We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, spotless, friendly, convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritsa Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritsa Studios
Ranked #5 of 14 Kefalos B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quiet, spotless, friendly, convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

After reading the review that said Maritsa Studios were "miles from anywhere" we were stunned when we got there to find it was within comfortable walking distance of: lovely beach with sun beds, boats, windsurfing etc - 5 mins (tops); supermarket 3 -5 mins - just across the road; and plenty of bars, restaurants and tavernas - these are starting from 5 minutes away and then lining the route to the old harbour - which is about 20 - 30 minutes away depending on whether you stroll or walk steadily, and whether you walk along the beach path (quicker) or the road. It is a longer walk to the actual village of Kefalos at the top of the hill (40 - 50 mins), but, being an old mediaeval village built at the highest point locally, you expect that. It is a trip well worth making for the village itself and the stunning view. Also, supermarkets locally have everything you need so there is no actual pressing urgency to make a trip (but do go!)
Maritsa Studios are spotlessly clean, comfortable, have kettle, toaster, 2-ring hob, shower room, balconies with beautiful views and the lovely helpful owner, Maritsa, to advise and assist. Highly recommended and we hope to be back in September. Wonderful.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Arrived at 3.30 in the morning and, as instructed, woke the owner, who showed us to our room.We went straight to bed, and on waking in the morning, found it was pouring with rain.We then discovered we were miles from anywhere.Had a trek in the rain to find a supermarket ( about a ten minute stroll) to obtain milk and bread.Owner was lovely. Laden with provisions we slogged back up the hill.Called at the next door apartments as they had a small cafe open. Nice large snack in there. Back to the apartment, which was now freezing. No hot water at all.One normal knife and fork, one butter knife and one pickle fork. Two spoons and three teaspoons completed the cutlery!
Monday was freezing all day. We asked for extra pillows and blankets, which were immediately provided by the owner, who was great. Turned bedside light on and blew all electrics. She had to come and sort that out for us. Lights fixed next day.By Tuesday, there was a glimmer of sun, but still cold.We hired a scooter as we were so far out. Most of the bars and restaurants in the area were shut, some for some years by the look of them. From Wednesday onwards the weather turned sunny, but still no hot water until the Thursday. So, apartments very basic,clean comfortable and with a toaster and kettle which you dont normally get in Greek apartments. Lack of hot water a bit of a problem.No pool, so you use next doors.Owner and locals lovely and friendly. Dont go if you are not prepared for a long walk to go anywhere, but if you want a quiet relaxing time. these will suit you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaz1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

we returned yesterday from another (our third) trip to Kefalos, this time at Maritsa Studios, (previously at Crysoula and Efi). The apartment was room No.1, with wonderful views over beautiful Kefalos, although we offered a choice of room with twin beds, as this one had a double. The apartments are usual Greek standard, spotlessly clean and very basic, though we had a toaster and a kettle here, which is quite rare in Greece!! LOADS of cats and kittens, which pleased us, all very friendly and all typically hungry!! The owners were friendly and helful when asked, although it did take me several attempts to get extra pillows!!! There is a little road noise, but nothing too horrendous, the peace of the situation of Meritsa makes up for this, no bar noise etc. Kefalos is as beautiful as ever, Savvos Taverna and Hippocrates are definately two of the best, although never had a bad meal in our two weeks. Jimmy at the supermarket, and his wife, as helpful and friendly as ever too!!

Room Tip: room one is on 2nd floor with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jonroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Maritsa and family were most welcoming. Room was larger than expected; bed comfortable; dining table chairs doubled as balcony furniture; kitchen area had electric kettle and toaster and two of everything else; shower room had raised stall base without curtain and loads of hot water.
Located on the outskirts of the village; mini market 5 mins; restaurants 10 mins (Rainbow 20 mins great value, no bread or starter required as portions are huge - £20 for two including litre house wine); harbour 40 mins; old village 1 hour + (very steep hill); small swimming pool next door; beach 10 mins; archaeological site 10 mins,
Best liked - sea views to front and country views to rear.
Least liked - some noise from road which you become accustomed to and realise that other apartments are built right next to whereas Maritsa is set one empty block back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank AllanKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.3 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sacallis Inn Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Manolis Studios
Manolis Studios
#7 of 14 in Kefalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritsa Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritsa Studios

Property: Maritsa Studios
Address: Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maritsa Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These pleasant and simply furnished studios are set back from the main road, set in pretty gardens, on the outskirts of Kamari Bay in Kefalos. Close by are a variety of bars, shops and restaurants catering for all tastes, the sandy beach is just 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maritsa Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritsa Studios Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing