We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice respite in our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice respite in our trip”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

At the end of our Switzerland journey when we were tired and ready for a rest, we booked a nights stay in Murtenhof at the Hotel Murtenhof and Krone. Lovely hotel. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast included.
Beds were OK. Rooms were very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayneremington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
80
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Murten is quaint and charming and from here we easily took the rail to Bern and Avenches. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It isn't far from the rail station or from a COOP grocery. The room was quite small but clean, and the sunset from our window was breathtaking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our two teenage daughters, and wished it could have been longer. We originally booked a suite for all four of us, but the day before we arrived, they called and asked if it would be OK to put our daughters in their own room, as they thought that we might feel a bit crowded in the suite. And they would do that for the same price! We were so pleased -- such a thoughtful gesture. Our suite was large but we certainly appreciated the extra space and the girls loved having their own room even though it was very basic. In any case, our suite was traditionally furnished -- dark wood, heavy furniture but very quaint and reminded my husband of his childhood with his Austrian relatives. The bathroom, thankfully, was very modern and well appointed and our deck was spectacular with modern deck chairs and a breathtaking view of Lake Murten. The town itself was completely charming. We enjoyed walking its cobblestone streets and the ramparts of the walled city at dusk. The local beach was great too, especially since it was so hot while we were there in July. Overall, I can't recommend the hotel enough -- great staff, lovely restaurant and an overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks. Initially I booked a standard double room but the hotel upgraded this to a "junior suite" due to the length of our stay. The suite comprised a small partially enclosed area containing old but comfortable single beds put together to form a double, a large living area with good quality lounge furniture, a writing desk, TV and a wonderful view across Lake Murten. A very modern bathroom was down a short flight stairs. Excellent accommodation!

An excellent breakfast was served in a terraced area downstairs, again with lovely views across the lake, while free tea and coffee were available all day in a comfortable lounge.
The hotel restaurant is also very good, not cheap but worth the money for a special meal in delightful surroundings and with excellent service.

To top this off management and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. The Joachim family are to be congratulated! My wife and I have travelled extensively, over many years and more than thirty countries, and this was definitely one of the most enjoyable stays we have had.

This was helped of course by the location - an old walled town with an important place in Swiss history. The hotel itself is a historic building. Tremendous character!

Room Tip: This hotel offers various levels of accommodation. Some rooms are over a relatively busy (but beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johndcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

my wife and I stayed in a ‘big double bed room’ for 2 nights. The location is prime (inside the walled town), but can get noisy (street noise was pretty heavy on Saturday night). We had a nice view of the lake, but our room was directly over the outdoor seating for the restaurant (it quieted down by 11pm). The room was very simply furnished, with comfortable beds, but was expensive - 240 CHF/night. Great breakfast by a friendly staff in a super setting (lake view table).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinci999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goGators25
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are coming here in the next few weeks, make sure u ask for a fan, as they only have a few. We would have enjoyed our stay more if it hadn't been so warm. Rooms facing the lake are a necessity to get any air. Bfast was in a nice room overlooking the lake. There is not much to do in Murten, so one night is enough. We decided to head to Bern to a hotel with AC. Good apple tart at the restaurant.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank goGators25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenlyon, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Murten is a lovely place on the edge of the lake which is worth visiting. We had a superior room with a lake view. The view was very nice, but the rooms were very simply furnished and the bathroom was tiny. The flooring looked like it was felt underlay rather than carpet. Also surprised that we got 2 single beds when we booked as a couple. But we didnt say anything so there may have been a double we could have swapped to. The hotel staff were very helpful and the room was very clean, just very dated.
Breakfast was good and we got to sit in the area where you get a beautiful view over the lake. Breakfast did not include any hot food, although there was a couple of trays that looked like they may have had hot food but we were told they had run out.
For the $240 we paid it is not worth anywhere near that much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murten
0.2 mi away
Hotel Murten
Hotel Murten
#2 of 4 in Murten
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schiff Am See
Hotel Schiff Am See
#3 of 4 in Murten
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel SeePark
Hotel SeePark
#4 of 4 in Murten
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
Hotel Bad Muntelier Am See
#1 of 1 in Muntelier
27 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lacotel
Hotel Lacotel
#1 of 2 in Avenches
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murtenhof & Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Property: Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
Address: Rathausgasse 1-5, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone! The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone is a picturesque ensemble of striking, historic patricians’ houses in the middle of the old town of Murten. Enjoying a central but absolutely tranquil location, our stylish three-star hotel offers guests a fantastic view of Lake Murten. The Hotel Murtenhof & Krone features individually designed rooms and suites and friendly, personal service. Our restaurant offers fine cuisine perfectly complemented by an extensive wine list. More information on the services we offer can be found under «Seminars» and «Banquets». We also have a range of brochures on organizing and holding meetings, workshops, group events, seminars and conferences which we’ll be happy to send you on request. The team at the Hotel Murtenhof & Krone and the Joachim family look forward to welcoming you and would like to take this opportunity to wish you an enjoyable and relaxing stay in Murten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Murtenhof & Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing