We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamari Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamari Bay Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a great week here at the beginning of July. We had stayed on Kos before and wanted a relaxing holiday which is what we got. We enjoyed staying around the lovely pool area and talking with Maria in the snack bar (gosh she works hard), or walking down to the beach, mainly near to the ruins where the sea is warm and it is not rocky. In the evenings after our meal, we would sit around the bar area with Tony and the other guests enjoying the company. If you don't want to sit around the bar, there is a lounge area where you can relax. Yes, the rooms are small but how long do you want to spend in your room when you are in such a beautiful area such as Kefalos! All in all, a good experience, the hotel is run very well by Tony and the family, and also the pool bar by Maria. The pool itself is lush.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaSCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    80
    31
    22
    18
See reviews for
36
138
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

just back from a holiday here and all i will say about this is i wouldnt ever go back there again the breakfast was a joke ( a breadcake ) and the owner was rude to me and i WOULDNT ever go there again holiday from hell comes to mind room never cleaned unless u was in ur room watchin them do it and the cleaners having sexual activities in a room across from us i would tell people never go unless u want to feel like ur in a concentration camp ( no act
ivity at all very boring )

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karenandgary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

For the money this is a great value hotel. It is clean, friendly and in a great location for bars and restaurants. The pool is big and clean and you can get very good snacks from the pool cafe.
Yes it could do with some TLC but the whole holiday industry is struggling to fill hotels at the moment and this one is full all the time. So that kind of says a lot don't you think. Tony, thanks for creating a great atmosphere in the bar. We had some great laughs with you and some of the other guests. We would certainly come back for another holiday, especially because of the family owners and because of its locations. Probably more suited to couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GerardEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean pool is nice room an ok size breakfast ok

On the downside owner can be rather dismissive of any concern, we had no hot water when we mentioned it we were told boiler works. we asked four times for him to arrange transfer from hotel but he just gave excuses why he could not

I got the impression if you stayed at the bar in the hotel a lot of the time you were treated more favourably

This hotel is fine and the staff are lovely just if you have no hot water or can't get something to work just put up with it

Also for some reason there are metal tubes about 8 inch high sticking out of bathroom floor

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here 1st week in July. Fantastic hotel, staff are brilliant. The hotel is great value for money and in a great location.. Some reviews are a mis-leading, if you want 5 star luxury pay for it..
I will definitely go back ( hoping in September).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went to Kefalos three years ago and stayed at the Hermes, up the hill from the town. This time, we looked for somewhere a little nearer the beach as we're now getting on a bit! Looked at reviews for several hotels in and plumped for the Kamari Bay as it had lots of really good reviews, many from guests who had returned time and time again. As usual, though, there were those who had not had the same level of experience (!), so it would be fun seeing which 'camp' we'd be in. Arrived at about 0100 after being driven around several hotels in Kardamena for an hour and a half, dropping guests off en route to Kefalos, which was a frustration.

Arrived and got the keys to the room which was on the first floor overlooking the bay....brilliant, as we found the next morning, when the sun came up. We then retired to the bar and met several Guests as well as Tony, the guy who runs the bar. As many guests had said, he is extremely friendly and very dry indeed. We both had several too many drinks and made it to the room, which was quite a feat by about 0245.Next morning we went to meet our friends who'd arrived earlier the previous night, at breakfast.

Much had been made of the breakfast experience at the Kamari Bay, but it was fine. Rotates on a three day cycle between roll and ham, roll and cheese and toast and boiled egg, but no issues from us as the orange juice and tea/coffee helped to get us started after a really late night!!

The owner, Yianni, was extremely pleasant to us throughout our stay. Maria, the lady who runs the poolside cafe was lovely and Tony, as I said earlier, was an excellent bar manager and knew everybody by name, no mean feat. Pool was superb.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable week and found the hotel to be excellent and many of the guests we spoke to, really pleasant. As it was so near the beach and tavernas, we can see ourselves returning there before too long. Miss the ouzo already!

Room Tip: 4,5 or 6 had lovely views and were shaded by the afternoon. Lovely spot to sit out early evening. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

For a two star hotel we were pleasantly surprised! Room size, cleanliness and facilities were great. Beautiful pool area and sea and mountain views as promise. Simple breakfast but adequate for price paid. 24 hour reception. Very friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay in the most beautiful part of Kos - Kamari bay

Room Tip: All rooms have balcony and some views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawnieclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Bay Hotel

Property: Kamari Bay Hotel
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamari Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Kamari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamari Bay
Kamari Bay Kefalos
Kamari Bay Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing