We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, small bath,big price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo Ca
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Small room, small bath,big price”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We were a bit disappointed with size of the room for the price. Yes, it is Switzerland but it was a shock as the room, bath (tiny), TV (12 in?) all so small. We had a lake view but sadly were not in the room except a short overnight. The restaurant was closed that day ( Monday). The hotel public rooms were very pleasant and old worldly which we like. We may have had a room in the section that was originally the Krone so older small rooms.
Location is very good, right in town, walking distance to the train and all the sights of the small town and ramparts walkways. Buffet breakfast was OK but not extensive. Try the hotel directly for the best price, we booked elsewhere, unfortunately.
Dinner at the nearby Hotel Schiff was very good, pleasant atmosphere and service, could order smaller portions if wanted.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
83
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scooterdog28
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed for two nights in July this year. Our room was quite small and in the eves of the hotel. Not much of a view but clean and comfortable. The hotel reception staff were very helpful.

Decided to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed. Reserved a table overlooking the lake. The food was wonderful, one of the nicest meals we had in Switzerland. It was quite expensive but worth it. The service was outstanding, not at all pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooterdog28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Our room overlooked the street - not a problem as the place is pretty quiet once the daytrippers have gone. Everything was comfortable, but the decor! Lime green painted walls, lime green net curtains, and even the prints on the walls seemed to have faded into a ...er... lime green colour.

Breakfast was fine, and possible to sit overlooking the lake. The hotel restaurant fancied itself a bit too much for our tastes; the staff were a bit "proper", which doesn't make for a relaxing experience.

Staff at Reception were friendly and welcoming, and the public areas were clean and comfortable.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for six nights in June. The hotel is inside the town walls and looks out over the lake from the dining and breakfast rooms and some bedrooms. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and were given information about the hotel and the area. We booked a standard lake view room that was quite small and was a bit dated. However it was clean, comfortable and had a good view over the lake. The public areas of the hotel were more modern. We took the half board option and though this limited the choice of food, it was always very good. On the odd occasion when we didn't like the dish offered they happily made us an alternative. They have an extensive a la carte menu. One of the real strengths of the hotel is the atmosphere and excellent service.
Murten is an interesting old town and the surrounding area is worth a visit. You can get around very easily using public transport with good train and boat links to the main towns and cities. It is only about 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the trains, buses and boats.
Though it is not one of the areas normally visited by British holidaymakers we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I visited Hotel Murtenhof during our honeymoon Rick Steve's Tour in Spring of 2007. We were pleasantly surprised by the owners hospitality and quirky charm. The hotel has great views of Lake Murten, a great history, a fabulous restaurant, and comfortable rooms.

Our tour guide arranged for us to have one of the most interesting hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. What stood out the most was the 'funky' round 1960ish style bed tucked into the corner (she found this rather amusing because of our honeymoon status). The bed was surprisingly comfortable, we had our own bathroom, and a nice view of the streets of Murten below.

During our stay, we ate at the hotel's restaurant for dinner and a few breakfasts. Breakfast was consistently good and the dinner was amazing. I can't remember the entire spread, but I do know that we had fish that was caught locally and a wonderful coffee flavored ice cream. The restaurant also has a great view of Lake Murten.

I believe that the hotel was partially under construction when we visited, so some things may have changed since then. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by Hotel Murtenhof. It was a great place to stay and we appreciated all of the little details the owners gave us to enjoy, If we were ever to return to Murten, we would stay there again.

  • Liked — It was Unique and had a great restaurant
  • Disliked — The walls were a little thin, but not terrible
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluNCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

We stayed here for one night in Sept. 2006. The Hotel Murtenhof and Krone was just wonderful! It is located in the small town of Murten in the old city overlooking Lake Murten. Our room had a very small balcony, just small enough to stand on and look out at the lake, it was just beautiful watching the sunset. The room was very clean, 2 twins pushed into a double but very comfortable. The bathroom was large and again was clean. The stay included breakfast which was excellent. It offered meats, cheeses, toasts and pastries, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, plenty of coffee and yogurt. It was delicious and plentiful at the buffett. We also ate at the hotel restaurant which was nice, but a little expensive. It is overlooking the lake in a room covered with windows. If you go before sunset, the sun shines directly in your eyes.... so make reservation for just before the sun goes down. The only issue with the room was that there is no AC, which is common but when you try to open the french doors at night you are flooded with mosquitoes. We were never bitten but there were plenty near our doors.... so we closed them even though it was a bit warm. Not many english speakers but can easily get by. A lovely stay. I would return.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful view
  • Tips/Secrets — Drink the local white wine at the hotel restaurant, it is delicious and cheap!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Caya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murten
Hotel Murten
#2 of 4 in Murten
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff Am See
Hotel Schiff Am See
#3 of 4 in Murten
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SeePark
Hotel SeePark
#4 of 4 in Murten
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
#1 of 1 in Muntelier
29 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lacotel
Hotel Lacotel
#1 of 2 in Avenches
40 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murtenhof & Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Property: Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Address: Rathausgasse 1-5, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone! The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone is a picturesque ensemble of striking, historic patricians’ houses in the middle of the old town of Murten. Enjoying a central but absolutely tranquil location, our stylish three-star hotel offers guests a fantastic view of Lake Murten. The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone features individually designed rooms and suites and friendly, personal service. Our restaurant offers fine cuisine perfectly complemented by an extensive wine list. More information on the services we offer can be found under «Seminars» and «Banquets». We also have a range of brochures on organizing and holding meetings, workshops, group events, seminars and conferences which we’ll be happy to send you on request. The team at the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone and the Joachim family look forward to welcoming you and would like to take this opportunity to wish you an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Murten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Murtenhof & Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing