We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athinoula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athinoula Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Had a fantastic holiday in this family run Hotel. Very clean and nothing is too much trouble. Pefectly situated very close to the beautifully clean crystal clear sea.I The food is all freshly cooked and good value.Rooms are cleaned every day with clean sheets and towels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    44
    15
    20
    17
See reviews for
27
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We decided to do a 3 night 4 day last minute trip and booked this up, very basic but clean and friendly enough for what we wanted, we enjoyed the lunch menu, loved it that they went to there garden and picked tomatoes for my salad. Pool area was pleasant too. As long as you are not worried about The breakfast! you were served 1 drink, bread, cheese and spam with jams, every morning, overall good location with only a few minutes walk to bars etc

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This family run restaurant was nice and clean. The rooms aren't very big, but they are comfortable. The bathroom was also ok, the shower leaked a bit but it got cleaned every day, so this wasn't a problem.

Everybody was friendly and we got help and good tips as to which restaurants to go and how to get around the island.

The breakfast is very basic, you get bread, ham, cheese, butter and jam. You can choose between coffee of juice but not both, and that's it. We didn't like the ham so we just got some extra cheese and that worked for us (no extra charge).

The AC is not included but we just slept with the window open and it worked great for us. We shared the terrace with two other rooms, at first we didn't like and we were offered the possibility of changing to a different room. In the end we didn't change rooms and we got to enjoy the extra space. It helped that we had nice neighbors as well.

The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and most bars and restaurants. The pool seemed nice and clean although we didn't really use it.

We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCA_0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Yet again I would like to thank all the Peros family at the Athinoula.We had a fantastic holiday the family are second to none.Helpfull Funny and Kind.Nothimg is to much trouble.Zac is one of the kindest.All the family are brilliant.From the youngest to Ya Ya.Take time to get to know this fab family.The hotel is spotless food is great.Thanks Evi.Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great hotel, nice and clean, cleaners come in every day but Sundays, the little pool side cafe do great cheap food with big portions, every Tuesday they do a BBQ with Greek salad, four different meats, rice, chips and dips and a glass of wine, all for 10 euros, about 5 mins from the sea and shops, only down side, we had our pick up at 7 pm so we wanted to stay in the room as it was July and so we could get a shower before going to the airport, they charged us 25 euros for 6 hrs which I thought was a tad expensive as they had no room put to side for guest to shower, but would go back but next time book a extra night save on the 25 euros,

Room Tip: Book a extra night if you have late flight,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthmadog wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed 5 nights on S/C with another couple on B/B. The breakfast is Basic ,not even orange juice unless you pay extra. Location is ok ie close to beach and a pleasant walk into the bars / restaurants, Stayed many times over last 15 years in various Greek Isles and always had fantastic welcome every time But not this time .Really unfriendly family especially girls in Pool Bar . Really disappointed and surprised.. Kefalos was really really quiet all the bars empty .Kefalos old village worth a visit in evening for a meal. Had a car therefore visited nearby beaches which were better than Kefalos beach, enjoyed Paradise Beach for example.Sadly would not return or recommend this hotel .Moved to Kos Town for a further 5 nights to stay at Leonidas Hotel (see comments )which was pre planned by the way.

Room Tip: don't stay in rooms 123/124 below ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ioanemlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I can only say that if people cant get on with this family they either aren't very friendly people themselves or they don't get Greek humour at all.

Greeks have a wicked sense of humor and please remember they are trying to work long hours in very hot conditions so you can't expect them to walk around with a permanent grin on their face. Did anyone take any time to sit and make conversation with them?

Zak is hilarious but he has a very dry sense of humor indeed so you need to be on the same wavelength and he doesn't speak English as well as the younger members of the family. He has driven us and our friends anyway we want to go, picked us up from the airport, bought us things from the chemist etc etc. It really frustrates me when people complain about them and comment about them sitting in the bar area. For 6 months of the year they have to move out of their family home in the village and live in the hotel. Normally the Bar area near reception is empty all day so can't see how that is a problem anyway

Younger and older members of the family will come and join our company and are very interesting and knowledgeable people who speak superb English

I think if you follow a few rules anywhere in Greece you can't go wrong. Respect the people who are serving you. Speak a bit of the lingo,( if you get it wrong they will help you out and appreciate the fact that you have tried,) Integrate with them, ask them questions and get involved with them. If you do this, you will find that when you go back you are cuddled to death by all of them, they will bend over backwards to help you as much as possible and they will become life friends who you miss terribly when you come home.

They aren't English, they are Greek, so they have different mentality and personalities to us so try and adapt and see things from their position

I now consider this family to be some of my best friends in the world and can't wait to see them again

Room Tip: ground floor appartments are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geniusfthelamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
1.4 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
20.7 mi away
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
#40 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
5.6 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athinoula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinoula Hotel

Property: Athinoula Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301 , Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinoula Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Athinoula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinoula Hotel Kefalos
Athinoula Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing