We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayflower 2”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kefalos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayflower Peros Studios
HIGH PEAK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mayflower 2”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Returned on 26/06/13 and already decided to return next year which is unlike us! We had a ground floor room in the Mayflower 2 which for Greece was very big and well equipped and we could not hear the people above us! Rooms cleaned by Sula to a very high standard. Sula and her family are very friendly and it was a pleasure to meet them. We had a look at the Peros studios whilst there and though smaller than the Mayflower 2 still of a good standard. Dimitri the owner was fantastic and often shared the fresh fruit from his trees with us. The food at the pool bar was really good and generous portions. During our last few days the pool bar stayed open a little longer but as most people tended to dine out of an evening of sit on their terrace/balacony he did not stay open after 9pm ish as not viable with no customers. Could go on and on about this gem of a place but in a nutshell can't fault the Peros-Mayflower Studios and the family that run it. Kefalos itself we found realy chilled and relaxing with good quality restaurants and bars to all suit all tastes unless you want a "big" night out. if you want a chilled out bar in a lovely location try the Bravo Bar on the beach fab location and great staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEJONNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Well, having just returned from a two week holiday at the Mayflower 2 I thought a quick review may be of help to others. Firstly, the Mayflower / Peros complex is three separate two storey apartment blocks of between 5 and 1o apartment sin each block. The Peros block is nearest the pool / bar area, then Mayfower 1 then Mayflower 2. We were fortunate to book two first (top) floor apartments in the Mayflower 2 block. This block has 5 apartment rooms, three on the ground floor and two on the first. Entry through the front door into a small, functional kitchenette area with a fridge, sink with hot and cold water and plug in 2 ringed hot plate (for those who really wish to cook!!!!!!!!!). Then into the one large open room with three single beds, a double door out onto the balcony consisting of a double glass door and then a louvered metal shuttered double door. You can lock both of these, we used to close and lock the metal one only, the louvered slats allowing the breeze to try and cool the room down. The room also has a dinning table and built in wardrobe. Off this is a small functional bathroom with a sink, loo and shower.
The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every other day by Sula, the lady who owns this particular block and lives just behind it. She is very friendly and approachable, a nice lady.
The pool area is paved and safe with a separate small shallow pool for toddlers and a good sized main pool for others. Plenty of sunbeds surround the pool area however, beware the ones with an umbrella above them. All the umbrella shades are in fact sheets of ply wood, cut and painted then screwed onto the umbrella frame. I was not the only one to misjudge or forget this and bash my head when standing up or leaning under the canopy.
For some reason, Dimitri, the owner, would not open the bar area in the evening. Apparently the Olympic Rep has asked him to do so but he refused!!!.........choosing instead to help out at the restaurant he owns in the village.
The bar area opens at around 8am and is open throughout the day for the usual bar snacks and drinks. There is a small bookshelf with a selection of used paperbacks left by others which can be borrowed for free. Dimitri, the owner seemed a pleasant enough chap and is around all day.
Overall.....a very pleasant, clean friendly place to stay. It is not luxurious but then this is a small village on a small Greek island not he south of France!
The beach is about 5 minutes walk down the lane from the apartments. Next door is a large but when we were there, fairly empty supermarket. You can get your basics there, water etc but there are more supermarkets on the main road or strip just down the lane.
I would stay here again but only in the upper apartments as the rooms echo a lot and to have some one padding around above you would be a tad annoying. Overall, a quiet place to stay. The main bulk of holiday makers were couples in the 50 plus age group.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper floor as they do echo and some people drag chairs, stomp around etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richas62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just got home after spending a week at the Mayflower 2 .
The apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean ,(cleaned every other day).
The pool area and surrounding areas are well kept and tidy ,new trees and plants were being planted during our week there .
The family who own the small complex which consists of The peros ,Mayflower and Mayflower 2 blocks are really friendly and always ready for a chat .
The location is great and just a short walk down a quiet lane to the beach.
We had a great relaxing week in Kefalos ,and will definitely be returning to stay in The Mayflower 2.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice clean apartments in quiet location with a nice pool. Kefalos village itself is a nice little place on the top of the hill but the resort by the beach is depressing and run down. Sky sports and cheap beer are not a good combination for a lovely greek island! The resort has an unloved feel to it and there are so many nicer places to visit in greece.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiebur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this holiday fairly last minute through Co-Operative / Olympic. Our studio was basic, clean and tidy, with a balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area was lovely, with a bar serving nice fresh food, cheap, and with a well stocked bar and friendly staff always there to help.

It's a family run place, Dimitri is lovely and helpful as is George. A cheap supermarket is on the doorstep, the beach and loads of restaurants are less than 5 minutes away. Prices for two meals and a carafe are really good, usually around 30 euro.

We would definitely return and would recommend Peros to anyone looking for somewhere nice and quiet but in walking distance to pubs and places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank becky_roth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Got back from Kefalos on 22nd August 2012. We stayed in room 8 (1st floor) in the Peros appartments which didn't have much shade in the mornings from the outside trees so we ate breakfast in the room. The balcony was also about half the size of the ground floor rooms but they didn't have the view. Our appartment was cleaned every other day and had lovely towels! We hired a fan after the first night but I still found it difficult to sleep due to the heat and the mozzies - which were fierce! When we returned one afternoon we found that the lock to our room had been broken. We were assured that a locksmith would come out the following day to repair it but when we left some 6 days later it had still not been repaired. We found the beer at the bar rather expensive (3 euro compared to 1.5 euro elsewhere) and the only nights the bar stayed open beyond 10pm was on the nights when there were late night departures. We usually eat out every other night on holiday so to stay in and cook we found the kitchen equipment barely adequate. We did have one breakfast at the bar though which was pretty good.

Although it was lovely and quiet I found Kefalos to be a little too far off the beaten track. We're not exactly beach lovers which was just as well as the beaches seemed short and gravelly. We've been to Kos before and prefer the other side of the island (Mastihari, Tingaki) as its less remote and the beaches are stunning) but mainly because its the right side to see those glorious sunsets - speaking of which, if you don't visit anywhere else you must see a sunset from Zia!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleWarnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Got back yesterday from our third stay at the Mayflower Peros (6th time to Kefalos).
We stay in the Mayflower 2 studios for 3 people, and there is plenty of room for a family of 3.

We decided this year to hire a fan, with was 15 euros + a 10 euro returnable deposit.

As usually, the food cooked by Dimitiri was excellent - especially his chickpea and pumpkin fritters with salad for 3.5 euros.

The pool area is kept clean and tidy everyday.

It is a five minute walk to the beach, and there are loads of bars and tavernas to try, our favourites being - Marias bar, Akropol, Bravo, Sebastians, Capt Johns, and Gallinis.

Hoping to return again next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taffyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kefalos
0.0 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#27 of 39 in Kardamena
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
0.0 mi away
Chrysoula Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Peros Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Peros Studios

Property: Mayflower Peros Studios
Address: near Kamari Beach, Kefalos 853 00, Greece (Formerly Mayflower Studios)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Mayflower Peros Complex Hotel Kefalos
Mayflower Peros Studios Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing