We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great family running it too!!”
Review of Zeus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zeus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here at the peak of summer this yr for a 'cheap and cheerful' week away. We wanted somewhere quiet so picked hotel Zeus as it looked small and was in kefalos which isn't the 'main' area of kos.
Couldn't have picked a better hotel. Firstly the family running it can't do enough for you, your room is cleaned and beds changed every day, it's apparently got 60 rooms and was fully booked the week I was there however we never saw more than 20-30 people at the pool and there was always a spare sunbed. The Greek night and quiz was good fun, and a great way to meet other guests. Location I'd say was excellent, next to 'T42' a lovely little cafe and the cheapest car/bike hire place in the town - 'manolis'.
2 mins walk to beach if you use the little paths to cut through and loads of restaurants at that end of town. Although the other end of town (the harbour) only took us 15/20 mins to walk too and it was a nice walk too. Favourite restaurant was 'hub's' an Italian with lively fresh home cooking. Although we didn't have a bad meal from anywhere we went.
Overall great holiday and very reasonably priced break. I'd definately go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dipsey9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Zeus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 477 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

Literally just got back from Zeus, stayed 6th - 20th August.
The family that own and run this hotel are amazing, what a great place to stay for young and older alike.
Situated a mile from the main ' but quiet' strip of 'new' Kefalos village and within a few hundred meters to the nearest beach.
This place has it all, a warm welcome whatever time of day or night you arrive, each member of the family are on hand to deal with you - we arrived at 2.30AM and were shown straight to our rooms and invited to join the brothers, Nicholos and Manolis and other guests in the bar when we were settled in, dont worry too much about some comments from other users of trip advisor regarding noice issues, it is only audible in the bar and the soundproofing to the rooms is excellent, music was placed but not very loud, yes, there is door noice in the hotel but this is due to the large springs for self closure of the doors and from our experience was not an issue.
They brothers are a full of life and really know how to make you feel instantly at home, which all aspects of this hotel certainly does.
Basic rooms but real homely feeling throughout, nothing is too much hastle, whether is directions to somewhere, recommendation of places to eat, you will not be dissapointed and you will receive with a big greek smile from all staff.
Overall, cant praise the Zeus highly enough, great location, spotlessly clean, Amazing Family who really work hard and make this a special place to stay.
Our 1st time to Zeus, but there are couples and families who return there year after year so from our perspective, Zeus are certainly doing everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Thanks and Best wishes to Grandparents, Zak and Maria, Nicholos, Manolis and Sonia, not forgetting Mel who gave us some really sound friendly advice during our evenings.
Hope to see you all again next year - this really is the place which you may decide to return to if you have not done so before.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PTTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

What a shame that the bar was too loud for one or two guests. We did stay awake quite late but our room was not far from the bar and it was not a problem when we did go to bed early to catch buses to see the island.
Fab hotel, simple but v clean and very friendly. Manos and the totally mad Nicolas made the the whole thing come alive and deserve nothing but praise.
Breakfast quesionable but...this is not a five star hotel and is exceptional value on the whole!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andra i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Everything about Kefalos and the Zeus Hotel is just lovely! I challenge anyone to go to this hotel and not fall in love with the family. They work so hard to make sure things are just perfect for all their guests. The hotel, rooms, pool and bar areas are spotless clean - and nothing is too much trouble for Maria and the family to do for you. Ok so you get fed up with a burger bap for breakfast - so order some eggs & toast - it's dirt cheap. You must go to their Greek Night - the food is excellent and the family make sure everyone is involved and having fun.

Kefalos itself is beautiful - you just can't help yourself chillin' out! Wall-to-wall sunshine, beautiful and clean beach, loads of restaurants and tavernas. And everyone is just so laid back!

Don't think twice about booking this hotel, you'll want to go back again and again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tickle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Arrived for 2 weeks holiday,hotel basic,breakfast very basic,beds extremely uncomfortable but worst of all hotel very noisy,bar open most of night with loud thumping music and guests returning to rooms at all hours drunk,loud and slamming doors anywhere between 2am and 4am,not the relaxing holiday was hoping for,on a plus though room was cleaned on a daily basis,can be a nice place to stay and relax if you wear your ear plugs in bed!!!!
Would definately visit Kefalos again but not Zeus which is a shame as staff nice but unfortunately some other guests just have no regard for others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolyn712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We have just got back, literally about two hours ago. The Zeus is a great little hotel, there are reasons it's got so many good reviews, and now I know what they are. The hotel is clean, friendly, easily 3 star standard, and in a great position.

The room was ample in size, had a balcony, tv (with 5 channels) and was overall pretty comfortable. The bathroom was again ample, although pretty much the entire bathroom gets a shower when you do due to the small shower basin and a shower curtain that may as well not be there. But it doesn't really matter and you do get clean towels every day.

The pool area is great, again clean and sunbeds readily available, no need to reserve beds in the morning (bare in mind I went in the school holidays!) There is a pool-side cafe area, which is OK. This is where you get your breakfast in the morning. Now you can have the bread-roll and questionable juice but we asked for toast every morning and got it with no charge, plus there is other food available at a decent enough price.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away and is more sand than shingle. Don't miss the little ruins that are just a little walk up the beach. I only found out about them when I saw them on a postcard and found out they were literally next to us and we didn't know it.

There is a supermarket (Jim's) just across the road from the Zeus and about a million more up the main road towards the harbour as well as plenty of good restaurants. You'll find that the hotel isn't really really in Kefalos, it's more in Kamari Bay, Kefalos is on top of the hill that dominates the skyline. Kefalos is about a 30-40 minute walk away (apparently) and you CANNOT get a taxi from the Zeus into Kefalos, it's not far enough for them to come out to you. F.Y.I. a taxi to Kos Town costs €49 each way, although there is a semi-regular bus service which we used, only €4.40 each.

Overall, if you go to the Zeus, you'll have a great time and the hotel itself will more than likely excede your expectations.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the top two floors so that your balcony isn't at ground level.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rhuck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed here alone as I couldn't get into the same hotel as my 3 friends therefore a little apprehensive. I needn't have been, it was like staying in the home of family friends. There were always lots of guests in the bar to chat to at night, most of whom had been returning to the hotel year after year. My room was on the ground floor right behind the bar and I was not happy at first but my concerns were not realised as I couldn't hear a sound. Breakfast was a really nice, big bread roll with jam, quite adequate for me (I often shared mine with one of the resident cats!) The room was spotless and even had an iron and hairdryer which was unexpected. The pool is not massive but plenty of sunbeds none of which were evre reserved with a towel!! It was about 20 mins walk to the busiest part of the resort with the most tavernas but there were restaurants along the way if you couldn't be bothered to walk. I would recommend Captain Johns and Argo where food was excellent and reasonable. An additional bonus was free wireless internet. There was a wedding party staying at the same time and everyone joined in the celebrations when they returned to the hotel after the ceremony. An excellent weeks holiday and I would recommend this hotel and return again myself.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
469 reviews
4.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,439 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
72 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kefalos
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeus Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: $15 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Zeus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel Kefalos
Zeus Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing