We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Village
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday. It was the first time my wife and I have taken our 3 children (6, 4 & 1) abroad and we were a little worried there wouldn't be enough to keep them entertained but how wrong could we be. The entertainment team work very hard to entertain not just the kids but the adults too.
The hotel is very, very clean and every member of staff goes that extra mile to make you feel special. The food is excellent with a very wide variety that you never eat the same thing twice, unless you want to. We loved this place so much that although we have only been back less than a week, we have booked up for next year already. It has everything (and more) you could ever want from a family resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adambaldry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at the Blue Lagoon Village, travelling with 2 children, 10 and 9 and would highly recommend this hotel.

Accommodation:
Fabulous family room (massive kids twin room, separate hall/wardrobe area, large bathroom and king size adults room, sold as 'double family room with garden view' through Thomson) at the far end of block 6000, near to activity pool, Italian, kids club and cocktail bar. Much about the fantastic accommodation has already been said, so won't repeat.

Food:
Food was good in all of the restaurants including the buffet. Ate at the Italian twice, Chinese (I was a bit worried that my son, who is very picky, wouldn't enjoy but they tailor the food to the children if you ask, so he got everything without sauce and ate the lot!) and adventure BBQ. Enjoyed all of them, although once at the adventure BBQ is probably enough. Also managed a trip to the first date restaurant one evening while the kids enjoyed chocolate party with Thomson kids team - lovely restaurant overlooking main pool and beach. You need to book the al a carte restaurants when you arrive or soon after as they book up quickly.
During the day, my son loved the pancakes - must have averaged 3 a day. Daughter enjoyed the ice creams. I was also tempted by the various treats too often and now need to lose weight.

Sports:
Watersports selection is good - Hobie catamarans available - approx. €40Euro an hour without tuition, €70 euro with tuition. Windsurfs, pedalos and various motorised water sports. Tried the sofa behind the speed boat €20 Euro per person for 15 mins. Great fun and although this might be slightly on the expensive side, they give you the full 15 mins so all thought it was good value. Off the water, there are loads of other activities including high ropes (15 euro adult, 10 euro child), slides, waterpolo, beach volleyball, tennis courts, football etc. Take beach shoes if you want to swim in the sea as rocky.

Entertainment:
The entertainment team are around the activity pool most of the day. Kids loved party in the pool and waterpolo. Evening entertainment was mostly the hotel cabaret act who tried hard, danced well but got a bit 'samey' after a while. However after a few cocktails, they all sounded great!

Drinks:
Pimms, cocktails, more cocktails and non alcoholic cocktails for kids

Location:
As others have already said, the complex is stand alone. If you want to get anywhere you need to hire a car, or go on one of the trips. There is a bus to Kos town twice a week.

To summarise: Great hotel, fantastic for families (up to age 11 if you want the clubs) and we would consider going again, but unfortunately priced out for next year.

Room Tip: Family rooms are huge, 2 bedrooms - 1 king size and one with twin beds plus additional sofa if requi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at BLT and once again we were overwhelmed by the service we received.
3 years in and the place is as immaculate as when it first opened. Everywhere is spotless and staff work tirelessly to keep it that way.
Maria and Stella deserve a mention as their customer service is exceptional.
Davey B, Natalia & Chloe work hard to make sure everyone is entertained and included if they wish to but no pressure put on those who choose to just chill.
The kids loved their parties in the pool each afternoon!
It's not surprising that we have already booked to return in 2014, the whole experience is unbeatable. Thank you to you all for another amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family and I have just returned home today after spending 2 weeks at the Blue Lagoon Village...and I'm not quite sure where to start !!! This place is more than you could ever imagine!! The photos on the Thomson website do not begin to describe the atmosphere you feel while you are there!! When you arrive you may feel that you are slightly isolated but this really doesn't have any affect on the experience. The village as a whole is immaculate...to the point that I had to take a photo of the toilets in the reception area as I had never seen anything like it !!! We stayed in a Family Room and had ample space and it was spotlessly clean and the sea view was to die for !! The Aegean restaurant offers an amazing choice for breakfast and dinner time. You have the opportunity to visit several other restaurants for lunch and you can also visit the a la carte restaurants for dinner. We went to the Adventure BBQ and the Chinese, which was the best we've ever had !!!
The waiting staff are hardworking and attend to everything you need with a smile. You couldn't ask for better service. They work long hours and never seem to stop wanting to help.
However, the one area I would like to compliment the most is the amazing entertainment team. Davey B, Natalia and Chloe are the most dedicated and hardworking team I've ever witnessed. All the children love them, including mine, and they work tirelessly to keep everyone, adults and children, entertained, morning noon and night !!!
There are a couple of niggles.....there is only 2 pools that are under 1.2 metres which can cause problems for smaller children. The Water park does seem a long distance away but there are buggies that run you there and back or there is a short walk along the beach..100 metres max !!
The buggies don't run as often on a Wed or Sat as these are arrival days. Also, you have to pay for Wifi. I know this isn't essential when you are on holiday but it would be good to have this facility without an added charge. The current booking system for the restaurants is slow, consisting one person on the PC making the bookings. However, when I raised this with a Thomson Rep, she did say that they were hoping to improve this very soon.
These are VERY small niggles and would no way stop us from going again. It really is an amazing place and we will have memories of 'One Pound Fish' and ' Shake it' for a long time !!!

Room Tip: Rooms in block 7000 do overlook the entertainment theatre but if you go to the show each night, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family and I (two boys 5 and 7) returned on 15th August after a fabulous 2 weeks at Blue Lagoon Village. We took advantage of the night before check in at Gatwick and stayed at the Premier Inn at Gatwick North for the night, this made a big difference for a 7am flight.

Arrival at Kos airport was ok, small queue at passport control and straight to the hotel.

We booked a family room with side sea view and I mailed the hotel prior to arrival to request block 4000 Unfortunately I was advised that all family rooms in block 4000 had full sea view. Upon arrival we were very pleased to be upgraded to block 4000 ground floor exactly as I'd requested. Our room wasn't actually ready when we arrived at 2pm so we were asked to get some lunch, 40 minutes later it still wasn't ready, 3.10 at last we were on our way on a golf buggy to our fantastic room.
I can honestly say this is one of the best rooms we've ever had at a family hotel, two big bedrooms, bathroom with separate shower, loo and bath, wardrobe area and nice terrace overlooking the sea.
The following day a fruit plate, bottle of wine and a note to apologise for the delay at check in were delivered to our room which was a nice touch.

As per previous reviews the hotel is huge, built into the hillside with a number of steps and ramps that take you to all the different areas. First impressions were very good, it was spotless!
I did have wonder how anyone could keep so many glass panels clean from finger prints, I was not disappointed. Each day we saw an army of people cleaning, painting, hosing down all the floors in the public areas to ensure it looked new each sunrise.

We spent most days at the activity pool mainly because our boys made lots of friends as did we and they couldn't wait to meet up each day. The daily pool side entertainment wasn't forced on you and each day the kids looked forward to the pool party. I participated in the daily aqua fit in an attempt to offset some of the calorie intake (not sure I won that battle)!
The other pools were too deep for our youngest so not so good for us. (1.3-1.5m, activity 1.05m). There were always sunbeds until about 11am if you took one from the spare piles, if you wanted a specific spot and shade then you really needed to be there by 9.30. Lifeguards removed towels and belongings daily from people reserving beds. I did see a few upset people but there are signs warning that this will happen. The bar service was great around the pool and all the staff were very friendly.
I did notice that there are a few tiles missing off the bottom of the activity pool which need sorting really and yes there were a few napkins flying around but it's a windy island and with all the crepes being prepared non-stop from 10.00-18.00 the odd one is bound to escape.

As other reviews mention the beach wasn't good, but I was prepared for that with wet shoes. The waterpark is a nice touch and we would pop down there for a few hours some days for a change. There weren't really enough rings for the lazy river in my opinion.

Lunch options are the Italian or Greek restaurant, we started the holiday in the restaurants but as the days progressed we were mixing in toasties from the snack bar on the beach and the kids loved the waffles and crepes. All the food was very nice.

We mainly ate in the buffet Aegean restaurant in the evenings which is huge with a massive choice of food. Always Italian in one area, International in another and Greek in the third. The food could have been warmer on occasions but this could have been something to do with walking around all the areas making sure we'd not missed anything. Also as it's buffet we normally made sure the kids were eating before we sat down and inevitably one of the kids would wants something else so we'd leave ours for a bit. The joys of buffet restaurants!

We loved the Chinese and first date, the food was too hot to eat which was a nice change.

The white and rose wine were fine, the €4 mojiotos were also very nice. There didn't serve cider but it was sold in the shop for about €2 a can. Fizzy soft drinks from the pumps were a bit watered down. Hubby said the coffee was also very nice and was disappointed that he only realised in the second week that the pool bar served filter as well as standard machine coffee.

The Thomson Kids club was amazing, all the staff were great and the boys went most days and to every evening party. This gave us the chance to sneak off to Shake and Mix and to the specialty restaurants for a bit of grown up time.

All the hotel staff are very dedicated and do a great job. The lady who books the restaurants could be a bit faster...!

The Thomson staff too, most interaction with Lewis following the Pirate trip who made every effort to speak to us when he was around. We were slightly disappointed that Thomson chose to run a training day on our last full day, shame to miss the full entertainment schedule.

The entertainment team also work very hard, I have to mention Davie B in person, how much energy does he have and remembers everyone's names. The evening entertainment was the best I've seen in a Thomson family hotel, possibly a bit too much dancing in the "adult" part of the evening but that's me being very picky. We liked the game shows and the kids loved T Time Live.

We went on the pirate ship trip, great trip although be prepared it's not a half day trip when you include the transfers. We were on the coach about 3 hours in total and returned with travel sick boys. This was fed back to Lewis.

We also hired a car, went to Kos Town, Paradise Beach and Kefalos. The inflatable water park at Paradise beach was great as was the access to the beach into the warm sea. We went snorkeling and saw lots of fish, big ones too. It was nice to get out and eat some local food with the local people.

Kos airport wasn't that bad on the return journey, it is small and over crowded but I've been to worse. We found seats upstairs which seemed to be quieter. We were also on the first coach so didn't queue for more than 10 minutes to check in.

Overall probably the best family hotel we've been to, previous family hotels we've been to are Holiday Village Rhodes, Atlantica Sun Garden, Cyprus and many cruises.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travellerBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we spent 1 week at the Blue lagoon village, we had a mixed party youngest being 4 and the eldest in our party was 70 including 2 teenagers. Something for all of us, activities, great pools and pure relaxation. The welcome drinks on arrival set the tone for the holiday, we wanted for nothing ! We stayed in suites which were spacious, comfortable and well designed, good standard of cleanliness in the rooms and all around the resort. The Italian and Chinese restaurants were very good and the BBQ was fun and provided respite from the main buffet restaurant which was as in most all inclusive resorts average. Overall a great resort and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twitkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I took our two children to the Blue Lagoon Village in 2012 so it hadn't been open long. My sister and her husband and two children also came with us. It was a brilliant family holiday. There were a few things like evening entertainment that maybe could of been better but it was clean, friendly and very relaxing.

As we all had such a great time we decided to book again for this year (2013) but unfortunately for the same weeks this year they wanted £2,000 more.........( so we never went).

It was good but not worth that kind of money, as all these good reviews seems to of made them very greedy.

If they don't listen they will end up in time not being able to fill the hotel. In 2014 no one can take there children out of school as they will receive a fine. How can any family afford these kind of prices. As much as I loved it i refuse to pay another £2,000 for the same holiday. This holiday isn't worth nearly £4,000 for 10 nights I have paid a lot less for hotels that are just as nice.

If prices are going to shot up like this due to good reviews people will stop writing reviews.

GREED!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
13.1 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
17.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
4.2 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Village

Address: Xirokampos S.A., Blue Lagoon Village, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: $225 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Village 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Village is a newly built luxurious village style complex with 366 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is in direct contact with the sandy beach offering magnificent views. It is located only 10 km from the centre of Kefalos, near Paradise Beach one of the most beautiful beaches of Kos, only 5 km from the airport and 30 km from Kos town, the capital of the island. The Blue Lagoon Village offers a vast variety of facilities like the Aegean Main restaurant with indoor and outdoor sections, the First Date restaurant with its romantic atmosphere (only for adults), the Thalassa Fish tavern, the Susshimi sushi restaurant and the Golden Sun Chinese restaurant offering you different tastes from all over the world. The Grill House is offering traditional Greek dishes, the Piazza Italian Restaurant is for traditional Italian meals, the Adventure Barbecue, where for grilling your own combination of different meats and finally the Gelateria where you can enjoy pancakes, waffles, sweets and ice-cream.You will have a hard job choosing where to have your drink: at the Shake & Mix Cocktail bar any time of the day, the Wet Pool bar, an impressive swim-up bar, at the Pool bar, at the Piazza Cocktail bar in the afternoon or at the Beach and Snack bar during the day. Our guests from all over the world will have the choice of a 3000 sq meters swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, a 1000 sq meters activity pool with a section for children, a children’s splash pool, a 1000 sq meters leisure Pool and an “Adults-Only” pool area. There is also the choice of the long, sandy beach with a variety of water sports. For children and adults, that still feel like children, we recommend the Adventure Land with ropes course, waterslides and water games.The fully equipped Vida Fit health club with its’ heated pools, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath is available to all our guests over 16 years of age. For those who wish to pamper themselves, the PURArelax Spa offers a wide range of treatments. For a unique shopping experience visit our various shops, ranging from a minimarket and a liquor shop to boutiques and gift shops.In order to provide the best possible accommodation to all of our valuable guests, we have created standard rooms with sea view and swim up pool (also in the “Adults-Only” area), family rooms as well as Junior suites and Executive suites with private pools. All rooms are provided with satellite TV, mini-fridge, and coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, telephone, safety deposit box free of charge, individual air conditioning units, hairdryer and amenities. The Blue Lagoon Village in total harmony with the picturesque landscape, open from May to October, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts tourists from all over the world. The abundance of natural beauties and the crystal clear waters make the hotel a paradise of tranquility, ideal for families and couples. For those who wish to enjoy all these and more Blue Lagoon Village is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Village Hotel Kefalos
Blue Lagoon Village Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing