We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful meal with a view”

Cerberus Beach House
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Black Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award-winning beachfront restaurant upstairs serving locally sourced modern Australian cuisine with a unique wine list, warm Bayside welcome, and stunning 180 degree views over Half Moon Bay. Or visit our kiosk downstairs and enjoy traditional fish & chips on the beach.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal with a view”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is the second time here and again I was not disappointed. For lunch I decided on two entrees rather than an entrée and main. Started with the Tempura of Yellow Fin Sashimi Tuna wrapped in Nori...wow what a tasty dish! I tried to eat it as slowly as possible to savour it, Followed by the Seared Sea Scallops with herb and farro salad, honey roasted pumpkin puree and crispy kale. I hope you're taste buds are going crazy reading this as it was amazing. I look forward to returning to Cerberus Beach House. It's located in a quiet beachside location and if you get a window seat the view is fabulous. Staff were very friendly and very efficient.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebRed_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for such a rave review Deb - we're glad you returned and sampled two of our most popular entree dishes. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    123
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great seafood overlooking the bay”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a great night everything was wonderful the sunset is amazing. Feel sorry for the staff that have to bring everything up the stairs and hate to imagine the job with 40 degree heat . However they did a good job.

Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Mick, thanks for your feedback, and for thinking of our dedicated staff - they certainly did it a little tough during the heatwave, but happy customers makes it all worthwhile :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cerberus Restaurant Half Moon Bay”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

One of the few restaurants on Port Phillip Bay where you can view the sea whilst you eat. Service and food are good without being spectacular, but overall good value for money in a unique location.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flags2tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi, thanks for the feedback. If there's anything specific we can work on for next time, please don't hesitate to drop us a line - info@cerberusbeachhouse.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great little Beach Restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The restaurant is located in Half Moon Bay, Black Rock , Melbourne (not Half Moon Bay Jamaica!)the service exceptional, true Friendly Australian style and their specialities are Fish Dishes, the Prawns are superb and the Salmon Terraine wonderful. Chips were excellent and the Home-Made Ice Cream is a must! Local beers are excellent and they have a great choice of Australian Wines. Ask for a window seat overlooking the Bay, just wonderful...you could stay here all afternoon! A definite stop for those travelling to this part of Australia

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
What fabulous feedback from abroad! Thank you so much, we're thrilled you found us, and appreciate your review. Hopefully we may welcome you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Beach House”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Overlooking the beautiful Half Moon Bay you would think you were anywhere in the world.
We booked a a table for two by the window so we could people watch, admire the jagged red cliffs, golden sands, and can even view the shipwreck that lies in the bay.

The restaurant is located upstairs while downstairs caters towards the general public with the normal fish and chips/ burgers etc. It looked really popular as the queue were quite long and still standing when we finished our meals 3 hours later! Be warned, the Beach house being located close to sea level, I recommend ladies to take off your heels as the hill is quite steep. Parking can also be a problem on warmer nights as it can get really busy.

We originally booked 3 months in advance for a specific date and two weeks prior to the date, I received a phone call to advise that there was a wedding held that night. The gentleman I spoke to was very apologetic and offered a bottle of champagne for the inconvenience. On the night of, service was very accommodating and helpful.

Each meal was beautifully presented and good size serves too. We shared 3 entrees, ordered a main & dessert each. While each dish was equally good, the stand out was perhaps the pork belly with smoked corn puree (heavenly!) and the tempura of Yellowfin sashimi ( I could easily eat another!)

Would happily recommend Cerberus Beach House with lovely food and the location.

Tip: make a booking as it can get busy during warmer months
Also can get quite noisy as tables are quite close together- given the space of the venue.This did not bother us though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustDegusting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks so much for your understanding, and your helpful advice to other diners - the hill can be a little steep, especially after a long lunch! We sincerely appreciate you choosing to dine with us for your special occasion, and your feedback. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerberus Beach House also viewed

 
Brighton, Bayside
 

Been to Cerberus Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing