We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday but not the best hotel!”
Review of Kordistos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kordistos Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Reviewed January 19, 2008

My boyfriend and I decided on the Kordistos hotel in Kos for our first romantic holiday together.
On arrival there was no staff present (it was late at night) and we were left in an absolutley boiling room with no access to air conditioning. The room had a view of the road which we were annoyed about as we had payed for a sea view. There was some suspicious goings concerning two men in the bushes across the road from the hotel which looked on to our balcony, this also made us feel uneasy about our chosen hotel.
The following morning my boyfriend and I complained about our room and managed to get it swaped to the basement room. It was much better and on looked the pool area. We payed for our air con and began to settle in.
The surroundings of the hotel seemed extrememely grim. It looked like a run down ghost town and I actualy cried when we were exploring the place on our first morning. There was several bars just along the road from the hotel but none of them opened, not even at night. This suprised us greatly especially because it was in the 'busy' month ofJuly.
The pool area was small but clean and the water was nice and deep to swim in. However we spent most of the days at the beach. The beach was nice, quiet but a little dirty. Not terribly dirty but there was a few things floating about in the sea on occasions (my boyfriend found a tampon one afternoon!!!!!)
We had nice meals at the hotel but sometimes had meals out. There is a couple of nice restraunts just opposite the hotel.
The night life was really awful. The pubs were very very quiet and did not have much of an atmosphere at all. We usually would just have a meal and a couple of drinks and head back to the apartment.
I would say that this hotel was alright, nothing great and I really do not think we would return. The area was what let us down the most. It has nothing, absolutley nothing to do except sunbathe and swim at the beach or go walks. Definatley not a holiday for young couples looking for a break with a bit of entertainment. This area is certianly not for families with children either, quite frankly the children would be bored out of their minds!!!
With this all said my boyfriend and I still had a great time because we didn't want to let anything spoil our first holiday together, however we will not be returning!

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank ainz1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2007

I have just finished my first year at uni and so my boyfriend and myself decided that we wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of the uni life style and go somewhere to relax.

We chose The Kordistos Hotel, because it was amazing value, right on the beach front and close to town. It looked perfect from the pictures and we couldnt wait to get there. Before we left i read some reviews about the Hotel and this put doubt in my mind. But i cant stress enough that when i got to Kos, i couldnt believe how wrong the reviews actually were.

The pool is a good size, considering the hotel capacity its clean and warm. The pool bar staff are very friendly and the food that they serve is very tasty. We will have fond memories of Enrique Englasias Hero, as it echoed around the pool side. There was always free sunbeds and we never had to get up at 6am to put towels on beds.

The beach is lovely, although shingly, so take jelly shoes if you go inthe sea. Again always lots of free sunbeds and at a very good price of 2E a day! The sea is warm and it has beautiful 180 degree views of a mountain and the little island with the pretty white chapel on. If you are looking for a sandy beach turn left and walk for about 5-10 mins and you will come to golden sand and clear blue sea, this is generally busier but its a gorgeous location.

There is so much choice of restaurants in kefalos. Our favourites were the GREAT AUSTRAILIAN BBQ- fantastic food, with fantastic service and staff. We had 3 wonderful meals there and met a couple who we have stayed in touch with. Another is The ROCK GARDEN, jsut a 2 minute walk from the hotel, great food and cocktails, with beautiful views. For a bar afterwards, the Popeye bar, again great cocktails, music and free pool! jsut a wonderful atmosphere and swinging chairs!!!

I have to say that The Hotel Kordistos was such a wonderful, friendly place for all ages that its such a worthwhile trip. The only disadvantage i have is that our room was on the front and so we had the noise of cars and traffic but if youve had enough "Sex on the Beach Cocktails!" you sleep very well.

And i also agree that Becky was the perfect Rep!! REally lovely and caring!

Don't listen to the moaners!!!! Its wonderful for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BHFTGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Our stay at the Kordistos Hotel was an absolute disaster. The room was small a like a prison cell, the breakfast consisted of a stale roll and the swimming pool area was microscopic. the staff did not seem to care less. The beach at Kefalos was dirty and at the time of our stay there was an invasion of jelly fish. We could not wait to return home.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sunshine131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We had a wonderful holiday here. The family who own the hotel are lovely even though we probably never spent more than 50 euro with them the whole two weeks we were there.
Our room was exactly what we expected from a budget Greek hotel - basic but clean and comfortable. Ours overlooked the pool area and to the left the beach. In the two weeks we stayed our room was cleaned nearly every day - beds made and room mopped clean, sheets were changed less frequently but clean towels every day.
There's nothing provided for your own catering as it's a b&b board but you can hire a fridge for 3 euro a day. Air-con is 5 euro.
The breakfast is very basic as mentioned here before, a (very fresh) crusty bread roll with jam and butter, tea or coffee or fresh orange juice. You can add slices of ham or cheese for something like 90 cents or if you really do fancy an english breakfast then they'll happily make you one for e2.70 which is very cheap isn't it. Considering to stay in this hotel is as cheap as staying self catering elsewhere I considered my basic breakfast to be a bonus anyway.
The other food they make on their menu which they serve all day is delicious - we can personally recommend their pork and chicken gyros. At 1.80 euro each what a bargain! Very filling and the tastiest gyros in the whole of Kefalos. We had one nearly every day.
We went off looking around Kefalos for another pool just for a change for a couple of days and there weren't many that were as good or better than the one we had at Kordistos. It was ideal for our little girl - two baby pools which she absolutely loved and the main pool which was a good size.
The only other places in the whole of Kefalos we found to have pools as good as Kordistos' were the Dolphin pool & bar 20 yards away and Sydney bar 20 minutes walk away.
The beach which this hotel overlooks is shingly but very clean and overlooks the gorgeous little island with the chapel on it which is lit up at night. If you just want to sunbathe on the beds as the gentle waves break near your feet it's a beautiful setting.
If you do want a sandy beach though, there is a small one 20 minutes walk away in the little Kefalos harbour which was great for our daughter. Or there is of course Paradise beach which I'd jump on the Kos town bus to get to, which by bus is about ten minutes ride away.
We spent the first ten days strolling down to towards the harbour for some of the best nightlife but a place which we found on day ten was our favourite and it was virtually next door to Kordistos - the Dolphin. What a superb place, we spent every minute of our last four days there.
Another bar we loved was the Papillon bar about 200 yards or 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.
Most of the restaurants are brilliant and i'd say you'd be unlucky to get a bad meal anywhere. The best meals we had though were at the Golden Fleece which is right over by Kefalos harbour and not far from there, Sydney bar. The chef at Sydney is absolutely superb and genuinely cares that you've enjoyed his food. The best breakfast can also be found here. Only problem with Sydney is it's very British which is either a very good thing if you like that or if, like us you like to experience Greek it isn't. Not knocking the place though.
Finally, if you've booked through First Choice you'll be looked after by the wonderful Becky (in 2007 at least), she's the best holiday Rep I've ever met in over ten years of overseas travel. Very kind, helpful, friendly and professional. She'll sort out anything at all for you if you want her to.
We miss her and the people at Kordistos, in fact the whole place. We LOVED Kefalos and our hotel and if we could afford it we'd leave England and go live there for good.
Ignore the moaners, this place is a bargain. If you paid 5 star prices then you'd expect more. For the bargain price we paid if we'd have gotten more than we did we'd have been very surprised.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ellasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My first impressions were excellent, the lady who was there waiting at 4am in the morning for us took us to our room. When we got to the room I kept saying WOW, gosh there's the sea, WOW were on the sea front. I was so excited and I think we had the best room in the whole hotel. Because we had our daughter who is 2 with us we got a room in a block of 3 separated from the hotel. We were right onto the
beach, when you stepped out of our room you stepped virtually onto the sand, it was great. At night you drift off to sleep listening to the waves.

The room itself was quite big but basic. But if you know Greece well this is what you should expect. It was very clean and tidy. The bathroom was small and comprised of a shower, toilet and sink. The shower didn't have a basin. For what we paid for this holiday it exceeded our expectations!

The breakfast included was a very large fresh bun, It was definitely NOT stale as previous reviews had said. You could help yourself to jam, butter, tea, coffee and orange. (continental bf). My mom said it was the nicest tea she had ever drunk and she got up every morning for her bun.

Looking out at the beach we were so lucky to have the surroundings that we had. The sea was a stunning blue colour and not far out was a small island with a beautiful church on it, this would be lighted up at night.

The actual beach was quite shingley and you would need shoes on to get the the sea edge.

As you looked out to sea on your right there was a huge mountain that belonged to Kos, straight in front of you, you could see a volcanic island called Nissaros. Boat trips were available to go there if you wanted to.

Right at the end of Kamari bay just beffore the harbour there was a beautiful little bit of beach with about 20 sun beds on it. The sand was soft and the sea was calm. This was a fantastic place to take our daughter as the sea didn't get deep at all and it was safe for her. You could see lots of interesting fish, I almost stood on this huge fish which was camouflage on the sea bed it was amazing.

All of the bars and restaurants are on either side of one long road. As with any place you go to you get good places and not so good but you find that out fo yourself. I can suggest some good places that we proffered... Hubs just over the road from the Kordistos, the Golden Fleece is good this is quite far up the road, also the Sidney bar is good as this has a pool and serves only english food. But if you anything like me you don't go to Greece to be English. Also stay away from Bravo cafe as this is not good value for money and Gourmets
Paradise as we had a breakfast with frozen sausages lol - don't be drawn in by the bf for 4 euros.

I must tell you about the DOLPHIN bar, this was the best place on the
whole holiday, when we return to Kos we will be staying here. Manuel was the nicest bloke ever he became a good friend of ours. This was a family run bar and the settings are beautiful. It has a VERY clean pool and baby pool which are both a good size. Manuel kept his bar and pool very clean. He cooked a fantastic cheese burger too YUM! On the night this was a place where you would go after you evening meal and he would play mostly rock i.e bon jovi and foreigner etc. My mom was in her element there, we couldn't move her come 4am in the morn.

I must also say that our rep Becky was ace, she came out with me and my family and had a drink with us, she does First Choice justice. She gave our little girl a gift before we left which is an example of how nice she was, we will be meeting her when she returns to England.

Overall this was one of our best holidays ever, We didn't want to come home and really miss the place, it definitely has a place in our hearts. Hopefully we will return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jxisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

The Kordistos hotel is family run and small, it is located in the quite Kamari Bay, Kefalos on KOS. The staff are friendly but only one or two could speak english...............not a problem though after all this is Greece.
The rooms are basic but clean and the breakfast is usual for this type of hotel...........minimal. The pool is small but ok and the hotel is right on the beach.
The hotel is to one side of the resort which is very quiet. I paid for a cheap holiday and a cheap hotel and thats what i got but on saying this i had a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JohnandSuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

Overall we came back home discontented and thought this was the least enjoyable holiday we have had in the past 12 years., The reason for this is twofold first the standard of accommodation and secondly the disappointing beach. The Kordistos Hotel was built in 1986 and apparently redecorated in 1996. Since then nothing. It is urgent need of bringing up to standard for the 21st century both for modernising and facilities, The room itself was an average size but there was no draw space whatsoever nor a television or radio. The bathroom must have been the smallest we have seen. The standard of cleaning was diabolical and our bedding was changed once in a fortnight but only the sheets not the pillow cases. The breakfast was microscopic being given a small bread roll and butter to eat. that was your lot folks. One side of the hotel overlooked the beach which was lovely outlook and the other side was on the main road which was subject to disturbing traffic noise. We were given a ground floor room at the side near reception which did not have much privacy. we are sure the swimming pool shown in the brochure must have been blown up in size as it was actually rather small. the owners outwardly were friendly as long as you spent money and did not complain then you saw the other side of them. During our stay there was a number of guests who expressed their discontent. The beach at Kefalos was a disappointment. It was rather dirty and shelved quite suddenly into the sea. No good unless a good swimmer. The best part of the beach was down by Club Med a 10 minute walk away. The sea was the coldest we have experienced in our numerous visits to Greece.T he resort was windy and a favourite place for wind surfers. There were some very nice tavernas here and the pick of the bunch from our point of view were Aphropdite, Argo and Rainbow. Car hire was cheap and we used Manolis Car Rental who we can recommend. there is also a reliable 5 times a day local bus service to Kos Town. You can make a boat trip from the harbour to the Volcanic island of Nissyros which was a memorable day out. We found the local inhabitants and shopkeepers very friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jadeandjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.5 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
496 reviews
4.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kefalos
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
271 reviews
0 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kordistos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kordistos Hotel

Address: | Kampos, Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range: $44 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kordistos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kordistos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kordistos Hotel Kefalos
Kordistos Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing