We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Village
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We are a family of 4 2 adults and 2 boys aged 5 and 3, we arrived home yesterday after 10 amazing days. As soon as we arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning we knew we were going to have a great time. Check in was very simple and took about 5 minutes then a buggy took us to our room with our luggage. Our room was amazing we had a swim up in 1000 block. Great location for us as we soon realised as our boys weren't bothered to go to the activity pool which was about a 10 minute walk away and were happy to of to the relax pool everyday where there was a swim bar bar which was fab.

The pools were all great, the food was beautiful the waterpark was great for the kids they loved the slides. We had to see the doctor whilst there he was very efficient and saw my son straight away. There staff were all very friendly and made a fuss of my boys, a special mention to Bogdan who worked in the shake and mix bar, he always made a fuss of the boys and was very good at his job, he was extremely friends and took the time to always ask how we were enjoying our holiday.

We would love to return next year, and are checking prices already.

Thanks BLV for a truly memorable holiday..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Char66186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    294
    89
    37
    9
See reviews for
948
192
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to BLV and was just as amazing as the first time. Short transfer from Kos airport and greeted with sparkling wine and swift check in. The whole hotel is just as impressive and spotlessly clean/maintained as it was during our previous visit.

We stayed in a family room with partial sea view (6601). Thomson needs to make this clearer on their website as they don't distinguish between full and partial sea view. We have stayed in the 4000 block previously and preferred the view. However, 6601 had a good location and was very quiet. The cleaner was excellent - towel animals every day - and always stopped for a chat each morning.

All the pool areas were kept spotlessly clean. Sun beds were never an issue and we were able to get beds with parasols at the relax pool after 10am. Unattended beds had their towels removed by the lifeguards before 10am and this was stuck to throughout the 2 weeks. We preferred the relax pool as it was less busy and also loved the swim up bar! Waiter service round the pool is excellent and the staff were all very friendly. On 2 days we rented a beach cabana, which was lovely. Again, waiter service (thanks to Panos who kept us entertained!) and also a fruit platter delivered mid-morning. A quick walk from the beach bar for toasties/crepes etc, and I also paid 25 euros for a beach massage which was well worth the money. Our daughter used the Thomson kids club a few times, but could be better variety of activities over a 2 week period as there were things she didn't want to do twice. The kids club staff were friendly and she really enjoyed the sessions she went to. We also used the water park a few times and never had issues with getting sun beds there at any time of day.

Food, as always, was great in all the restaurants. We had two visits to the Chinese, which is still exceptionally good, and also tried the Adventure BBQ, which was great and something a bit different. Excellent choice of food and high standards throughout the village. Queuing to book the a la carte restaurants was fine...go at around lunchtime and the queues have gone!

We didn't buy any of the Thomson excursions but did hire a car and visited Kos Town and Zia for the day. Head through Zia to find the Natural Place (a few euros to get in) and lovely views.

In the evenings, we watched the Palmera shows. The team work really hard and we enjoyed the performances, but would be great to see a little bit more variety in the evenings as it was a singing/dancing format every night. Saturdays are Greek night. One night the Thomson team did a Thomson's got talent show when it was the Palmera team's night off. Please, please buy in some proper entertainment for this night. It was awful and for a 5* hotel there should be a proper act on each night. Entertainment does finish early (10pm ish) so we headed to either the Shake n Mix or the Piazza bar for drinks afterwards. Thanks to Zoran who chatted with us and learned our orders off by heart!

Would definitely visit BLV again and worry that nowhere else would meet the high standards set here! However, we are going for a change next year and have booked the Blue Lagoon Princess in Halkidiki and fingers crossed it will be just as lovely! Overall, excellent accommodation, beautiful setting, great food and friendly hard-working staff. Please get in touch if you have any queries. :)


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank happyholidays2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Let me start by saying, that this IS NOT a 5 star resort, as having a family room with a sofa bed in is not my idea of 5 star. The gym is OK but both running machines had something wrong with them and so there was a queue every time you wanted to run..... Not great. I booked in for a spa but after waiting over an hour I left... pretty annoyed, there is only so much of that annoying music you can take.

In terms of family holiday however its very good, food is great, the selection and choice is really good, although don't get carried away with the authenticity of the Chinese and Italian, they both have a Greek twist.

The pools and the beach are really nice, we used the Cabana's which were relaxing and the facilities around the beach were spot on.

The biggest plus for this hotel was the staff, both from a work ethic and from a friendliness point. Sveta and Tommy by the pool were terrific as well as the staff serving ice cream and waffles, just really great positive members of the team. Very family friendly.

We flew with Thomson's and all of their staff should be complimented on making our holiday so much better. Thanks to Emma, she helped us through some difficult moments with the hotel staff on the room situation. (hope she and the team enjoyed the wine )

Normally we don't go anywhere near the evening entertainment, however, the Palmera Team at the resort made sure my two boys were glued every night. Chrissie,Matt, Jade and the team spent time talking to the boys which really made their holiday. Thanks Palmera you were great!!

really nice holiday spoilt a little by the average accommodation and the disappointing SPA and GYM.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We went here for our family holiday for 2 weeks with 2 girls age 8 and 6 and with friends and their children too .
This holiday cost us over 6000 pounds and we had high expectations after reading all the reviews on here .
We have previously been to holiday villages that cost around 4500 and even though blue lagoon village is lovely , I don't think it's worth all that extra money .

On arrival , the village itself looks huge , takes a day or 2 to figure out where everything is . The hotel is immaculate , always seeing staff cleaning / painting etc . The hotel itself I would say is probably 4 stars . Rooms are good with plenty of storage and cleaned every day .

The food is very good , and the best food we have had for an all inclusive . Lots of variety every day and plenty of snacks throughout the day - toasties , hot dogs , crepes etc .

The thomson team here are great , Ellie , Katie and Emily made our girls holiday and they had plenty of fun around the pool with all the daily activities .

However , I feel disappointed with the service at the hotel . They have some peculiar rules that let this place down and is certainly not 5 star service .
For example , at meal times when you order drinks , they come in very small glasses . My husband asked for a lemonade in a larger half pint beer glass as was very thirsty and was told , it wasn't possible as the hotel policy is to serve drinks in the small glasses . Honestly , 2 sips and the drink is gone and then have to wait to order another one , which takes a while as just been served . We started ordering 2 drinks every time for everyone !
My girls loved slushes and numerous occasions were told they weren't ready - fair enough . But on further occasions were told they couldn't have them as they had ran out of cups . Mmm , not 5 star service and certainly not what you expect when you have paid all that money .
Golf buggies - bit of a joke . All staff tell you different things, how to order , when they are abailable etc ! We took all our belongings back to room one afternoon before heading to water park and rang reception for a golf buggy from our room , to be told you had to get them from the shop . Which we had just walked passed to get back to room !
Spa told us to pre book a buggy as we had dinner reservation straight after spa - reception said they can't pre book buggy but would be fine to ring from spa . You guessed it , rang numerous times , buggy didn't turn up and me and my girls were half hour late for dinner reservation . This place is big and spead out and takes a while to get anywhere .
These all sound little niggles in themselves , but it does not add up to 5 stars - we were disappointed as expected more .
We also had small incident / accident , where my daughter slipped near a wicker glass table and the glass completely shattered , and ended up with a cut foot . Hotel called first aider etc and she was ok . However , 2 days later we were followed back from the Chinese restaurant by 2 managers , demanding that we pay 30 euros for the glass that my daughter accidentally broke . Why , we weren't told this at the time , or asked to contact reception about it , I don't know . But were literally accosted on the bridge . 30 euros not that bigger deal , but the way it was done was appalling - not really what you expect . Also we tried to explain in a thomson family hotel where there are lots of children - maybe the glass on their tables should be safety glass / or plastic so to try and prevent it happening again as we were lucky it was only bit of glass on her foot , could have been worse - but they were not interested !
So all in all , we had a good holiday , but want to be honest as we had high hopes for this place , but I don't think it's worth the money you pay . Lovely hotel , service needs improving , pool side waiter service supposed to be included - we got asked once in 2 weeks if we wanted a drink ! We had sun beds near bar area so not a problem , but again this is what you pay for in that price. !

You will have a lovely holiday , hotel itself lovely , thomson reps great and we had lots of fun , but we would not return due to service and way we were treated for an accident !

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cazzalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Among all the "all inclusive" club I've been it is by far the best club: clean, great facilities, best service, excellent food, etc.
we will return next year to this great club!
we received great service from Eva in reception.

Room Tip: The best familly rooms are near the beach (block 4). Enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, Nederland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

As far as five-star resorts go, Blue Lagoon Village has Everything going for it: It is new (opened May 2011) It is nicely located in a secluded delta, surrounded by mountainous terrain. Its architecture is stunning and its entertainment is sublime. You won’t even have to bother keeping TP out of the toilet!


In light of this, I feel it's unfortunate that some hotel processes ruin this heavenly experience:

All restaurants other than the main restaurant need to be reserved two days in advance and you can only make reservations between 10AM and 3PM. Adventure BBQ, the Golden Sun restaurant and the Piazza restaurant can only be booked once per week. Two of the advertised eight restaurants (the Thalassa fish tavern and the Sushimmi restaurant) aren’t even included in the all-inclusive formula.

Reaching the adventure park requires a 20min walk on the beach or a 3min ride on golf carts, only available from the mini market area. While at the adventure park, you'll find that height requirements (1m22) exclude 5yo children from almost everything but the slow river and the pirate ship. Lunching at the adventure park poses some challenges (only baguettes available) as does using the toilets (these can't be locked).

Housekeeping doesn't bother with properly locking balcony doors when they're done. Neither do they bother replenishing bathroom Essentials or the mini bar with bottles of water.

Water dispensers in the restaurants mostly provide Greek tap water. When you're a fan of Mojitos, Daiquiris or Caipirinhas you're also out of luck; you'll need to pay € 5 for these cocktails.

It's a good thing Wi-Fi is free, because otherwise a lot of people would want their money back; it's spotty, slow and only available near the reception and the activity pool.

You’ll need to pay for all the water sports activities, even windsurfing and catamaran sailing, except for their introductory courses.


Did I mention 'secluded'? The only place nearby is the airport (10min). Although Kefalos and Kardamaina seem close on the map, you won't be able to reach them by walking over the beach. The steep mountain road is the only way to get anywhere. Taking a bus to Kos City will take you 60min to 90min. If your goal is to wander off, the Blue Lagoon Village may not suit your needs.

Room Tip: Don't book a Jacuzzi room, unless you really intend to spend a lot of time in it. The 20% extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanderBerkouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Wow!!!! This hotel is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, well worth the money. All the staff at the hotel are so friendly and very helpful. We had a favourite bar man Vasko, what a lovely guy. The Thomson reps are absolutely amazing, best Thompson reps we've ever experienced, Emily, Katie and Ellie such lovely friendly girls. We use to go round the activity pool every day as we have two children aged 1&5, and we like things going on so this was the best pool for us. We enjoyed the daily quiz and my daughter loved the party in the pool. The food at this hotel is without doubt 5*, would recommend booking the Chinese and the Italian. Room was fab, very spacious and we had an amazing sea view. Never been to the same place twice but can't wait to book to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
13.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
17.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Village

Property: Blue Lagoon Village
Address: Xirokampos S.A., Blue Lagoon Village, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Village 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Village is a newly built luxurious village style complex with 366 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is in direct contact with the sandy beach offering magnificent views. It is located only 10 km from the centre of Kefalos, near Paradise Beach one of the most beautiful beaches of Kos, only 5 km from the airport and 30 km from Kos town, the capital of the island. The Blue Lagoon Village offers a vast variety of facilities like the Aegean Main restaurant with indoor and outdoor sections, the First Date restaurant with its romantic atmosphere (only for adults), the Thalassa Fish tavern, the Susshimi sushi restaurant and the Golden Sun Chinese restaurant offering you different tastes from all over the world. The Grill House is offering traditional Greek dishes, the Piazza Italian Restaurant is for traditional Italian meals, the Adventure Barbecue, where for grilling your own combination of different meats and finally the Gelateria where you can enjoy pancakes, waffles, sweets and ice-cream.You will have a hard job choosing where to have your drink: at the Shake & Mix Cocktail bar any time of the day, the Wet Pool bar, an impressive swim-up bar, at the Pool bar, at the Piazza Cocktail bar in the afternoon or at the Beach and Snack bar during the day. Our guests from all over the world will have the choice of a 3000 sq meters swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, a 1000 sq meters activity pool with a section for children, a children’s splash pool, a 1000 sq meters leisure Pool and an “Adults-Only” pool area. There is also the choice of the long, sandy beach with a variety of water sports. For children and adults, that still feel like children, we recommend the Adventure Land with ropes course, waterslides and water games.The fully equipped Vida Fit health club with its’ heated pools, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath is available to all our guests over 16 years of age. For those who wish to pamper themselves, the PURArelax Spa offers a wide range of treatments. For a unique shopping experience visit our various shops, ranging from a minimarket and a liquor shop to boutiques and gift shops.In order to provide the best possible accommodation to all of our valuable guests, we have created standard rooms with sea view and swim up pool (also in the “Adults-Only” area), family rooms as well as Junior suites and Executive suites with private pools. All rooms are provided with satellite TV, mini-fridge, and coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, telephone, safety deposit box free of charge, individual air conditioning units, hairdryer and amenities. The Blue Lagoon Village in total harmony with the picturesque landscape, open from May to October, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts tourists from all over the world. The abundance of natural beauties and the crystal clear waters make the hotel a paradise of tranquility, ideal for families and couples. For those who wish to enjoy all these and more Blue Lagoon Village is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Village Hotel Kefalos
Blue Lagoon Village Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing