We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please ignore the last review”
Review of Roses Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roses Studios
Ranked #20 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Please ignore the last review”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have just arrived back from Roses Appartments and the last review cannot be more wrong. Manoli and his wife looked after us so well on our first trip tp Kefalos. They arranged lifts for us and friends upto the village and different bars all at no cost. Manoli is one of the most generous of men. Oh and he makes a great Carbonara. Best wishes from Joe and Sandra.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bradford
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

not 5* property but 5* plus for the price you pay for the basic,but clean and comfortable studios.run by the very friendly pantellis family,these studios are adjacent to the dolphin rock cafe pool bar.holidaying in kefalos and spending much of our time at the dolphin,prompted me to think why not stay at the roses? a good move.we got 3 wonderful weeks for the price that some pay for 1.a beautiful pool,probably the cleanest in kos,free pool,x-box,wii,3 large tv's for sport,rock videos and sometimes movies.a little bit of everything for everybody.so,with a pleasant room with a good sized balcony to chill out on,the dolphin a few paces away with a great selection of drinks and snacks and entertainment on tap you don't need to stray very far.the bar definitely gets five stars for quality,atmosphere and friendliness.you are bound to meet new friends in this bar,irrespective of your age,whether old or young.

Room Tip: book early as they only have 7 studios,but if you cannot book to stay at the roses,just enjoy the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank delphini86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My friend and i visited Dolphin rock Bar.We stayed nearby,so it wasnt far.
The ouzo flowed for hours
That night the owner(Manolis) was friendly,accommodating and bright.

There is one thing i can say about this bar.
You will never be at a loss,if you are polite,be friendly and behave (for all who have written bad review).
There is only one thing you will crave.
To return,party and leave satisfied.
Greeks are fabulous,you leave gratified.

Yason

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had read in advance that the bar owner (Manoli) was rude but we took it to be just a personality clash. Wow were we wrong. We being two femaie friends getting away from our husbands and families for a week's chill. When we arrived we went into the Dolphin bar which we thought was really nice and would be a good place to go at after we had been out for dinner each night. But guess what they were not expecting us. We had to wait around 2 hours for a room to be made ready for us - but OK this is just one of those things. Anyway eventually in our room which was basic but fine by us. We had purchased at the bar the air conditioning and received the remote control. After 2 days we arrived back to the AC being off and no remote control. On enquiry at the bar we were told in no uncertain terms by Manoli that we had been in cahoots with our neighbours on fiddling the AC. We had never even set sight on our neighbours! After a seriously unpleasant confrontation Manoli gave us our AC remote back. Later our neighbours approached us and asked if we had been approached and admitted that they had fiddled the AC with people they were away with in an adjoining apartment and were extremely apologetic that we had been involved in their collusion. Following this we did everything to avoid Manoli. Sadly as the bar looked very appealing we refused to set foot in there. Our recommendation would be avoid the place at all costs. We are not mentioning the cockroaches in our room - we put this down to cheap apartments! However, the beach was great and the restaurant - if you turn left out of the apartments and immediately on the right was brill. Overall regardless of Manoli we had a great holiday but definitely would never consider Roses Studios at all and would absolutely never ever recommend it to our worst enemies. We wondered whether he treated us like this as we were two females but actually having talked to locals it does seem that his behaviour is related to his social recreational habits

Room Tip: Don't book at Roses Studios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoniCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Wow! 2 fabulous weeks spent in great apartments, with the nicest couple (Sanja and Manoli) anyone could wish to meet.
The apartments are kept spotlessly clean and the pool is lovely.
The Dolphin Bar is the best! Any music vids you want to watch are there at the touch of a button. We were reminising every night over old sounds!!
It is such a warm and friendly place with perfect hosts.
If you want a great holiday, not just for the location but for the socialising, then this is it!!!

Room Tip: very clean basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stefanos1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Please don’t stay with Roses Apartments if you don’t want to be confronted with its rude, mean and abusive owner! He is also the owner of the Dolphin Bar next to the Roses and setting up all the rules what you can and what you cannot do there. For example you cannot swim in the swimming pool next to your apartment unless you will purchase a drink in the Dolphin Bar!!! Roses apartments are just OK as they were quite clean and very basic (however for most of people out of style and primitive). It had an air conditioner however you will have to pay on top €6 per night which is a ridiculous price!!
First of all, there is a lack of communication and organisation between Manager of Roses Apartments and the agency, which advertised his studios as we experienced at our first night. We arrived in Kos, Kefalos on late night flight and we were transferred to Roses around 1.30 am. We have been informed that somebody will wait for us in studios but nobody was waiting and there was middle of the night, there is no any thing like a reception there, so literally landing on door step of the apartments and you don’t know what to do. Next, we had to wait all night outside Roses apartments as Manager claimed that didn’t receive any confirmation that we coming. Next morning we were welcomed by some cleaner who doesn’t speak English at al and you can’t communicate. In fact, the only person who speaks English is Dolphins’ Bar dodgy Manager, who didn’t see any issue us sleeping on our luggages on the door steps of Roses. He also lied that nobody informed him about our arrival as our agency assured us that he received the confirmation.
In order to satisfy us and do not make an complaints we agreed with the Manager that on the last day we do not have to check out after 12pm but instead we can stay till our transfer as a compensation for the lost night. However, it didn’t happened as we were kick out from the room after 12 by cleaner who were only able to say “12 finish, new tourists” and didn’t understand any thing. Once we were kicked out on our last day from the apartments, we took al our luggages and went do Dolphin Bar in order to wait for our transfer. Furthermore, a bully Manager came and kick us out of the bar (besides that the bar was nearly empty) as we were short of money and you do have to purchase cocktails at least in order to stay in a bar. We were abused verbally, threaten and forced to leave as the owner is the boss there and he deciding if you can stay in his bar or not!! We felt like intruders, not welcomed and humiliated. We will never go again to Roses and we advise every body else not to go there if you don’t wont your Holidays were spoiled!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monrim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Kent UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Being in the over 60's range we were wondering if this was the place to be with a "Rock Cafe" attached to the Studios, but pleased to say that we would not hesitate to go back tomorrow (pensions allowing) as the treatment that we received was like being a part of the family run Studios and Dolphin Rock Cafe. Reading up on some of the reviews (as you do) it makes you wonder what people want for their money. We loved it. Straight out of the Studio,s and virtually onto the beach, not exactly pool enthusiasts but it was nice to sit by with a drink before we went out for a meal. How great it was to have a few coctails when we got back and enjoy the sound of the Sea on the balcony before retiring. We were very surprised as we heard no music in our Studio in the early hours, only what we enjoyed listening to over drinks. Manoli who looked after us was only to pleased to help if we needed it. We will be returning in 2012 pensions permitting because the place is Clean, Exceptionally conveinient, Realisticly Priced, and has a high percentage of returning holidayer's that have been a few times before. That in itself say's something.

Room Tip: Sea View for us everytime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.3 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#6 of 13 in Kefalos
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kefalos
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roses Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roses Studios

Property: Roses Studios
Address: Main Street, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roses Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Roses Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roses Studios Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing