

Wonderful people, wonderful food available either at the hotel or close by and fantastic guests! Once is never enough at hte Kordistos and we hope to see everone we meet this year again next year.

Perfect location for a sunshine break and at a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stormrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We booked this holiday last minute with first choice and we must both say that it was one of the best holidays we have ever had in the Greek Islands. It was exactly what we both wanted. I was a bit concerned when i read some of the reviews but all i can say is what were they expecting. The family were really friendly. The rooms, linen and towels were spotless and cleaned regulary. There are lots of tavernas close by and i couldn't fault any of the ones that we ate in. Manolis car hire was excellent.
Okay the breakfast was a roll with butter and jam but it was fresh and the options were there to buy a cooked breakfast fo next to nothing.The pool was great and the pool bar sold snacks and drinks. What more can you ask for!
We will definately be returning to the Kordistos hopefully this year.
Hello to Joanna thanks for looking after us at the bar!.
Brian and Yvonne might see you next year!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2008

The hotel was a budget style hotel which was what we expected, our room was small but overlooked the beach and sea. The location is very good close to many restaurants and shops and right on the beach. The disappointment was the food, we were half board. Breakfast was a bread roll, cheap coffee and orange squash, evening meal was a fixed menu, ie no choice, we were served items that we did not like and therefore coud not eat and the quality was poor, we had to spend extra eating out after our meal. The bar frequenly was not open. On the plus side the hotel was very cleanand the view from the restaurant was beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lardhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided on the Kordistos hotel in Kos for our first romantic holiday together.
On arrival there was no staff present (it was late at night) and we were left in an absolutley boiling room with no access to air conditioning. The room had a view of the road which we were annoyed about as we had payed for a sea view. There was some suspicious goings concerning two men in the bushes across the road from the hotel which looked on to our balcony, this also made us feel uneasy about our chosen hotel.
The following morning my boyfriend and I complained about our room and managed to get it swaped to the basement room. It was much better and on looked the pool area. We payed for our air con and began to settle in.
The surroundings of the hotel seemed extrememely grim. It looked like a run down ghost town and I actualy cried when we were exploring the place on our first morning. There was several bars just along the road from the hotel but none of them opened, not even at night. This suprised us greatly especially because it was in the 'busy' month ofJuly.
The pool area was small but clean and the water was nice and deep to swim in. However we spent most of the days at the beach. The beach was nice, quiet but a little dirty. Not terribly dirty but there was a few things floating about in the sea on occasions (my boyfriend found a tampon one afternoon!!!!!)
We had nice meals at the hotel but sometimes had meals out. There is a couple of nice restraunts just opposite the hotel.
The night life was really awful. The pubs were very very quiet and did not have much of an atmosphere at all. We usually would just have a meal and a couple of drinks and head back to the apartment.
I would say that this hotel was alright, nothing great and I really do not think we would return. The area was what let us down the most. It has nothing, absolutley nothing to do except sunbathe and swim at the beach or go walks. Definatley not a holiday for young couples looking for a break with a bit of entertainment. This area is certianly not for families with children either, quite frankly the children would be bored out of their minds!!!
With this all said my boyfriend and I still had a great time because we didn't want to let anything spoil our first holiday together, however we will not be returning!

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank ainz1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.5 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
495 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kefalos
489 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kordistos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kordistos Hotel

Address: | Kampos, Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range: $43 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kordistos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kordistos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kordistos Hotel Kefalos
Kordistos Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing