We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Anthoula Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anthoula Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I and our two children have just come back from a week's holiday at Anthoula's.

Basically you get what you pay for and we needed a reasonable holiday to fit in with our budget. In a nutshell: the hotel was clean and rooms cleaned daily, linen and towels replaced every two days. Bedrooms and shower rooms are basic but as we view it... you only wash and sleep there, no real time is spent in your room as you are out and about.

You have to pay extra (5e) daily for air conditioning so it's there if you need it. When we were there the weather was very hot and if you keep the patio doors open the mopeds can keep you awake but it was our choice to save on the money.

There is an extra charge for the safe but we didn't feel it was needed, it was a small, family run place and we felt our belongings were safe without it.

The cleaner is very sweet and was so very grateful of a tip at the end of the week which we felt she had earned as she does all the rooms on her own.

The breakfast IS very basic, just a bread roll with a slice of cheese and pot of jam but if you are prepared to pay extra (e.g. I asked for Greek yoghurt and honey daily as the bread roll was too heavy for me) then Anthoula is happy to sell it to you. She was very unhappy however when we took water and ice creams from a local shop to the poolside (trying to save on the pennies) as she explained that the proceeds from the pool bar food and drinks is the way she pays for the expensive running costs of the swimming pool - fair comment. But be prepared that taking outside purchases in is not appreciated.

It is only a 10 minute walk down to the beach and we found it very enjoyable, especially after dinner to walk it off, but her minibus that goes down to the beach and back several times a day is very handy and at times welcome especially when the weather was very hot.

The waiting staff in the Stamatia restaurant were lovely and the food is very, very good. It was the only restaurant we found that local Greeks ate at regularly which is a good testament to their food. It was fresh and well-cooked and you MUST try the desert Ekmek which is deliciously sickly and gooey and homemade by Katerina, the waitress there.

We made an effort to learn some basic Greek words and phrases before going which the locals really seemed to appreciate (which we do with any country we go to, just out of courtesy as we find it so rude when Brits presume all other nationalities will speak English in their own countries).

You must take the speedboat trip (5e per person return) over to Paradise and Bubble Beach (15 min each way). It leaves at 10.30 and returns at 5.30. It is well worth it, the boat trip is fun (especially is young George drives you back again as he drives like he stole it!). Paradise beach is clean and sandy and has a lovely beach café and many water sports (a little more expensive than at Kefalos beach however) and they have a childrens' water bouncy castle come water park in the sea on the beach which looked fun for them).

At Kefalos beach the Poseidon water sports family run business take out an inflatable 'sofa' which is great fun. 25e per person if just two of you, but 10e each for us 4.

We found it a very enjoyable place to spend a week in the sun. Basic but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Anthoula Hotel June 2013 and had a lovely holiday. The room was very clean and we had a fantastic view from our balcony over the whole of Kefalos bay.

We were made to feel very welcome and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph-and-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

we stayed here for 1 week in june 2011. we booked last minute and thomas cook didn't have any info on the hotel as they had just added it to their hotel list. we arrived late at night so didn't really get a good idea of what it was like but next morning was a lovely surprise....
the rooms are great for a b&b. we had a side room overlooking the old town with the fort at the top of the hill. altho it was the roadside, there wasn't that much noise. anthoula herself was lovely and as mentioned by other guests she runs a shuttle bus to and from the resort. we walked down but i must admit we did usually get it back up. the breakfast is only continental but if you wanted you can get a english breakfast in the resort. there's plenty of lovely restaurants and bars to choose from, all were reasonably priced when we were there.
the hotel wasn't very busy but the people that were there with us were all really nice and be cause it was quiet we all got on very well. anthoula kept the bar open while ever anyone wanted a drink. one couple were there for the 4th time.
the bus for the old town of kos stops just outside, well worth a visit also a boat ride away from kos town is turkey. we didn't go but one couple did and said it was worth a trip, wish we'd gone !! all in all it is a lovely hotel and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaykaycray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Anthoula from 8th Sept to 24th Sept., having stayed at the Zeus Hotel the previous year. In our view the Anthoula was a much better hotel, the views from the hotel were breathtaking, the rooms were a good size and very well resourced with a fridge,coffee making facilities, a safe and a/c. We chose to take advantage of the beautiful view from our room by having breakfast on the balcony. As has been said previously Anthoula is a lovely lady and works very hard to make sure her guests' needs are accommodated. It was our 40th wedding anniversary/my birthday whilst there and our daughters contacted Anthoula to arrange for a bottle of champagne to be given to us, Anthoula presented this to us chilled, on a tray together with champagne flutes and a red rose picked from the garden.

The location of the hotel was ideal, halfway between the village and the beach, Anthoula runs a shuttle bus from hotel to resort, although we rarely used this as we preferred the 10 min walk, especially after our evening meal. Unlike the Zeus there were always enough sunbeds and the pool area was very pretty surrounded by lovely gardens.

Part of us would like to keep the Anthoula hotel a secret, but we feel we owe it to Anthoula to tell everyone what a lovely place it is. There is no doubt in our minds that we have found our ideal hotel and we intend to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mervyn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had an amazing week lazing in the sun away from the stresses and strains of work and UK life here at Anthoula’s..

I’ve worked in the travel industry for more than 25 years and struggle to find any negatives with Anthoula’s. It’s clean, friendly, convenient and traditionally Greek which is what we were looking for otherwise why step outside of the UK if you’re wanting everything you have at home..

We knew from the reviews that breakfast was bread rolls, cheese etc.. so we made sure that we took some cereal and had our own breakfast sat out on the balcony watching the sun rise and listening to the crickets.. complete bliss.. the advantage is having a fridge in your room for no extra charge so we filled it full of things we liked from the local supermarkets. The ones at the top of the hill (turn left out of the hotel) were better value then the ones down in Keflaos.

There were lots of sunbeds and parasols around the pool and yes, some were putting towels down to reserve but there’s plenty more. For 5Euros all day you can always hire your own at the local beach where the winds cool you down...

The poolside bar does a fabulous iced coffee for 2.50 Euros which is great value compared to Starbucks etc.. There’s also a variety of food for lunch, typically a Greek Salad is 4 Euros but can get burgers and toasties etc.. for the same price.. A big chilled 1 litre bottle of water from the hotel will cost 2 Euros.

Kefalos itself is quiet but has lots of friendly bars and restaurants, there is plenty of competition which is helping to keep the price down for tourists however it’s a sad sign of the times that it’s not just this resort which is suffering from lack of visitors .. it’s most of Europe who have seen the All Inclusive resorts completely wreck the livelihoods of some local business owners and put them out of business. We should be supporting them and trying out different places to eat and drink... A personal recommendation of ours must be Captain Johns on the sea front, great fish dishes and a fabulous Greek salad...

Anthoula is a great host, nothing is too much trouble for her to make your stay more comfortable and to have a great experience... we shall return ... some day....

Support Greece, it’s a fantastic destination with plenty to offer....!

Room Tip: Air conditioning is an extra so be sure to bring it as an addition to your holiday spends. We paid 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LGJROCKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thank you to Anthoula who almost single handed runs this lovely little hotel half way up the hill to Kefalos. Yes, the breakfast is a bit mean but that is how it always was in Greece and it would still be excellent value without it. We just bought some cereal and yoghurt from the local store and ate it on our balcony before the second course downstairs!!. Sit outside watching the sea - what could be better. Lovely and clean and beautiful pool although there was still one couple trying to bag the sunbeds (of which there were more than enough) at 8.30am. They were Brits too!!. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The ones at the back are quiet, the ones at the front face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coffdrop60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely LOVED this hotel, could not recommend it enough. It definitely lives up to the fabulous reviews on here, (which we read before travelling), we were not at all disappointed. Came here the first week of September with my mother.

The pool area is huge, plenty of beds and the view is fantastic. View from balcony is also beautiful. The room was cleaned every morning, with new towels about every 2 days. The room was spotlessly clean when we arrived. Also contained a working fridge and kettle and some toilet roll which was replenished throughout the week.

Anthoula the owner is a lovely lady and makes everyone feel right at home. We used the free shuttle bus at 7pm to get down to the town on a few occasions, and its like a big family trip with everyone from the hotel, very cute.

In terms of Kefalos as a place we really were not impressed. We knew it was a 'quiet' place, which was ideal for what wanted. However there is a difference between 'quiet' and 'ghost town'. Nobody wants to be the only person in a restaurant... this is what we found in many places, and literally had to hunt down other humans just for a tiny bit of atmosphere. Plus the food was very odd in most places and we struggled to get a nice meal (we are both very adventurous eaters and love greek food, but it really was not nice...). Best meals we found were from Stop-in, Aussie bar, and Kampos. Please avoid the main restaurant up in old town, 3 (!) meat dishes came out completely uncooked. 'chef was in a hurry' apparently...

We hired a car for 5 days of the week and did some exploring into Kardemena and all the local beaches - which are gorgeous. If you are coming to Kefalos I would definitely recommend getting a car, and I would 100% recommend that you stay at Anthoula. However I wouldn't actually recommend that you come to Kefalos. Yes its beautiful, but there are plenty of beautiful places, especially in Greece, and you just don't need to be the only person on an Island. Awkward.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
1.1 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Athinoula Hotel
Athinoula Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kefalos
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kefalos
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#12 of 13 in Kefalos
75 reviews
5.2 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthoula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthoula Hotel

Address: Kefalos Area, Kefalos 853 01, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range: $23 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anthoula Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Anthoula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthoula Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing