We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BASIC BUT LOVELY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BASIC BUT LOVELY”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived in the middle of the night and nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was basic but clean, the family are very kind and friendly. Our children (10,11) were the youngest there and were fussed over from the first day. The food around the bar was lovely, a simple menu done well. The drinks were not expensive either, 2.50 euro for a mythos. Aircon was 5 euro per unit per night. Keeping room for all of last day 25 euro.

Kefalos is a one road town, sleepy and quiet, perfect for a family holiday with older children. Not very much for younger children in resort. The Tavernas and bars are typically Greek, just right.

When our coach came to take us to the airport the whole family turned out to say goodbye, a nice touch!

A lovely holiday, learned some new moves at the bbq and slowed our pace of life down for our holiday.

Thankyou to all the family at Yiannis.

Room Tip: Our room was just right. Gound floor room no1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    19
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

fantastic and very friendly place to stay.Yiannis and his family couldn't do enough for you.my wife and i were on our 2nd trip to Kefalos,having visited the previous year with our children.our room was spotlessly clean with the usual ammenities assosiated with a self catering holiday.(You're not going to manage a sunday roast).elctric hob,kettle,frying pan, saucepan and knives forks ect.why on earth anyone would want to cook on holiday is beyond me as there were countless tavernas in the area serving great food.Acropol,Rainbows and Captain Johns to name a few.the pool was quite small but very clean with plenty of sunbeds to choose from and a sheltered bar area adjacent serving breakfast and light snacks.don't miss the bbq on tuesdays.plenty to eat, greek dancing.a great laugh and all for 5 euros per person.
if you look hard enough anyone can find fault where ever they stay and reading some of the previous reviews all i can say is there are some misserable buggers out ther with half empty glasses.
Kefalos is a lovely,unspoilt,quiet area of Kos and if you are into clubbing and lively evening entertainment then this area of Kos is probably not for you.
it's worth hiring a car (forget the quad bikes slow and dangerous) to explore the surrounding area and one place to mention is Agios Theologos , breathtaking beach with a first class taverna and beautiful sunset.directions - go up the hill to kefalos town and take the left fork in the road.there are loads of other places to visit but that's all part of the fun of exploring so have fun!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bubblebuttdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic holiday where we stayed at Yiannis apartments. The accommodation is basic but very clean. The family run the business and it is very friendly and they go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. We arrived in the early hours of the morning but were welcomed and it was no trouble to get extra pillows and make sure the air conditioning was working (there is a small charge for this but worth every penny). As I said the rooms were basic but there was a small kitchen area with a hob and fridge.

The pool area is lovely. There was no rush for the sunbeds and we always had one whatever time we went to the pool. Lovely quiet pool area but lots of bees, so don't book to stay here if you do not like bees! Saying that they don't bother people. The food at the bar area was good and everything we tried was lovely. On the Tuesday night we had a barbecue with the family leading everyone in Greek dancing, great fun. Short walking distance to harbour where there are lots of bars, tavernas, beach and shops. As our flight was not until 2 in the morning we were able to keep our room for the whole day for 25 euros.

I If you want luxury this is not the place for you but if you want a clean basic place to stay with a lovely frinedly atmosphere this is a great place to stay. I would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Only about twelve rooms, best rooms for the balcony are on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just returned from these apartments,what a difference a year makes,we booked last year to come back because we had enjoyed our stay very much,never again,Sevvie the owner`s wife is doing all the cleaning,last year there was a cleaner who kept the apartments spotless,not this year,I am so glad I took some wipes to do the sink and the loo with,we had our last lot of towels changed last Monday and we didn`t vacate out apartment untill Thursday,nearly 4 days using the same towels,not very nice at all.and thank goodness a brush and dustpan was on the landing .I didn`t think we had booked a DIY holiday.
The atmosphere wasn`t at all good if you didn`t use the bar everyday,which a lot of people don`t,I am so glad we called in Billy`s up the road for a drink ,we then spent most of our time around the pool and bar up there,we were made so welcome and we weren`t even staying there.
We wont be booking Yiannis apartments when we next return to Kefalos,even though we do like where they are situated,we will look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TessyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We booked the Yiannis Apartments for what should have been a special birthday break for my 40th, and on the basis of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We arrived in the early hours of the morning very tired, and were taken to our apartment which was on the ground floor. After a few hours sleep, we were woken by shouting and a child screaming from what sounded like right outside our door. After this went on for a good 10 minutes or so, my husband opened the door to find that the noise was actually coming from within the apartment opposite. The close proximity of the apartment doors mean that you will hear every key turn, door slamming and conversation in the corridor outside and from beyond doors that are closed! The noise continued for most of the morning and eventually we asked if we could be moved to a different apartment. Although sympathetic, we were told this would not be possible as Yiannis was fully booked. A few days into the holiday we were asked if things had improved regarding the noise and were told that this family were going home the following day. We had since become aware by talking to other people who had also commented on the noise which had extended to around the pool. Although we were well into the middle of our holiday, we were looking forward to a few days of ‘peace’ and couldn’t wait for their departure. Unfortunately our hopes were shattered when we heard the arrival of another young family (equally as noisy) in the middle of the night. Nice one Yiannis! We decided at this point that we wouldn’t spend any more money on food or the bar and spent our last 2 days at the beach and eating lunch in the nearby tavernas. Kefalos is a lovely resort and this is the best thing we could have done.
We have to agree with a few of the issues raised by Purplegeri, although we did find 1 toilet roll on arrival. I think the sheets were changed only once during our week stay, which in 35 degree heat is not ideal. However, whether these had been changed before our arrival was a different matter, as they could only be described as smelling like they had been washed with dirty socks and the dog’s blanket! We could not fathom any kind of pattern to the way in which the apartments were cleaned (?) and the towels were stained and threadbare. We love Greece and have been taking holidays there for many years, sometimes twice a year, often staying in budget/2* accommodation. We are certainly accustomed to what 'basic' means with regard to Greek property, being simply furnished, and having no shower curtain! Yiannis Apartments I’m afraid, although basic were certainly not clean! Even my husband who has stayed in 18-30 accommodation as a lad said they were cleaner and not as noisy! Although we found Yiannis and his family to be quite friendly, we have never stayed anywhere that has such little regard for their guests unless they are spending money.
On a positive note, the free pot of honey left in the apartment is a nice gesture, there’s a good atmosphere in the bar at night when it’s busy, and we enjoyed the BBQ. It became clear that a lot of regulars in the bar have returned year after year but seem to stay up the road at Billy’s. Now work that one out......

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chelle771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I am sorry for your experience of Yannies place I know for a fact that the family clean the rooms as people vaccate them first toilet roll is always there when we have been but if you are self cattering you must be ready for the unexpected. Sevvie is very hard working and prides herself on a clean enviroment we have had a few rooms in the complex and always clean room lots of storage draws and hanging space and the kitchen is adequate for the purpose. you have obviously not enjoyed the place but if that puts folks of its easier for us to get a room next year as i am sure most folks will be repeat tourist who know our hosts and love them and the family because they make you feel like family

Room Tip: asks for upstairs room overlooking tha pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lefteris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had read all these good reviews so thought we were in for a treat! Unfortunately not!
We arrived late at night, tired from delays due to strikes and travelling etc, to find there was no toilet roll, not a good start. Presumably you only get your first roll if the last occupants have left you one. We had no idea which way was the town to get something to eat and some supplies so had to stumble around in the dark taking pot luck! There was no BBQ - which we had been really looking forward to. Yiannis and his wife are only friendly if you frequent their bar, so if like us you do not have the cash to spare on buying drinks in the bar, they wont even smile at you when you pass, and if you speak they will just blank you as if they do not understand. The rooms were hardly clean, the bathroom being particularly dirty and stained (dont even look behind the toilet!!) and the light in the bathroom 'cabinet' was encrusted with years of dead crispy insects. YUK! There were no food storage cupboards at all, so food had to be left on the table. Unfortunately in our first week we discovered this had been nibbled by mice and there were mice droppings around, so hardly ideal for self catering. There was a large wardrobe on the wall but this had a 2ft high space underneath which was wasted as it was underneath the wardrobe. Would have been useful to have some drawers there to store underwear and t-shirts etc rather than just having to put these on the floor of the wardrobe. We had a nice holiday in Kefalos (not been here before but been to Greece twice a year for the last 18 years) but we were disappointed in Yiannis apartments due to the high praise given in previous reviews. Overall it was probably of a lower standard than most Greek holiday accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Purplegeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kefalos hotels
0.9 mi away
Zeus Hotel
Zeus Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kefalos
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kefalos
428 reviews
5.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
Kokalakis Beach Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kefalos
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anthoula Hotel
Anthoula Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kefalos
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kamari Bay Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kefalos
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments

Property: Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments
Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yiannis Apatments Hotel Kefalos
Yiannis The Beekeeper Apartments Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing