We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Lagoon Village
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zeus Hotel(Kefalos)(Great Value!)
$39
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermes Hotel(Kefalos)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ionikos Hotel(Kefalos)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,502)
Filter reviews
1,502 results
Traveler rating
1,020
330
99
41
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,020
330
99
41
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubactivity poolmain restaurantrelax poolwaiter serviceevening entertainmentswim up bargolf buggyitalian restaurantcrepesswim up roomentertainment teamwater parka la carte restaurantsthomson repsaegean restaurantice cream
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 1,502 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our first visit in 2011 was fantastic. The resort just opened, everthing was new and impressive.
The resort has an high mode architectural structure it seems to us as a "music note" next to the Aegean sea lines. We were impressed by the kindness and high service level of its staff.

We have just visited the resort for the second time. We knew what we could expect.
Overall conclusion: the resort is still excellent! They have maintained the high service level and its quality. Especially the mayor improvement of the Chinees restaurant was astonishing. Its restaurant supervisor " Mr. Vasilis Giannios" has an excellent team, nice ambiance and fantastic food.

We recommend the Grill House for the Lunch and the Chinees or Tavern for diner.

The execellent facilities, the fine dishes which they serve, the professional staff all together a great mix for a excellent holiday.

Certainly we will visit this resort once again in 2013.

Family Hezemans, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hezemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hotel really is first class, from the moment you arrive you are given a very warm welcome, with hotel staff and the reps greeting you off the coach with a glass of wine & Thomson the dog greeting the children (which our 3 year old twins loved!) luggage taken care of and pens on hand to fill at all the forms at check in. This created a great first impression and set the tone for the whole holiday.

We were given a free upgrade to a family sea view room which was a nice touch, the room was spotless and modern with everything you needed including slippers, robes, cold water and fruit.
The bathroom was really well equipt, seperate shower, toliet and then another shower over the bath, all fully tiled and modern.

We have just rebooked and paid the extra this time to guarentee the family 2 bedroomed room with a seaview, we have requested the same room 6101, which is just near the main activity pool, childrens pool, near to the beach and just accross from the evening entertainment (which is noisey but only till 11pm) but overall very well placed.

All the pools are imaculate, water is cold but fine once your in, and to me not a big deal as its nice to cool off in the warm weather. There is a lifeguard at the pool and the beach too.

The beach was very quiet with most people staying round the pools! , but we loved the beach, great for children to dig and build sand castles its very spacious and uncrowded so we always got a front row lounger - you do not need any beach towels as can get fresh ones everyday.

If you fancy a drink or snack you can just nip to the top of the beach and go to the beach bar, the food their is just hotdogs, sandwiches or crapes- but after large breakfasts and tea you dont need much at lunchtime.

If you do go to the pool the staff from the bar will come and take a drinks order and then they remember what you had and are always walking round clearing glasses and taking more orders - fantastic service - it is a little slippy round the pool especially if you pop to the fresh waffle/ice cream area so make sure little ones have some crocs on.

The food is really nice, for a buffet restaurant (as per the brochure) it has a fantastic range of food with the chefs constanly replenishing the food, even before it has all gone, - there were always managers over seeing everything and ensuring the you are well looked after. There is a childrens buffet station but our 3 year olds eat the same food as us most nights and they enjoyed it, we ate in the Italian at night which was nice and the food seemed very fresh. I imagine the kitchens are spotless!

We went to the water park 3 times, just an hour each time, its quicker to walk along the beach to get to it, lovely pirates ship and slides etc and you can get drinks too.

The childrens club is well built situatied next to the chapel, over looking the main activity pool, our 3 year old twins only went twice, then they didnt want to go again- think they were enjoying having mummy and daddy to themselves. Thomson the dog was a huge hit with all the children, but he only appears for 5 minutes each night, the childrens entertainment is the samething everynight but its the parents that seemed bothered by this- the children didnt mind and were all enjoying themselves surely thats the important thing!

Can't rate this hotel highly enough, we are well travelled and this is the first time we have ever rebooked to go back to the same hotel.

Find it amazing that some people can find find fault with this hotel, think some just like to moan for the sake of it.

We are well travelled but this is the only time we have rebooked to go back to the same hotel -It is a fantastic place.

Roll on next summer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank craigs270501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the BLV and it was the most relaxing holiday we have had since having the kids. we have not been all inclusive with the kids as we usually book flights/accommodation ourselves and go to see family abroad. We decided if we were going to do it then it needed to be somewhere good and we ended up booking the BLV through Thomson. There were a few issues during our stay but we really did have such a fantastic time otherwise that the issues did not spoil our holiday. Will go through my experiences:

TRANSFER
Fantastic efficient transfer from the airport, only taking 15 mins to get to our resort.

CHECK IN
It was late by the time we arrived, we were told to leave out suitcases at reception door and go to the desk to check in, after filling in the necessary forms we were given our key cards, some sandwiches and taken to our room on a buggy by a porter. He also brought our suitcases into the room for us.

ROOM
The room was very clean and modern. we had upgraded to a family room which consisted of 1 twin room and 1 double room and a bathroom. well, it should have consisted of that but was actually 2 twin rooms. it did say on our Thomson booking that we had requested a double but when we contacted the reception they said that Thomson had not passed on this information. they said there was nothing they could do but move us and our new room would be right at the other side of the resort, as we were very well placed, in room 5102 very close to the kids clubs and activity pool, we decided to put up with the twin beds and stay put. The air conditioning in the kids room did not work when we arrived, we informed reception and they fixed it the next morning. The maid came every day and made the beds and changed your towels.

RESTUARANTS
when we checked in we were told that if we wanted to eat in any of the a la carte restaurants we would have to book at least 2 days in advance and could only be booked through guest relations which was only open a couple of hours in morning and couple of hours in afternoon. This was a bit of a shock as it meant that although arriving on Wednesday night we were unable to get a table in any of the restuarants until Sunday. We were also informed we could only visit each restaurant once per week, This was really quite annoying as we did not want to visit the fish restaurant or the chinese really and would have rather done the italian and adventure bbq twice instead. The woman taking the bookings was really quite arrogant and was not willing to assist us with this at all so she basically told US when we could have a booking in each restaurant, we booked Italian for the Sunday, BBQ for Monday and Chinese for Tuesday. I had thought before we went that perhaps we would alternate our a la carte meals with the buffet so we did not have to eat in the buffet several nights in a row but this was not to be. And what was very annoying was that the a la carte restaurants were always half empty and not fully booked as we were lead to believe.

FOOD/SERVICE
AEGEAN BUFFET RESTAURANT (breakfast and dinner)
there was always a massive choice of food. am surprised at negative comments about the food as it really was very nice. only thing i will say was that it was not very hot but then that is problem with buffets in general as if you keep it too hot you are going to dry it out. service was very efficient also.
GRILL HOUSE BUFFET (Lunch)
near the activity pool, really handy for lunch if you want a decent meal, not as big a choice as main restaurant but sufficient for lunch.
ITALIAN (buffet lunch and a la carte dinner) was fine for lunch but we did not enjoy a la carte in the evening. Manager was very arrogant. bruschetta was stale, risotto was tasteless and service not very attentive.
ADVENTURE BBQ (dinner)
Here you pick your own meats and grill them yourselves and then you have a salad bar too. we really enjoyed this meal.
CHINESE (a la carte dinner)
we were glad we had booked here in the end, we fed the kids at the aegean before we went as they dont like chinese and just my husband and i ate there....it was the best chinese i have ever had and the service was fantastic too. it is on the far side of the resort near the spa and the kids played on the lawns next to it while we ate.
BEACH SNACK BAR (open 10am till 6pm)
here you can get toasted sarnies, savoury crepes, hotdogs and ice cream
ICE CREAM/WAFFLE HOUSE (open 10am till 6pm)
OMG...fresh waffles and crepes to die for...way too conveniently placed next to the activity pool. kids were in and out getting whtever they wanted all day.

KIDS CLUB
Our kids fell into 2 different age groups, they have tots (3-5) team (6-8) and tribe (9-11) they also run drop in sessions 10-12 and 4-6 where all ages go together but limited numbers. it was the first time our 4 and 7 year old had been to kids clubs so we were not too hopeful they would like it. however, they LOVED it and sometimes went twice a day!! the staff were briliant and really made an effort with the kids, they even came to see the kids off when we left on our coach to come home.

ENTERTAINMENT
there are some games in the pool during the day but not a huge amount but that did not bother us. The evening entertainment was ok, but not brilliant. I really dont like to say that because the reps were brilliant, they really were. they were doing their best and to be perfectly honest the kids LOVED it, and at the end of the day it is a family resort and if the kids are happy and entertained then mummy and daddy can relax a bit.

something else that really did annoy me was how busy the resort got towards the end of our holiday....and it turned out that most of the new arrivals were actually people who had been upgraded free from other resorts...especially the blue lagoon resort. when you have spent a fortune on your 5* holiday it really does sting a bit when a shed load of people get to experience it for far less than you paid!

The resort itself is massive but you can get around on buggies driven by staff. we really enjoyed this holiday and we are considering going back next year

Room Tip: we were in 5000 block which was ideally situated for the kids club and activity pool
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Blue Lagoon Village after being transferred from the blue lagoon resort, its was a free promotional offer, how could we say no.
The room we had was amazing a Junior suit duplex, 2 bathrooms, 2 balcony's, huge bed and comfy sofa bed. You get ferried around in club cart if needed, so being less able is not a problem.
Yes the Village is huge with 7 restaurants and numerous bars, a water park and 4 seperate pools, so there is always plenty to do, but if we had stayed for 2 weeks we would have hired a car as there is nothing else in the area, not even a hidden tresure Taverna. If your looking for a completely relaxing holiday this is the place to go, I have no complaints at all about the facilities and it is truly a 5 star property.
Food: the booking arrangements are not great for the specialty restaurants, you have to book about a 4 days in advance, but then when you do dine in the speciality restaurants they are pratically empty and I wandered why the guest relations lady was so abrubt in telling us everything was full and there was nothing she could do whilst chewing gum and not smiling once. So we took it upon ourselves to blag our way into the BBQ restaurant just to see if we could get in, oh and surprise surprise it was half empty and we were seated staright away.
The main restaurant food needs to be improved greatly, coming from a catering background myself, the food was bland and to hide the blandness a tonne of salt was added to every dish, although the risotto and the mousaka were reasonable.
Beach was superb and the snack bar very handy for a 3pm G&T.
Am looking to book for next year but really hope the food in the main restaurant improves, and they employ a new guest relations lady.
TIP: Upgrade your room, its is worth every penny

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Duplex suite. Book the speciality restaurants as soon as you arrive. Only children over 10 can use the waterpark
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lollo2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband, myself and my 19 month old have just returned from an amazing 2 week break at BLV. A stunning hotel, with the most incredible staff and excellent facilities. Any faults we could find were minor in the grand scheme of things. We were very sad to leave.

The accomodation - we splashed out and got one of the private pool suites and think we may have even been given the best one there as we had sunshine on our terrace all day. The terrace was spacious with more furniture than you will ever need. The pool was a little cold, but easy to get used to in the heat. The suite itself was spacious. The living room was smaller than I was expecting, having looked at pics, but we only used this as my daughters bedroom and for the fridge and coffee machine. The coffee machine in the room was a really nice touch. The bed was huge and incredibly comfy. The bathroom was open plan from the bedroom (separated by the wardrobes) with a nice bath and shower. The one downside of the bathroom for me was the loo which only had a small glass door and with the bathroom being open plan to the bedroom, we didn't get much privacy. And there was only one small towel rail for towels, which is weird given their policy of "hang it up if you don't want it changed", but we physically couldn't hang up all towels for the 3 of us. The best thing about our suite though - the view! Just stunning. The window spanned the whole length of the bedroom/ bathroom, which meant you could lie in bed and just see the sea.

The resort - huge and immaculate. Has been designed very well to fit in with the surrounding landscape and to make the most out of the views available. It was easy-ish to get round the resort with a pushchair, but there weren't enough ramps and lifts. Only one lift down to the main restaurant, which sometimes got crowded low season, so I don't know what it would be like in high season. Once you've been there a while you start to learn shortcuts, but you do have to make an effort to find these. The pools were cool, but not that cold. I have been in far colder pools. Activity pool was rammed every day, but the other two always had spaces. The beach was ok, but our daughter ate the sand the one time we went there, so we didn't go again! Plus the sand was very hot. Adventure land was great and we went there most days for our little girl - she loved it. The gym/ health suite was also brilliant while our daughter was in the creche and the spa was lovely too.

Food - I don't know how anyone could complain about this. The food was to die for. Plenty of variety in the main restaurant and I didn't get any of the repetition some people have mentioned. It was also beautifully cooked and delicious. Chinese was as others have said, some of the best chinese food I have had. Adventure BBQ was a pain with a 19 month old. She just wanted to get out of her high chair and run around, but with hot grills and loads of people walking all over the place I wasn't happy for her to do that. Think it would have been lovely for adults and older children though and lots of fun. Italian and Grill at lunch were also great with plenty of choice. Pancake place was also great as was the snack bar. How anyone can say no variety I don't know?!

Drinks - again plenty of choice. There are actually about 8 house cocktails, not 4 as previously reviewed and they aren't bland. The house wine was also really good, which was a suprise. Vap beer isn't great, but hey, can't have everything! The one complaint about drinks... this is a family resort and presumably many families have to go back to their room early to get little ones to bed. However, taking drinks back to your room is frowned upon. Don't get me wrong, we still took drinks back to our room, but some waiters didn't look happy about that. I just think being an AI Family resort there should be some sort of facility to be able to easily get free booze in your room, with the justification of that if I was there as a couple we could be sat in the bar til midnight drinking as much as we liked.

The staff - Praise goes to the staff at the resort for making this a true 5* resort. All were incredibly attentive and couldn't do enough for you. The guys who worked at the chinese in the evening and then lunch in the grill were so friendly and special mention for Florin who our daughter took a particular shine to! The guys in the pancake place were also brilliant.

Creche - We booked our daughter in for 6 x 2 hr sessions and one evening session. The staff were really lovely and our daughter warmed to them so easily. They were all qualified and we had no hesitation in leaving her with them. Our daughter loved playing with all the toys, as we could only bring away a small selection with us. Thank you Amanda, Nicola and Emma for taking such good care of our little one.

Entertainment - not 5* but still entertaining. The guys work so hard to put on a show and you could recognise this effort. Our daughter loved the mini disco and Thomson the dog, so as she was happy, so were we. My advice would be to not expect much from the entertainment, just relax, have a drink and then you'll probably find you're pleasantly surprised!

People who complain about the location... did you not look at where it was before you booked? For me the location was spot on. I loved being in the middle of nowhere. There's so much to do in the resort that you don't have to leave, but if like us you like to get out and explore, hire a car. Everywhere is so easy to get to and then you can drive back in the evening to the peace and quiet of the resort in the middle of nowhere. The big benefit of it's location is that you don't have to wear the AI armbands as you don't get random people wandering off the street.

In a nutshell, it was an amazing holiday. Plenty to do, to eat, to drink. Beautiful setting. Excellent facilities, carefully looked after, with the most friendly bunch of staff I have ever encountered anywhere. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: 3521 if you're going for a suite. Being on the top floor of the suite block, it got sun all day long on the terrace and we think it probably had the best views of any suite, being the nearest to the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Madiemango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews