We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing place to holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Lagoon Village
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“amazing place to holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the only low for me was the food, not that it tasted bad or anything, intact it was very edible just a little repetitive. there was always a wide variety every meal time and we always found something nice however like i said it did become monotonous.
that said the rest of the hotel made up for this, there are various pools we sat around the activity pool every day and were kept entertained by the animation team (who did a very good job) there is a relax pool, adult pool, another pool with a swim up bar :-) also a small pool for the little ones with an adjoining mother & baby room if you wished to keep them out of the sunshine.
the staff are very polite and friendly, we were waited on whilst around the pool, the level of cleanliness is borderline OCD, which i actually liked.
the rooms were very clean and the maid came in daily, the fridge in the room only had bottled water in, i would have liked to have a stocked mini bar like i have on previous holidays elsewhere. tea and coffee making facilities are in the room which was nice for the mornings BUT do make sure you take a few of the little milk cartons to your room from the bars!
the hotel is very isolated and has no other buildings around for miles, something that i really appreciate when i holiday, there are buses taking you into town if you so wish, costing 1€ each way. the hotel is a very large complex but don't be put off by this as it is all spread out and are not that many rooms really. there are golf buggies that take you around the hotel if you cannot be bothered to walk, (we used them a few times) the guys driving these are also polite, friendly and always smile.
overall i would recommend this hotel to a friend, i would also return to this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with the jacuzzi, tempting as they might be, they are located right on the main stage an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennyboy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    266
    78
    35
    8
See reviews for
852
182
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the lovely BLV for two weeks at the beginning of October 2012' for the second time, our first time being the same two weeks in 2011, which was the first season it opened, and yes, we will be back again in 2013! It's a bit of a risk at this time of year, however, apart from one afternoon and evening where there was quite a spectacular storm, we were lucky enough to have glorious weather the rest of the time. Even in the evening, where last year you really did have to wear a cardi or a wrap, this year it was warm enough to go without!

We had a corner swim up Junior Suite by the Leisure Pool, which was perfect for us. The room was large, modern and well fitted out with plenty wardrobe space and drawers, and also proper wooden hangers rather than those nasty ones you have to slot into the hook on the rail! We had an enormous comfortable bed and flat screen TV with patio doors out to the terrace which leads on to the swim up pool, which is shared with five rooms. Our daughter had her own room with double sofa bed and also a flat screen TV, midi system with ipod input (although you will need the cable) and DVD player, her room also housed the fridge (which was stocked with bottles of water each day) and she also had patio doors out onto the same terrace. The bathroom was large with a bath and an overhead shower, a separate toilet cubicle and separate large walk in shower. Unfortunately no towel animals this year, as I imagine there are only a few maids who have this skill! OK, there is a serious lack of British TV channels, but who goes on holiday to watch TV anyway, there is Sky News which we were happy enough having on in the background while we were in the room, and our daughter was happy enough watching foreign cartoons!

Our location by the Leisure Pool suited us well, as we were only a few steps to the swim up bar which opened from 10am until 6pm each day, which although very handy for those Piña Colada's during the day, was also handy for a coffee and a biscuit first thing in the morning. There are kettles, cups, tea, coffee and sugar in the rooms too, but who can be bothered! Back to the location of the room, these particular swim ups are located in block one, which is quite a trek from the beach, so make sure if you are going to the beach for the day you remember to bring everything you need with you, as it's really too far to just 'nip back to the room' for anything you have forgotten! The only block that's further away from the beach than this one is the adults only block, which is block two, however, this section is really lovely, the swim up pools are much larger, it's quiet, picturesque and well worth the extra distance if you can stay here. We had relatives who stayed in this block so we did go visit one evening, sat on their terrace and had some fizz, lovely! Both of these blocks have amazing views beyond the pools to the sea - beautiful!

I have mentioned distance a couple of times now, but please don't let that put you off, the clue is in the name really, Blue Lagoon VILLAGE, it's not a tower block, is spread out over a large area and is vast, however, believe me, your waistline will thank you for all the walking after eating all the delicious food! However, if you do have any walking difficulties, there are many other blocks more central to everything (blocks 3 (exec suites) and blocks 4, 5 and 6 for instance.) Also, there are plentiful golf buggies, who you can call from your room and who will take you anywhere you want to go. These buggies are always driving around too and you will always be able to flag one down. We enjoyed the walking (it was the only exercise of the fortnight really!) however, we even had some drivers stopping us and asking if we wanted a lift, plus all these guys were very friendly and cheery, and always had a wave and a smile for our daughter, who also took to waving to them on a regular basis! However, I believe the buggies are very busy on main changeover days (Wednesdays and Saturdays.)

If you like being in the centre of things and don't really hanker for peace and quiet, then being around the Activity Pool will be more your cup of tea. The entertainment crew work hard organizing games, quizzes etc. and as this pool is very large, and is the same depth throughout, plus the baby pool is here too, there are always lots of children enjoying themselves and splashing about. There is a lifeguard on duty here as we'll as very efficient waiters and waitresses who come around asking if you want anything to drink. There is also a bar too in this area, the Galatia (pancakes, waffles pastries and ice cream) and the Grill restaurant, so there is plenty shade you can go to sit and have a snack or a drink. Thompson the dog also puts in regular appearances for games etc. here, which obviously delights the children, our daughter is very proud of her certificate she received for winning Musical Statues!

From here there is just a short walk down past the beach bar to the beach, which is vast, with plenty of sun beds, umbrellas and also cabanas for rent. There are seven cabanas at the moment, with, I believe, more planned for next year. These cost 25 euros for the day and can be booked at Reception (or you can just phone Reception from your room) however, also having a booking system at the beach bar would be advisable, as once on the beach, then deciding that you want one, it's a trek back to Reception to organize that. Anyway, these cabanas are spread out along the beach, some nearer the water than others, some nearer the toilets than others, so it would be wise to have a wonder along them all then decide which ones you prefer before then going to book. The cabanas are great if you like the shade (which we actually don't) but they are also great if you want to leave all your stuff out of the sand, prefer lying in comfort on a padded sunbed, or even have children who, when bored playing in the sand, will like to sit in the shade and colour in or play their Nintendo's! Inside they have lovely comfy rattan furniture, a coffee table and a bin! However, you also get waiter service with these and a lovely platter of fruit delivered at midday. All that’s missing are wooden hooks inside, on the cabana structure which would be handy to hang things up (wet swimsuits etc.)

The beach is sandy, however there are rocks just below the water level on entry to the sea. If you are paddling this is fine but if you want to walk into the sea then you have to use the sandbags, which the hotel have placed along the beach at regular intervals, and will take you from the beach into water deep enough for you to start swimming. People have complained in the past about this system, and I know the hotel are trying to think of other things they can do. However, everyone must be aware that their hands are tied with regards to providing better access to the sea as the conservation and planning regulations in Kos prevent the development of the coastline beyond 10 meters from the sea, thus preventing the installation of bathing platforms etc. BLV were fined last year for altering the shoreline by providing these sandbags, and are expecting just as heavy a fine for them again this year.

Adventureland is just a short walk along the beach along a wooden slatted path (however if you are taking a buggy to Adventureland it will seem like further way as obviously they have to take the road.) Adventureland is great with various slides, water squirters etc., and also a lazy river. There is also a ropes course (paid for) and tennis courts etc.

One thing I'd like to point out though, when people come off the beach - please don't just dip your sandy feet in the Relax Pool or Relax Pool Jacuzzi - there are many, lovely (warm) showers situated when you come off the beach, with especially designed feet cleaning nozzles – please use them!

While I'm on gripes about people's behaviour, please don't wait until you are sitting at breakfast to rub sun tan lotion on to your children. We shockingly witnessed quite a few people lining up their kids, sitting them in a chair and covering them with lotion, during breakfast! Once finished, these people didn't even move the chair back from where it came from. Isn't that what you have a room/terrace for, rub their lotion on before getting them ready in the morning, then you won't miss any bits and you won't get it all over chairs and the floor in the dining room!

On the subject of dining, I defay anyone not to find something they like to eat, at ANY restaurant, at ANY meal! Breakfast is served in the main Agean restaurant and, yes, it has things strange to us Brits at brekky time, like cucumber, salami, carrots and tuna, however I did see lots of people eating these things, so obviously that's what these people eat, and so have to be catered for. There is also a huge selection of fruits, yogurts, breads, croissants etc., cold meats and cheese, eggs every which way you want them, bacon, sausages (albeit hot dog type - wish they would get proper meaty ones!) and of course baked beans! Also every Sunday there is a table set up as you go in with smoked salmon and champagne. Waiters will bring you tea and coffee, and once they know what you like, sometimes it just appears as if my magic - now that's service! The cooked breakfast is only on until 10am (and I like my eggs and beans in the morning) and it's military precision at 10am sharp, everything gets removed, however, I do think that people complained that this was too early (even although the continental stuff stayed out until much later) so I do have it on good authority that this will be changed next year to 10.30 - yay!

Lunch can be taken at the poolside Grill or at the Italian, or you can just grab a toastie or hotdog at the beach bar. Apart from two lunches at the Grill, we tended to prefer a leisurely lunch, in the shade, at the Italian. There was always a big selection of hot dishes and pastas, always a selection on vegetarian dishes, lots of salads and puddings, however, the pizzas were to die for! We also visited the Italian a few times in the evening, having a lovey drink in the Piazza cocktail bar beforehand. Lovely comfy sofas outside at the front, however, I didn't think many people knew of the lovely area they had out the back which we had to ourselves on many ocassions!

The Italian at night was great too, fab service and great food. We had to cancel our desserts one evening, as we had eaten so much. The lasagna starter was bigger than most main dishes (I have posted a photo!) The risotto is also recommended, delicious!

We also tried the Chinese, which was much better than last year, you can order as many things from the menu as you like and I can thoroughly recommend the chicken satay and chicken chow main. Our daughter tried chicken wings for the first time here, and then proceeded to have three plates of them! The pancake rolls (not the vegetarian ones, which were lovely anyway) were off the menu the night we went, and funnily enough, they were off the time we went last year too – funny that!!?

We also managed one visit to the First Date restaurant, which was lovely. It is situated in a lovely setting at the far end of the Relax Pool. There was a violinist playing which was very romantic. The food was delicious here and we wished we could return again, however, our babysitters had gone home as this is an adults only restaurant!

We also tried the BBQ, and although the food was lovely, with a great selection, and the service was good, we found it to be a bit of a hassle really.

The main Aegean restaurant in the evening was also lovely, there are tables inside and out, and yes, the lights could be a bit dimmer inside, and there could be some form of storm candle on the tables outside, but really that's my only criticism. There are three main areas of food to choose from, with endless selections at each, too many to mention! There are also grill stations where you can have meat and fish cooked to order. Vegetarians are also well catered for, with a lot of Vegetarian options, the two choices of soups each evening also tend to be vegetarian too. The children also have their own buffet section in the restaurant, where the buffet tables are lower down, the tables and chairs are also smaller and colourful. This part of the restaurant opens at 6pm and has the likes of salads, pastas, chicken nuggets, fish fingers, mash, chips etc.

Not sure how busy the 'paid for' two restaurants are, however I do think that having two of this type of restaurant is excessive, most people don't want to pay for dinner when it is 'included' anyway, and the Italian, Chinese and First Date restaurants are so good anyway for a la carte options. Surely one could be utilised better as something else, possibly the new Exec Lounge, where, in the evening, people could also go and have drinks and canapés etc. and socialise with some other people who have access to the lounge?

Alternatively, as BLV is so far away from any local town where you could go and get a 'Greek' experience, it would be great if one of these restaurants could be a 'Greek' only type restaurant, with authentic plate smashing and Greek dancing. You would have to book of course, but it would be a place you would go to for the evening, for your meal and your entertainment!

All the restaurant staff and the managers, who are always on hand, are fantastic, the service was first class everywhere we went, and you can tell that they take pride in their work. We also found the bar staff and reception staff also to be excellent, we were greeted my name on a lot of occasions, and always made to feel special. I must also mention the cleaners, gardeners and even maintenance men who are all constantly cleaning, washing, digging and checking things, they are cheery and polite and always have a smile and a hello. This place is spotless, and our hearts went out to the glass cleaning guys, who, it seems, have a never ending job!

On the subject of the fabulous BLV staff, I also want to mention that my sister in law left her purse in the ladies toilets beside the kiddies pool after we had lunch at the Grill one day, it had over a hundred Euros in it along with her cards etc. (she'd been shopping in the mini market.) We obviously thought we would never see it again, however upon checking with Reception later that day, found it had been handed in by a lovely waitress called Maria. Of course Maria was hunted down and was even reluctant to take a reward!

In a resort this size, and with this number of staff, law of averages dictate that there are always going to be one or two grumpy ones, but to be honest, we only encountered one!

We also saw a lot of familiar faces from last year, the egg man, some waitresses and bar staff and even the girl serving in the Boutique (lots of bargains at this time of the year) and it was nice that they pretented to remember you, even if they actually didn't!!

It was also lovely this year to see how the gardens had come on since last year, as obviously things had just been planted back then. Plants and bushes were a lot more mature and the place was a lot greener because of it. There was also a new kiddie play park just beside the main restaurant with swings etc. which was a nice touch.

Entertainment - in the evening there was a great two piece band playing in the Shake and Mix cocktail bar, not too loud, played a decent range of music, plus they could actually sing too! We always find this bar at night a bit too bright and clinical, and the plastic chairs aren't that welcoming, however, as we were so lucky with the weather this year, we could sit in the outside areas of this bar, which is a lovely area and enjoy the music under the stars.

The main entertainment starts at 8.30pm at the Theatre with a children's disco, this is run by both the Thompsons reps and the German Pura Vidia kids club reps, which is a great idea, as all children can join in.

Our daughter couldn't attend the Thompson's kids club at the hotel as we were independent travellers, choosing to book our flights and hotel separately (due to flight times mainly, who wants to take children on a flight on the middle of the night!) This was very disappointing when we found out on our first day, as last year we could pay for her to attend the sessions. We did try the hotel kids club, but this is a German kids club, and to be honest we were not made to feel welcome at all. The rep made it abundantly clear that it was all German children and we could tell that translating etc. would be a major hassle for her. We did go back one afternoon when it was advertised that it would be a 'pamper day' which we thought, at least our 8 year old daughter would like that, surely it would only be a with a few German girls doing that and it would be fun, however, when we got there, as the rep had her squad of German boys, the pamper day was cancelled and the boys were off to Adventureland! Anyway, our daughter was disappointed she couldn't attend the club which she so enjoyed last year, however, on the plus side, as we spent so much time in the pool/s we did learn her to dive in over the course of the holiday, so that's something! However, she has made us promise when we go back we have to go on a Thompson plane, grrrrrrrrrrr!

So the advice here is, if you are British and have children that would like to utilize the kids club, you must travel with Thompson, other than that, I would advise travelling independently, booking your flights to suit you then booking your room with the hotel directly. Unless you can speak German of course, where you will be welcomed with open arms into the German Kids Club, which actually seem to spend all their time at Adventureland!

Back to the entertainment, OK, on most nights it is the Thompson Entertainment Team singing and dancing, which, although not West End quality, they do actually sing (not mime like most holiday resorts) and they do give it 100%. It's a lovely setting down here and the bar service was excellent. The Theatre itself is fantastic, with all the equipment it needs, hence it really could step up the productions somewhat, even in the form of some stage sets etc. However, saying all that, every night we were thoroughly entertained, our daughter loved it, and even got on the 'giggly chair' one evening and did her rendition of a prank phone call by 'Shaggy'. Still don't think Keith could believe it when he picked out her piece of paper from the box, normally containing the names of children who want to do a dance, or sing a little song, only to read, 'Erin from Kirkcaldy is not going to rap to Shaggy!' You had to be there!! All this wraps up at 10.30pm, so even if you have a room overlooking the stage, don't panic!

What else ..... Oh yes, it's a shame the Executive Lounge isn't being utilised as before. Last year it had a self service bar, with snacks etc. which was great for my family when I had to go in and do bits of work. This lounge also has a beautiful outside seating area, which, at the moment, isn't being utilised at all, this area has some of the best views in the resort – and it’s empty!! This main building, right in the heart of everything, seems to be such a waste. Let's hope they have plans for it next year! To be honest, the executive lounge never needed to be as big as this, just somewhere with a few computers, a bar, and a nice seated indoor and outdoor area. I spent time in this lounge last year because we only brought an iPad with us, and as wifi is only available in certain areas, I couldn't work from the room, and had to pop in here at least once each day to catch up (sad I know, but I do work for myself so have no option!) Anyway, we were better prepared this year and also brought a small laptop with us, this could be plugged in, by Ethernet cable, in the room (behind the kettle) and hence I could do my work there, it was perfect!

I believe during the summer they turned this lounge into a disco some nights, they had 80's nights, 90's nights, ABBA nights etc., and a belly dancer on one evening too, however, I do think the mistake here was that people had to pay for their drinks in here, plus it didn't start until late. This is a family resort and really, come 10.30pm most people are heading off to bed, to be up bright and early the next morning, enjoying the resort and the sunshine. There really is no need for any late night discos here! The ‘Sports Bar’ idea that was thrown around last year would have actually been a better idea, however, it is a large area, inside and out, and it is quite close to the Shake and Mix bar, so I don’t know?!

Another waste of space is the large indoor area underneath and behind the stage, there was one pool table (out of order) and one table tennis table here. This could be so much better utilised as a kids zone, with soft play for the younger ones, games consoles, fooseball, air hockey etc. even if it was one Euro a go! There is even an outdoor bit that could be used too, shaded lounging area for teens, even a paid for drinks and candy machine or something. Kids/Teens could sign up here for various games etc. too.

My last gripe, and it was my gripe last year too, is those awful sun beds! These, in my opinion, are not sunbeds, but actually just sunbed frames' i.e. they are meant to have a pad on them! If you hire a cabana you will get these beds with the pads and you will see the difference! When you lie on these beds, the arms are too high, when they have the pad on them, you are lifted up to a better height for these metal arms. Also, when you sit up on these beds, your bum can't go anywhere else but down the big gap that appears between the base and the back of them. Please get better beds, your other five star hotels in the group have them, please!

Think that's it, however, I'm sure once posted I'll remember lots of other stuff. Feel free to ask me any questions and I'll do my best to answer them. All in all BLV is a fantastic resort, it ticks all the boxes for us for a holiday, great accommodation, great food, fantastic service in clean and beautiful surroundings.

Thank you to Denis, and of course Ionnis who looked after myself and my family so well, it was most appreciated.

We had a wonderful holiday, I even saw my first ever shooting star on our second last night, and my wish ..... to return to BLV of course!

Room Tip: If you don't mind being that bit further away from the action, and have no children, then the ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Juliet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wow- every bit as good as we had hoped!
We picked this resort because it had the waterpark for kids AND luxurious accommodation- often you don't get the latter with a family friendly resort. There are no flights from Scotland so we had to go to Newcastle but definitely worth it. The 15 minute transfer was fantastic.

The whole hotel is stylish and exceptionally clean. The main bars as modern and minimalist and there are loads of places to sit of an evening. Being near the end of season it was not near capacity but it never seemed too quiet either. We were amazed so many restaurants were open- 3 buffet food areas/ ie different restaurants serving different food were adjoined by a central eating area of outside seating and of course had huge amounts of tables inside, This meant you could actually select food from three different restaurants during the course of your meal due to their close proximity. We loved the outdoor seating area for breakfast also.
Food was excellent quality, especially at the a la cartes. Buffet food was traditionally greek and there was always lots of choice, lots available and served hot.

Pools were spotless. Waiter/ess service. Jovanka at the activity pool remembered our order quickly and had it across for us before we asked for the rest of the week- a lovely girl.
We went to the activity pool every day then to the waterpark after lunch, then back to the activity pool for the quiz. I feel the comments some reviewers have made about the entertainment staff are very unfair. We saw them speaking to everyone round the pool who was willing to engage with them. They did get to know the kids well who took part in all the activities and would rightly so leave in peace anyone who did not want to get involved. They would give back the interest shown ie. if you wanted to interact they were great and if you wanted peace they would leave you in peace.We went to the activity pool every day and the kids disco every night and all the Thomson entertainment staff could not be faulted in our opinion. Their enthusiasm was unwavering which we were impressed about given it was 2 weeks before the end of season.
Same for the kids club- it was exceptional and the attention to children was unbelievable. In the short time I checked on him I saw my son finish a treasure map, do a learning 'sink or swim?' task with everyday objects and start getting his face painted. Another day he was there himself at the drop in and he had the undivided attention of the 2 staff. They has his writing a story and making puppets and took the stuff up to the kids disco and got him up on stage, read his story and showed his puppets with him. My husband and I are teachers and we could not have been more impressed with the quality of childcare.
Waterpark is slightly apart which I had not realised but golf buggies give you a ride if you don't want to walk and the lifeguard will call you one when you leave.
The rooms were the most contemporary we have stayed in with beautiful modern decor and tiling. We had a family room ( 2 bed) sea view near the main pool, just down the hill from reception and the buffet restaurants. Rooms were spotless.
Overall we spoiled ourselves before we had kids with places like Moon Palace Mexico, Bahia Principe Punta Cana and Kuredu Maldives. Though our priorities have changes (shorter flight/ water park/ kids clubs) this place is right up there with them. Ok the beach is not stunning like these places with white sand but that is just the island- nothing to do with the hotel). Everything about the resort is definitely 5*. We would go back in a second- it was an amazing place and we cannot image a family resort bettering it.
October 6th -13th 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliebond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have recently returned from our second stay here and were not dissapointed; still great food and facilites with excellent standards maintained thoughout!

We only ate A La Cart on this trip, which was in the Chinese, as we find that the main resturant offers plenty of rariety for us and prefer the convenience of eating at a time to suit us. We don't access the evening intertainment or the water park, so are not able to comment on these.

We do have three points which I think te hotel management need to address. We find the water in all the pools much to cold and don't understand why this is the case; the sun beds, due to a design fault, are uncomfortable if set in the "flat" position, as this creates a very hard raised point in the center of the bed. English language TV is limited to BBC World News. We discussed this with the management last year and were told quite lamely, that they were not able to receive english channels, which of course, is rubbish. They gave the same excuse this year. There are many stations carrying channels in other languages, predominantly German.

We holiday at this type of hote for good food, good facilities, good weather and relaxation. We don't drink, and so after our evening meal prefer to return to our suite to watch some television. If we decide to book this hotel for next year, we will only do so subject to a guarantee from Thomson that there will be at least two English language movie channels.

We would also like to comment on the hotel's internet facilities; we believe that they need to follow the lead many quality hotels and stop charging for this. It is very cheap to provide and we find it irritating to have to pay for this, and we would then also be able to watch TV on our tablet computers.

Despite these few points, we still consider that the hotel warrants five stars, however, if the management continue to disregard these points, I would downgrade our score to four stars, on the basis that the managment should contantly be striving to improve their offering and there is no point in inviting comment if this is not listened to and acted upon, and are merely paying lip service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boble000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay we spent a week in October and loved every moment of our holiday rooms are spacious and clean meals were excellent with great variety at every sitting and 5 different ones to go to pools are great also beach where there are ample deck chairs water flumes and lots to do if you want to staff are all great can't give this place enough credit for a wonderful holiday thank you very much for making my holiday so perfect

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigpat564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

excellent all inclusive village hotel complex. really liked the layout as it spread the 900 plus guests throughout the complex and made it feel as if we had the place to ourselves.

booked directly with the hotel as we wanted to travel on a monday. very efficent comms' and we were offered a courtesy airport taxi compliments of the hotel.

Staff, without exception friendly and helpful.

for a greek hotel the food was above average and we were very pleased where ever we ate.

The whole resort was cleaned to within an inch of it's life every evening. We saw the pools checked and cleaned not just everyday but twice a day, acres of glass was cleaned on a regular basis too. toilets were spotless every where we went.

stayed in 1604, this being an upgrade on arrival, and had a patio area and swim up pool. although at the back of the village we loved the peace and quiet and the easy access to our favorite pool (the swim up bar pool)

the beach was nice although the rocky ledges just under the surf were a nuisance. we were recommended to swim a couple of hundred meters left of the beach entrance as the rocks had been cleared there and this made entering the sea much easier.

We used the spa too and only just got in as it is very popular, so book up early.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverstreak01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just back from 2nd trip to Blue Lagoon and have to say that it was even better 2nd time around. Had fantastic room, great views, nice and peacefull in swim up, adults only bit. Weather was hot, food was excellent again, staff were amazing, special thanks to Yiannis and Fani(my favourite reception girl) who couldn't do more to help. Started to get a bit quite as it is getting to end of season but that suited us fine. Still need to sort out the lack of comfotable sun beds(need cushions like beach huts have) Need to be able to book beach huts at the beach bar, need snacks, hot dogs, toasties etc at the swim up bar, need executive lounge turned into games room for the occasional bad day. If it got these sorted it would certaily be a 5 star plus in my book. Thomsons need to lighten up on the policy of not taking kids who are not travelling with them into the kids club though. If you are willing to pay I really cannot see what the issue is. My neice's holiday was spoiled by her not getting in to the club, after they had taken her in last year. Shame on you.

Room Tip: Swim up s have sun on them more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
15.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
5.1 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
17.8 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Village

Property: Blue Lagoon Village
Address: Xirokampos S.A., Blue Lagoon Village, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Village 5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Village is a newly built luxurious village style complex with 366 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is in direct contact with the sandy beach offering magnificent views. It is located only 10 km from the centre of Kefalos, near Paradise Beach one of the most beautiful beaches of Kos, only 5 km from the airport and 30 km from Kos town, the capital of the island. The Blue Lagoon Village offers a vast variety of facilities like the Aegean Main restaurant with indoor and outdoor sections, the First Date restaurant with its romantic atmosphere (only for adults), the Thalassa Fish tavern, the Susshimi sushi restaurant and the Golden Sun Chinese restaurant offering you different tastes from all over the world. The Grill House is offering traditional Greek dishes, the Piazza Italian Restaurant is for traditional Italian meals, the Adventure Barbecue, where for grilling your own combination of different meats and finally the Gelateria where you can enjoy pancakes, waffles, sweets and ice-cream.You will have a hard job choosing where to have your drink: at the Shake & Mix Cocktail bar any time of the day, the Wet Pool bar, an impressive swim-up bar, at the Pool bar, at the Piazza Cocktail bar in the afternoon or at the Beach and Snack bar during the day. Our guests from all over the world will have the choice of a 3000 sq meters swimming pool with Jacuzzi and water jets, a 1000 sq meters activity pool with a section for children, a children’s splash pool, a 1000 sq meters leisure Pool and an “Adults-Only” pool area. There is also the choice of the long, sandy beach with a variety of water sports. For children and adults, that still feel like children, we recommend the Adventure Land with ropes course, waterslides and water games.The fully equipped Vida Fit health club with its’ heated pools, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath is available to all our guests over 16 years of age. For those who wish to pamper themselves, the PURArelax Spa offers a wide range of treatments. For a unique shopping experience visit our various shops, ranging from a minimarket and a liquor shop to boutiques and gift shops.In order to provide the best possible accommodation to all of our valuable guests, we have created standard rooms with sea view and swim up pool (also in the “Adults-Only” area), family rooms as well as Junior suites and Executive suites with private pools. All rooms are provided with satellite TV, mini-fridge, and coffee/tea making facilities, internet access, telephone, safety deposit box free of charge, individual air conditioning units, hairdryer and amenities. The Blue Lagoon Village in total harmony with the picturesque landscape, open from May to October, provides comfort and warm hospitality that attracts tourists from all over the world. The abundance of natural beauties and the crystal clear waters make the hotel a paradise of tranquility, ideal for families and couples. For those who wish to enjoy all these and more Blue Lagoon Village is the answer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blue Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Village Hotel Kefalos
Blue Lagoon Village Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing