We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Relaxing week”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A great hotel.
Bedrooms are immaculate,with great showers.
Quite a steep walk from the hotel bar up to the rooms, but the views are gorgeous.
Large ,clean pool with bar providing snacks and drinks
The owners are very accomadating, we hired a jeep
The town of kefalos was so quiet .....maybe a little quiet for some, but we found it ideal.
Great restaurants and friendly bars.
The Acropol Bar makes you so welcome as do all of the restaurants.Nothing is too much for the locals, they are so helpful and pleasant.
We found it very cheap to eat and drink.Try Sebastians and Sirtaki ...wonderful places to eat, great menus and staff
Would certainly return to this part of Kos...it felt like stepping back in time....all that was missing was the drachma!

Room Tip: 318 had very good views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    135
    50
    20
    14
See reviews for
100
256
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Me and my Missus got back on the 10th of June.
The Hotel is clean apart from the huge flying ants that seem to occupy the balcony.
The hospitality is second to none the Hotel is run by a great Familly.
The Breakfasts are basic but can be supplemented at little extra cost.
Can't really complain about anything other than we never seen a Thomas Cook rep during the whole stay, until we went to the airport on the way home, then he put a disabled chap in our cue that was going to Birmingham and our cue was for EMA.
You can get a pint for roughly 2.50 euro and a meal for two with a drink is roughly around 20 euro.
We tried the T42 place on the main strip and they make the best cup of Tea ever, and the Breakfasts are really good value.
Marias at the sea front is great for Cod & Chips and Memories bar at the sea front is also very good value for long drinks.
The trip to Nisyros was great and the bus to Kos town was really easy and on time.
If you decide to got to the old town of Kefalos which is a right turn out of the Hermes use the steps next to the estate agent because it cuts out 10 mins of a walk up the hill.
We would definitely go back "next time i'll take my drivers licence" that's the only thing we missed.
All in All a GREAT PLACE..........

Room Tip: We stayed in room 320 the view was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bullo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chorley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is a family run hotel, which is exceptionally good on the service. I went here on my own with my 8 year old daughter. The owners of this hotel were great with my daughter. They made her all the food that she liked. They even went out and bought her English sausages. We stayed on a half board basis and although breakfast was only a choice of toast or cereal, the evening meal was delicious. Would so recommend it.

The rooms are immaculate and cleaned every day, apart from Sunday's. The location is just beautiful, with amazing views. Although the hotel is at the top of a steep hill. We booked a quad bike out for the week, which cost us £85 euros. This helped us to get around the island and up and down the big hill. Kefalos is very quite and very peaceful. The people are just lovely. I would recommend this hotel and Kefalos to any single parent going on holiday. You do feel very safe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukarmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hermes from 30th May 2011 for a week with 2 other couples.
The hotel is family run, and they are very very friendly and welcoming and can't do enough for you.
The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, we started off with 1 pillow each but asked for another and it arrived the same day. Our room was 423, which (along with most of the rooms) had a fantastic view of the pool and the sea. There was a maid service every day except Sunday, and we got fresh towels every day and beds made beautifully.
Breakfast is from 8-10am, and toast is included. However, there is a bigger menu to choose from including fruit salad, omlettes, cooked breakfast and pancakes, all at very good prices. I got hooked on the pancakes which were only 2euros, and my husband loved the omlettes which were 3 euros, so very cheap and very tasty! Grandpa Nick's honey is delicious!
There's a fridge in the room, and airconditioning is available at 7euros a day - I think in July and August this would be a necessity, however we hired a fan from the hotel for 10 euros for the week which was fine.
The hotel has a bar, again drinks very cheap (wine 2euros, beer 2.50, cocktails 4euros, water 50cents). They do a BBQ and karaoke on a Wednesday which is good fun.
The pool area is lovely, there's a pool bar doing drinks and food (again very reasonable prices). There's plenty of sunbeds and shades, and all the sunbeds have comfy covers on them.
The rooms can be kept on if you have a lat filght, it's 25euros for a late check out room.

The resort is a 10 minutes downhill walk, and it's a gentle slope and not the steep hill some brochures advise. Its a quiet resort but with plenty of restaurants. Our favourtie was Sydneys which is on the front and has live music on a couple of nights a week - the chap on a Sunday is excellent.
If you want internet access there's a computer in reception which is 50 cents for 15mins. There's also a mini library of books left by previous guests to choose from.
Our favourtie bar was the Mythos bar, which is run by a very friendly chap and well worth a visit. Memory bar is also a good one.
We hired a quad bike from Katerina's next door (20 euros for 24 hours) and saw some of the island, a very enjoyable day.

We loved Kefalos and Hotel Hermes and would definitely go again, the family who run Hermes are really lovely people, genuinely interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible.
My husband hurt his toe and they offered to take him up to the chemists and checked on how he was each day. I can't praise Diana and the whole family enough they really were brilliant.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leeluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

As per previous reviews, this is a lovely little hotel with very friendly owners and staff who will do anything to help. Rooms kept very clean, nice big pool. Be aware that free breakfast is only toast, coffee/tea and juice. Anything else is available at roughly 1 euro per item, eg 2 eggs and bacon is 3 euros. Fruit salad and yoghurt was amazing! Quite a lot of steps and no lift though. Only DOWNSIDE, resort itself was very quiet not enough to do for a week. We hired a quad bike, 15 euros from Katerinas next to the hotel but I think you can get them cheaper at other places.

Room Tip: Our Room 324 was definitely best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithuania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We spent a wonderful week in this hotel in May. Everything was brilliant: very clean rooms, large pool with a lot of sunbeds, the most amazing view of the sea from the restaurant of the hotel, etc. The owners of the hotels are really very nice people, who made everything you feel like at home. Don't be afraid of the location of this hotel - it takes only about 10 minutes to go to the all the bars and tavernas near the beach. If you want really delicious and fresh Greek food then visit restaurant ,,Stop Inn" (it's behind the restaurant ,,Maria"). We will definitely come back to Kefalos and Hermes hotel next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vandene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hermes this May (2011) during the first week that the hotel was open this season.
Our room was very clean with maid service every day except Sunday and a fabulous view of the bay.
We asked for blankets as the weather was a little changeable and they arrived the same day. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Diana, who made us feel like part of the family.
We hired a car from the hotel which was a bargain at 15 Euros a day and a good way to explore the island.
We had read the other reviews and were prepared for a hike up the hill and for the breakfast to be basic. But the walk to the Hermes from the beach, restaurants and shops is a gentle amble, not too steep at all. There is a steeper climb to the Old Town which is worth the effort for the stunning view and took us about 15 minutes at a very leisurely pace (or just drive there in your hire car!!!!).
As for the breakfast I would definitely recommend the greek yoghurt and local honey. Yes it is an extra 2.50 euros but absolutely worth it - delicious!
We chose the first week of the season to stay in Kefalos so some of the bars and restaurants weren't open or opened while we were there but we still found great places to eat each night and we were there to relax so we didn't mind a less riotous than usual break!
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed break in Kefalos!

Room Tip: All the rooms have recently been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlmondJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
451 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kefalos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos
Hermes Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing