We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST Hotel We Have Stayed In. Ever.”
Review of Hotel Rozos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rozos
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Porto Heli
Certificate of Excellence
No fixed abode
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“The WORST Hotel We Have Stayed In. Ever.”
Reviewed June 11, 2008

I couldn't locate this hotel on the site but hope this will still get published to serve as A WARNING to anyone visiting the little island of Port Heli in the Peloponnese to keep well away from the BW Rozos.

The island itself is fine for a week or two of your summer holiday, although we were there for three and a half months on a long term deal with an apartment through friends of the family. They wanted to show us around for a few days so it wasn't vacant when we arrived and so we needed a place for four nights.

One essential requirement (aside from an en suite bathroom) is access to broadband internet and this is the first criteria of any search. Hotel Rozos popped up and looked acceptable, particularly as it had the Best Western name backing it and so we asked about price, internet details and availability.

The manager simply replied saying we could have a room and gave us a price. We emailed back asking for further details of the internet and confirmation of our booking but that was the last we heard until we arrived.

The place was OK but not what I have come to expect from BW and the room smelt musty and stale. They could have left the balcony doors open to air the place but that didn't seem to have occurred to them.

It was after we had set up the laptop we realised that access was denied and we had to pay 5€ per hour if we wanted to use the internet. I was really not happy at this and told the manager so, who simply shrugged and walked off.

It got worse. The shower was woefully inadequte and the cause of the rotting smell. The bed was average with dirty blankets and the TV reception was dire.

Anyway, after our first night, we left the room to be made up with the request on the door.

When we returned that evening the room had not been touched and so I asked the manager what was happening. He said that we had displayed the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door and therefore no one had cleaned the room.

Funny, my wife had seen me put the notice up and could confirm this but when the manager asked the cleaner, she (naturally) stuck to the story and he then called me a liar, before once again walking off.

Not being amused in the least, I followed him to the bar and could see he was getting rather angry. I asked him if he treated all his guests this was and he replied that only if they lie to him!

To cut a long story short, we didn't see each other again until we left as he kept out of my way and I was more than happy about that.

I took up my complaint with Best Western but as it was a franchise they seemed unable to do much except investigate. However, it seems they must have believed my side of the story as they compensated me with a voucher for $150 which by no means makes up for such appalling behaviour but will come in handy for a decent meal at some point.

Anyway, Hotel Rozos? Wouldn't stay there if you paid me.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yrozos, OWNER MANAGER at Hotel Rozos, responded to this review, July 1, 2008
BEST WESTERN
HOTEL ROZOS Portoheli
21061 Greece
Tel 0030/27540-51412-51416-51531
Fax 000/27540-51412-51416


Αγαπητέ κύριε
Thank you for taking the service problem that you have faced at BEST WESTERN HOTEL ROZOS to the right people
On your first acquisition we never advertised broad band internet connection. We only mentioned internet connection. On your second acquisition you have come to me at you first day of stay and you have asked me about the internet connection. I have explained how he works and what the cost was and you mentioned to me that you would like a 24hr day connection and it is expensive. Then the next day afternoon around 19,00 hrs you have come down to the reception having on your hand one DO NOT DISTURB sign. That moment I was trying to solve the problem of another customer with his flying tickets to USA and I was speaking on the phone for more then 35 minutes with the CONTINENTAL AIRLINES rep at the states. When I finished I have asked you of how I could help you and you told me that your room was not made up. I have asked you which way was the sign facing and you could not remember. I called the chambermaids to find out what had happened and she told me that the last two days it was on the DO NOT DISTURB side. Then I offered you the chambermaids to come back in the hotel at that moment to make up your room so that ι could do something to rectify the mistake that had happened but you refused. Then you have started mentioning the internet connection fact and yes you were distorting the facts because it is not in my nature to call someone a liar. As a person who is in that business for more then 17 years as a manager and in total with all the previous working time as staff when my father was the manager 25 years .All these years what I have learnt and what I have passed to the hotel staff is that the basic factor in this business is the customer. The only thing I have told you was that I had never received an email asking of what kind of internet connection we have and then you have distorted what I was trying to explain to you by mentioning that I called you a liar
From that point I was trying to explain once more that i had never seen the email that you were telling me about and I printed the email that I had from you.
Another obvious and reasonable question that comes to my mind is that when you did not receive any email from me concerning internet connection and thought that I was ignoring you why didn’t you simply cancel the reservation
In the end when I saw that this situation was a dead end one. I told you that you could bring the mater to further up so that you could find your right and yes I was trying to keep my self out of the scene so I would make your stay more unbearable
Further more I feel compelled to state that I am very pleased of the rest of your comments about the hotel because it is a kick to make us better but unfortunately just for this year I had more than 6000 satisfied staying clients in this hotel that you mentioned as a hotel that is charitable as basic and that the were from pleased to very pleased with the hotel and the service we are providing. One thing that satisfies me as a hotel manager is to see my repeated clients growing up as a number as the year pass. And you were absolutely free to choose to stay just one night with us as you were so unhappy with the standards of the hotel since at the time of your arrival here there were other hotels open to satisfy your high needs and standards
Last but not least I have to mention that you are constantly trying to hide the third factor that made you choose our hotel for you stay and that is the low prize that you were trying to achieve and finally succeeded to do so

THANK YOU
YANNIS ROZOS
HOTEL MANAGER


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Heli
23.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 9 in Porto Heli
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
AKS Porto Heli Hotel
AKS Porto Heli Hotel
#5 of 9 in Porto Heli
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
AKS Hinitsa Bay
AKS Hinitsa Bay
#2 of 9 in Porto Heli
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Long View Resort & Spa
Long View Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Porto Heli
57 reviews
3.8 mi away
Spetses Hotel
Spetses Hotel
#5 of 18 in Spetses
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Porto Heli
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rozos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rozos

Property: Hotel Rozos
Address: Eparchiaki Odos Porto Cheli - Kosta, Porto Heli 21061, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Argolis Region > Porto Heli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Porto Heli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rozos 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for either an activity packed holiday or quiet break away from your usual routine, this hotel is situated on the sea front in the small and charming fishing village of Porto Heli. There are many boutiques, cafes, restaurants, souvenir shops and nightclubs for your enjoyment in the village. Or you could take to the beach for some swimming, snorkelling or windsurfing. Other sites of interest in the area include Epidavros, Mycanae and island tours to Spetses, Hydra and Poros. The hotel is open all year round and is a family run business with just 22 rooms, all overlooking the bay. The Rozos family has its roots firmly in Porto Heli, most of them having been born here or nearby and the present owners have been living here all their lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rozos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Heli Best Western
Best Western Rozos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing