We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet resort - Excellent hotel!!”
Review of Zeus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zeus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 weeks stay at the Zeus and we will endeavour to try and cast a balanced view on the resort and hotel.
Firstly, when we took a stroll into Kefalos on our first night we thought we had made a terrible mistake. There are very few bars, supermarkets, but there are a number of fine restaurants. The one which stood out for us was the Argo where the food was wonderful and portions just right. We also ate at Hippocrates, which was a close second with enormous portions, Marias, Syrtaki, and Antonios although we cannot recommend the latter. When we ate their we found the food quality inferior and prices higher than others.
We would not recommend dining at the Aussie BBQ restaurant. We have only walked out of a restaurant once and this was that occasion. We ordered our meals, which included a garlic bread starter, and were still waiting for this some 50 minutes later and the restaurant was certainly not busy.
We appreciate the resort is described as quiet but there was a distinct lack of activity and people in the resort itself and we are certainly no party animals!
However, we can honestly say what the resort lacked the hotel certainly made up for, and we concluded we intended to use the holiday as a 'chill out' break and this proved to be the case. The Zeus is, probably, the most friendly, and clean, hotel we have stayed in during our visits to Greece having been to Skiathos, Crete, Corfu, and Kos on a number of occasions.
Maria, Zac. Manos, Nico, and Sonja all go out of their way to ensure your time with them is thoroughly enjoyable. From the moment you step foot inside the hotel you are made to feel welcome.
The rooms are cleaned daily with linen changes every 2nd day and we found any requests for minor repairs are dealt with swiftly. Breakfast is basic i.e. bread, jam, marmalade, coffee, tea, and juice but you can purchase something more substantial for a reasonable cost e.g. 2 eggs on toast for 2.5 euros.
The pool area is kept spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds and their is a small children's pool. Having said this we do not feel this is a family style hotel, ok for toddlers but not any older. Many guests seemingly return to the hotel on a regular basis which is testament to the service provided.
We stayed in room 219 and it would appear rooms with an 11-20 on the end get the sun in the morning and 00-10 the afternoon. Air conditioning was available to rent at 5 euros per day and was a must, even at the end of August. Safety deposit boxes could be rented for 25 euros for 14 days.
There was a Greek night arranged every Tuesday evening with the food being cooked by Maria and there were many empty plates!! Andy, the rep, arranged a quiz after the food and there then followed Greek dancing taught by Manos and co.
People make reference to being disturbed by banging doors during the night and we must say we did experience this. However, we attributed this to people simply returning at the end of a good night being unaware of how noisy they are after a few too many beers and it certainly did not spoil our holiday.
Maria has a wonderful team around her and would seem to have loyal customers who value the service they provide and we can understand this. The unsung heroes have to be the army of cleaners who seem to do everything from attending the rooms to serving breakfast and always with a smile on their face. We would like to give a special mention to Sonja who was attentive to our needs throughout our stay and had a very dry sense of humour!! The hotel and resort are probably more suited to the more mature customers, shall we say, and we are in this bracket but the family make everyone feel they are part of the family regardless of age.
All in all, we would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone but not necessarily the resort. If it is a quiet holiday, with an excellent hotel you are after, then look no further.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 219 and it would appear rooms with an 11-20 on the end get the sun in the morning...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Zeus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent 2 unforgetable weeks there, nice rooms, super Quiz nights, small breakfast included, but you can order a bigger one for 5 euros. The hosts were really kind. There is an ancient destroyed town near the beach, free access.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room - the best are futher from the pool side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna7us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just returned from another 2 weeks of heaven at Zeus in Kefalos. Zak, Maria, Sonia, Manos & Nik were great as usual, great to see grandad and Nana looking so well. The family treat you like old friends, nothing is too much trouble. I know two of the main negatives that get written about the hotel are the breakfast and doors banging, the breakfast seem to be pretty much universal across Kefalos, and the doors will slam if people have their balcony doors open and do not hold the room door open. Food served at the pool bar is superb and not for small appetites, i will share a club sandwich with the wife and their omelettes are probably the best in the resort - if you don't believe me try one! The pool is always spotless and sunbeds are plentiful although the pool can sometimes appear a little 'over chlorinated'. The bar has 2 of the best barmen in Kefalos and the bar is always lively without been crowded and has a good choice of drinks from cocktails to a mug of coffee. The rooms are cleaned on a regular basis, and the maids are friendly. The location of the hotel can be an issue for people who can't walk far as its a 20 minute walk to the harbour, but what better way to work up an appetite than a brisk walk before tea........................................and another one after, or there's always the train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueal001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great hotel run by a fabulous family who bent over backwards to help. Plenty of sunless and lovely pool. BBC night was great value too. Kefalos itself is quite quiet but lovely and peaceful. Harbour area is very picturesque with lots of lovely restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wee_Eck_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from this very friendly Hotel in Kefalos, the family cannot do enough for you. It is close to the beach of Agios Stefanos with the ruins of a 5th century basilica. The sea is very shallow and perfect for swimming and snorkling. There are some very good tavernas close-by, our favourites being Kastri and Sacallis. I thoroughly recommend the trip to Nisyros, standing at the bottom of a volcano is amazing! If you book through the tour operator you get a guide which is well worth it. Kosta was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much about the area. We went to Paradise Beach by water taxi which you can catch at 10.30am returning at 5.30pm. We even got dropped off at the jetty nearest to Zeus Hotel! This was a very relaxing resort and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are quieter, away from the bar area
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabbyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned and I would just like to say what a fab time we had. The hotel room was on the lower floor, basic, but spotless. It was cleaned daily and fresh towels each day. Even though we paid for b&b, the breakfast consisted of bread and jam. I don't eat bread so we opted to have breakfast elsewhere.The family are very welcoming and we had many fun nights with Nikolas, he made me some lovely, lethal alcholic concoctions :-D and Manos who made me the nicest coffees,especially when I had had one to many :-/. The location is ideal as you are close to all the cafes, restaurants and the beach is a 5 min walk, depending on how quick you walk.This is a place that I will definately return tooo. Food is amazing and people are wonderful. Thanks Nikolas, Manos and George for contributing to the wonderful holiday we had. X

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHanne74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We returned from our 2 week holiday to the Zeus last week. Along with most of the reviews for this hotel we were totally satisfied with every aspect of our trip. The family are absolutely delightful and will do whatever they can to make your stay memorable. We travelled with two teenage girls who were added to our booking at a later date, their planned accommodation was not just up the road (as detailed by Google maps) but was about 2 miles away at the other end of the resort. The family could not have been more helpful and arranged for us to move them to the Zeus at a greatly reduced rate. Without this help our holiday would have been a nightmare! We had been concerned that Kefalos would be too quiet for them but this was not the case. Manos and Nikolas who look after the bar are absolute stars and definitely proved to be an attraction for the girls! The hotel rooms and all public areas are kept spotlessly clean, they provide a good range of snacks at the pool bar and the Greek night is not to be missed! Many of the guests we met return year after year and it is evident why. We usually like to visit different places but will definitely be going back next year along with other members of our family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and although some guests seemed to slam doors we heard no noise from t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SparkesT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
469 reviews
4.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kefalos
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeus Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: $15 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zeus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel Kefalos
Zeus Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing