We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we went back”
Review of O Barba-Petros

O Barba-Petros
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Areopoli
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Honiton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good we went back”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Really wonderful food, great menu but we chose from the specials recommended by the host - and cooked by his mother. We liked it so much we went back - 2 nights out of 3!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    50
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best place in Areopolis”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Have been going to Barba Petros regularly over the past ten years, and while it has had its ups and downs, it remains the best in Areopolis and one of the best in the Mani. They make a big effort to get away from standard Greek tourist fare, with a wide range of dishes using local herbs and unusual combinations. The grill is top notch, often having pork from their own farm, and the obligatory tour of the kitchen to look in all the pots and pans before making your choice is so much more useful than a sterile menu. Service is always prompt and very friendly. In the summer there is a small garden for al fresco dining, while on our recent Xmas trip we sat next to a toasty wood burning stove. Prices are very modest.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“O barba-Petros”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Amazing home food with traditional recipes of Mani. Every time you go there different recipes.The owner Pieros is an amazing person and conversations with him are really nice!
Definitely is the best restaurant in Mani!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank jimcobm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrakomakedones, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best homemade Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The best homemade food in town..... Traditional food all fresh cooked, best service, normal prices, in the center of the town, lovely waitresses .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Probably the best traditional Greek tavern in town”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have been there multiple times during the past 10 years, and have never been disappointed. The quality of food is constantly high, and the setting unchanged for years. I highly recommend it as one can always find here well-cooked, traditional Greek tastes. You will easily find it on your left-hand side as you walk down the paved street towards the traditional bakery.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MintiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Barba-Petros also viewed

Areopoli, Laconia Region
 
Limeni, Laconia Region
Limeni, Laconia Region
 
Areopoli, Laconia Region
Neon Oitylo, Laconia Region
 

Been to O Barba-Petros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing