We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, great location”
Review of Villa Popi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Popi
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely room, great location”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Well kept apartment, typically Greek but what more do you want, room cleaned ever day sheets every other day, pool area well maintained drinks and food served all day at the pool bar! frosso very helpful throughout our stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glynneath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at Villa Popi - our second stay there. When we arrived at Kos airport at 00.45 we were shocked to find the owner waiting for us to give us a lift to Villa Popi. Such a kind gesture and so lucky as we had not been put on the list for the transfer which we had booked. Frosi { the owner} was so friendly and heplful,as were the rest of her family.
Rooms are basic but perfectly adequate and all upstairs rooms appeared to have a good sea view.The pool is beautiful,very well maintained, with plentyof sunbeds and a pleasant bar alongside. All in all the studios were excellent value for money and we look forward to another pleasant stay as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It was very quiet where we were - definitely not for the party go-er. It has quite a nice beach nearby and some good bars and restaurants but nothing spectacular. If you're looking for a quiet holiday in an average hotel with a nice pool, this is your place. If not, go to Kos Town!

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank qwerty987651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Set back from the seafront, about a dozen studios clustered round a small pool and bar. Our studio (3A) was spacious but very basic, with just the absolute minimum necessary. Housekeeping was a bit haphazard - the first place I've been to in Greece where the bathroom waste bin wasn 'temptied every day. The bar shut early, which was a pity if you wanted a quiet drink before strolling the 100 yards down to the front and the bars there.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Just come back from Villa Popi we had three studios overlooking the pool. The studios were clean and spacious if a little sparse on utensils but we managed ok! The studios are kept clean and the pool met our needs. A lot of guests were complaining but what do you expect in greece everywhere IS basic unless you are willing to pay top dollar. at 40 euros a week air con is very expensive and they could do a lot more for guests by opening the pool bar area and making it a small taverna in the evening that would entice guests to part with their money more readily! The choice of snacks for lunch were very limited! It was nice to pick lemons and limes of the trees around villa popi and no-one seemed to mind!

As a resort Kefalos is struggling the main strip of tavernas were never crowded and the beach areas were also similar. We spent many days by the best beach in Kefalos opposite the Cavos taverna where we had great lunches at very reasonable costs. The snapper fish special with Greek salad and a glass of house wine only 6.50 euros. We thought that Maria's and Captain John along with Cavos served the best meals. Sebastians was ok and had free wifi for the kids to "keep in touch" on facebook. We would not recommend Stamatis or Argo as we felt these restaurants were poor in both their customer service and quality of food. The Stamatis was extremely poor they seemed reluctant to accommodate a family of 6 and tucked us away out of the corner, our food was served haphazardly and veal is not veal in the stamatis its just fatty steak with bone in it not even cooked correctly. Though we did complain and did get a refund for the steak all the waiter would say is that i ordered steak, i did not eat any of the meal.

All in all the tavernas are much of a muchness catering to a mainly bristish clientele and the menus in all the tavernas seem to be the same its just the quality of food and service that changes so much and our preferences reflect our own experiences

The ATM machine in kefalos was not working for 12 days and was still not working the day we returned home, meaning a bus ride into kefalos town, a town with one bank which was suffering a power cut and we had to wait around for nearly 2 hours to get some money! Not their fault but apparently its common. Kefalos is not for those seeking a party atmosphere as you will struggle to find a party. It is however very relaxing, very chilled and some of the scenery around is lovely.

The kids enjoyed the beach, snorkelling and watersports going on the donuts and ringos at 10 euros per session seemed again resonable for the amount of time spent on the water.

Would we return? yes but probably in a few years as adults when the kids decide they want to go on holiday on their own. It would be interesting to return in say 5 years to see how if anything has changed. My own personal feeling is that it won't change but i know where to come to get away from it all and i know which restaurants to frequent and those to avoid!

Villa Popi is what it is but if you are looking for luxurious accommodation dont come here. We would go back but not for a while.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgfromhtfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Yes these apartments are pretty basic but aren`t they all in Greece, especially when we are not taiking Five Star prices. They were spacious and were kept lovely and clean by the family. If the only gripe is having to chase up a toilet roll I can live with that. The whole family and the little grandson were great to know.
We found the Rep Jo , one of the nicest, friendliest and best informed we have ever come across, she made a real effort to speak to everybody on her frequent regular visits.
Are there two Jo`s ? as we can not equate the odd negative comments about her with the rep we met.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterMan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

When my fiancee and I went to Villa Popi we were very pleasantly suprised. The rooms were spacious and clean and attended to every day. (You may want to request a pool facing room as we did so you get a nice view).

We didn't really use the bar that was there for the apartments as we usually bought some wine and had a glass (or two) in our room before we went for dinner. The main street where the bars and restaurants are is a 5 minute walk away. There isn't a massive selection of restaurants but the ones there are fantastic! We usually ended up in the Sydney bar which has great atmosphere and entertainment. Would definately recommend going there in the evening.

While we were there we also booked a Greek night which was superb. We got chatting to people on our table and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms have airconditioning which was definately needed!!

All the staff are so friendly and the lady who works in the bar even kept it open for just me and my fiancee as we were there extremely late waiting to be collected. The pool isnt massive but just right for the number of people and apartments. They have a childrens pool as well for the little ones.

The walk along the main street up to the harbour is fantastic. We also went on a boat trip which again was brilliant.

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Villa Popi and would definately go back!!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abeachbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.9 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ionikos Hotel
Ionikos Hotel
#8 of 13 in Kefalos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kordistos Hotel
Kordistos Hotel
#9 of 13 in Kefalos
205 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Popi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Popi

Property: Villa Popi
Address: Kefalos Beach, Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Popi 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Popi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Popi Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing