We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Village
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great pools the water was cold
Only one place to pick up towels so we had to carry them everywhere
Awful food
Lines for Check in and no luck making reservations for the Chinese restaurant the rest disappointing to say the least

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielzweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    294
    89
    37
    8
See reviews for
948
192
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've just got back from 10 nights & find some of the reviews mind boggling things like only 5 flavours of ice cream, it was windy, people smoking, (Im a non smoker from the UK) & don't like it myself but we need to remember that only 6 years a ago this was the case in the UK, I've travelled all over the world & the food here was quite simply faultless, it's the cleanest hotel you'll ever step foot it, as soon as your glass is empty there's another drink on its way, I couldn't find fault with 1 single thing in any of the restaurants, all the staff where friendly. If I was to pick fault at this hotel if would be the charge for wifi in a 5 star hotel & no snack bar near the adults area, overall great hotel & would recommend, for couples & families alike.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pau0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel, spotlessly clean, spacious rooms, we were in block 6000 near all the facilities and evening entertainment. being so near to the evening noise did worry me, but all turned out well as the music is over by 23.00. Loads of different and themed evening meals, lunch at Greek or Italian is fab, but if you just want a hot dog, head down to the beach hut. talking of the beach, it is quite hard to wade into the water due to stones, so pack some beach shoes. Had a fabulous back massage on the beach for 25€' it was a superb massage. pool was very cold, but nice once you getused to it. the Entertainment teams are just the best we have ever had on holiday, top notch..... take a cardi it was cool on an evening. ignore people who are moaning about this hotel, it's absolutely brilliant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a wonderful room in the 4000 block which was overlooking the main pool and the aegean sea - simply breathtaking. Everything is very tidy, the staff is very nice, the food variety and quality great.
Only negative thing would be the very poor service in the chinese restaurant.
Time flies at this resort because it is so huge , very easy to find a quiet place if you don´t wanna be around young families.
Yes, we would go there again any time.

Room Tip: If you are after a wonderful view: the 4000 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 7 nights at the beginning of September (just got back 2 days ago)
We are a family with 2 babies-6 month an 2.5 y.o.
We just loved it... Service and facilities are very high end.food is very good for an hotel and you have so many options to choose from.
We got the family room with 2 huge bedrooms a large balcony.
I used the gym and its well equipped and very clean.
The only thing I would have changed is the water temperature of the outdoor pools.water were too cold to enter and in the whole resort there were only few brave ones to enter the pools.there is also an indoor pool which is very nice,but its not the same...
We left the resort only one time to visit kos town with the bus.the town is nice just like any other island's town but its good for changing the atmosphere...
All together- highly recommended to families but not only(there is an adult only area) and there is a chance that we will come back again...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilay-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A superb facility all round, everything was perfect. Food, rooms, staff, pools, everything.
I find some of the comments on here strange though. Some great pizzas, thin and crusty as well as the thick ones. I think perhaps given the myriad of different food areas, perhaps people just missed them.
Please read about the resort BEFORE you book. Yes it is isolated, but for a week who cares! It is massive, the name village is a clue!!!
We got on the bus to Kos Town one day. It took 40 minutes and cost 4.40 euros. Nice town, but I read the reviews of Blue Lagoon and booked it because of it's location and facilities. The hotel beaches in Kos Town were very busy and cramped and made me appreciate even more the Blue Lagoon layout. I mean - 8 pools!!!
The entertainment is for families and was decent enough. However we as a couple went once and left it at that. There are several places to drink and relax around the resort without hearing the show, so don't understand why someone would complain about the noise.
I'm sure some people just like to complain.
In summary - Great facilities, food and staff. Loved it and would recommend to all but the 18-30 crowd.

Room Tip: 4000 block overlooked the beach and the large pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well where do I start..... I suppose being met on arrival with a glass of champagne would be the best place & it only got better from there onwards.

Our room was in section 4000 and had a beautiful sea view which overlooked the main swimming pool & beach. The room itself consisted of a very large double bed almost like 2 king beds pushed together ( it took me until the second night to find my wife in the bed it was that big! ) a bathroom with shower, bath & separate WC that you could party in, then another equally large room with another 2 beds. Both rooms had large LCD TV's & free air con. You also get the use of a free safe to put all your valuables in which was housed in a huge wardrobe that lit up automatically when you opened it...great idea as most other hotels charge for the use of a safe. This was situated between the 2 bedrooms.

If you wanted to go anywhere you rang reception and within a few minutes a driver would knock at your room door and take you anywhere within the resort on a free adapted electric golf buggy. Great especially after a night out on the Ouzo!

The evening entertainment was good with an on site entertainment group who would perform in the main amphitheatre, this included an Abba tribute night which was good, a Greek night and to music from the 60s, 70s & 80s etc on other nights. There was also a group outside the Cocktail bar which sang various well known numbers.

Now on to the food.... don't go if your on a diet is my advice, because it's fantastic especially the Chinese restaurant. There were about 6 or 7 restaurants to go to, each serving different dishes every night, you could eat as much as you wanted & the quality was to die for. The only problem was every thing looked soooo good you had to try it!

All the swimming pools were fantastic, plenty of sun loungers to lay on...no need to get up at day break to reserve a couple in order to beat the Germans at their own game. As the hotel is directly on the beach this is another option for people who like the feel of and between their toes & even beach cabins where you get waiter service for drinks....for a small fee.

During our stay I can honestly say I have never seen so many cleaners, cleaning all of the time....the whole place is spotless, it's so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor & never, never saw anything in any of the pools other than people!

Now to the bad bits.....well there aren't any...if I was to be really brutal & picky, I would say that the waiters were a little too quick to take away empty plates at meals & the staff we came into contact with were very, very polite & helpful...but not Greek!

Would we go again & recommend to friends / relatives ?......yes we would without hesitation. If you want total relaxation, waited on hand & foot enjoy fine food & excellent cocktails etc ...without having to pay locally, this is the place for you.

All I can say is.......................ENJOY

Room Tip: Book block 4000 as these overlook the pool/beach. Unless you have children don't worry about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus1962_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
13.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
17.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
4.6 mi away
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
Grand Blue Beach Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kardamena
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Village

Property: Blue Lagoon Village
Address: Xirokampos S.A., Blue Lagoon Village, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Village 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Village is a newly built luxurious village style complex with 366 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is in direct contact with the sandy beach offering magnificent views. It is located only 10 km from the centre of Kefalos, near Paradise Beach one of the most beautiful beaches of Kos, only 5 km from the airport and 30 km from Kos town, the capital of the island. The Blue Lagoon Village offers a vast variety of facilities like the Aegean Main restaurant with indoor and outdoor sections, the First Date restaurant with its romantic atmosphere (only for adults), the Thalassa Fish tavern, the Susshimi sushi restaurant and the Golden Sun Chinese restaurant offering you different tastes from all over the world. The Grill House is offering traditional Greek dishes, the Piazza Italian Restaurant is for traditional Italian meals, the Adventure Barbecue, where for grilling your own combination of different meats and finally the Gelateria where you can enjoy pancakes, waffles, sweets and ice-cream.You will have a hard job choosing where to have your drink: at the Shake & Mix Cocktail bar any time of the day, the Wet Pool bar, an impressive swim-up bar, at the Pool bar, at the Piazza Cocktail bar in the afternoon or at the Beach and Snack bar during the day. Our guests from all over the world will have the choice of a 3000 sq meters swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, a 1000 sq meters activity pool with a section for children, a children’s splash pool, a 1000 sq meters leisure Pool and an “Adults-Only” pool area. There is also the choice of the long, sandy beach with a variety of water sports. For children and adults, that still feel like children, we recommend the Adventure Land with ropes course, waterslides and water games.The fully equipped Vida Fit health club with its’ heated pools, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath is available to all our guests over 16 years of age. For those who wish to pamper themselves, the PURArelax Spa offers a wide range of treatments. For a unique shopping experience visit our various shops, ranging from a minimarket and a liquor shop to boutiques and gift shops.In order to provide the best possible accommodation to all of our valuable guests, we have created standard rooms with sea view and swim up pool (also in the “Adults-Only” area), family rooms as well as Junior suites and Executive suites with private pools. All rooms are provided with satellite TV, mini-fridge, and coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, telephone, safety deposit box free of charge, individual air conditioning units, hairdryer and amenities. The Blue Lagoon Village in total harmony with the picturesque landscape, open from May to October, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts tourists from all over the world. The abundance of natural beauties and the crystal clear waters make the hotel a paradise of tranquility, ideal for families and couples. For those who wish to enjoy all these and more Blue Lagoon Village is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Village Hotel Kefalos
Blue Lagoon Village Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing