We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Zarauz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Zarauz
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for a week whilst exploring the Basque Country. Our room was clean and comfortable with plenty of storage space. An arm chair would have been useful though. The bathroom was spotlessly clean. All staff members were pleasant and helpful, and most spoke good English. There was free WiFi, but the signal was often weak. However this was not really a problem as there is a computer booth for guest use. The restaurant is closed on Sundays during the low season (ie up to the first Sunday in June), but there are bars and cafes in the old town or in Getaria (two stops on the bus) or in San Sebastian a few miles away and accessible by train. The food can hardly be described as 'fine dining', but a three course meal with bread and wine costs less than £13 from the menu of the day.
Guests staying on a room only basis can purchase an 'eat as much as you like' continental breakfast for £4.50 or for an extra £3 can also have cold meats, cheese and fried eggs. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeithBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 417 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Used this Hotel as a Stop-over en route fron Southern Spain to the UK. Very friendly staff, check in very speedy. Room on the Top Floor with views across the Town and Mountains, very comfortable with excellent Beds.
One minor 'niggle' - on the night we stayed the Restaurant was Closed although nothing to say this was the 'norm', just seemed as though this particular 'closure' was at short notice as there had been a Private Function during the afternoon.
Plenty of good Eateries in the Town or on the nearby Sea front though.
Will certainly use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Check the Restaurant will be open when you Check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Really good value hotel. We stayed overnight in this hotel en-route to France and it represented great value for the price. We are a family of 5 and the hotel had a room to accommodate all of us in one room, none of this booking two rooms. They also allow pets and we were able to have our dog in the room with us. The hotel is very easy to find from the motorway - just come off at junction 11 and head into the town centre, you will see the hotel on your left. With its free private parking to the rear of the hotel travelling with the car was no problem. The staff were friendly and helpful, all spoke English as well, even though we speak Spanish. The room was clean and spacious had it's own en-suite, great with the family. We ate in the hotel in the evening and had an excellent meal, even the kids menu was great value - and they ate proper food, no nuggets / burger / pizza here.The town of Zarautz seemed very relaxed and safe - child & pet friendly. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the beach at Zarautz with it cafes on the sea front as well. I would imagine that this hotel would be a good base to explore the Basque area of Spain, it is only minutes from San Sebastian, about 20 minutes from Bilbao and about 15 minutes from the French border. I would recommend this hotel. No swimming pool, but with the beach a few minutes walk away do you need one?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raheman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A great value hotel in a central location in the Basque town of Zarautz. I enjoyed a two night stay here, the staff were friendly and spoke basic english which was a relief as I speak no spanish or basque! My room was on the 4th floor and had a wonderful view. Highly recommended for anyone on a budget!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majiktoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came upon this hotel by chance whilst driving to the South of Spain and heavy rain prevented our finding an hotel in San Sebastian as intended.
A British coach party arrived just after us so the hotel was quite crowded but everything seemed to work well.
Our room was actually a suite with two bedrooms and a huge and well- equipped bathroom excellent value at 60 euros.
Dinner was only adequate and, if the rain had not been so heavt, we would have done better to find a restaurant near the sea.
Breakfast was poor so my advice would be to stay here but to eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We paid £1601 for two people for one week which included half board and trips out on 5 days. Also the srvices of a tourmanager from Paddington to the hotel and throughout the week. The hotel was well prepared and reception was quick and friendly. Rooms were absolutely spotless and the beds firm though for us were perfect. The rooms have a normal key in the door to open and lock. Bathroom had a few "goodies" such as soap and shower gel. The bath itself was just a bit bigger than a "hip bath", the shower being part of the bath wall. Hot water was always available. There was a hair dryer. Other facilities were a phone a decent TV but with no english speaking channels. Plenty of mains sockets for our kettle and chargers etc. Lighting was good and more than enough to read by. Towels were changed when placed in the bath. Beds were made everyday and we were changed twice in the week. Cleaning was of a very high standard.
Not so good was the lack of AC which could be a problem in the hotter months and opening the window raised the noise level to unacceptable levels. The walls were a little thin and some noise was heard from the rooms about us.
The sun lounge was also closed during our visit with no beds or other furniture.
The staff were first rate and seemed to be familiar enough with most languages to be able to understand you to an extent. ( I"m talking now about non reception people).
Our dinner which started at 8.30pm was of an indifferent standard but there was plenty of it and generally adequately cooked. Still cannot get used to the lack of vegetables in most Med countries for our meal. Table service in the evening.
Breakfast was an 8.00am buffet with decent tea,coffee and fruit juice. Typical continental meal but all quite nice.
Weather was cool and showery with some biting insects around.
The hotel is quite near shops, ATMs and the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Had a great trip to Zarautz and the hotel was lovely.... Great value for money, very clean, free wifi, great location and the staff were more than nice... Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zarautz
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Antilla
2.2 mi away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
0.5 mi away
Hotel Norte
Hotel Norte
#3 of 5 in Zarautz
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
331 reviews
8.3 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#5 of 53 in San Sebastian - Donostia
1,359 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zarauz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarauz

Address: Nafarroa Kalea 26, 20800 Zarautz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Zarautz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zarautz
Price Range: $41 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zarauz 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Zarauz is a 3 stars hotel and it is situated in Nafarroa street number 26 in the village of Zarautz. The building was built in 1924 and the hotel Zarauz began his tourist activity form the 40s. Its situation is privileged at 13 Kilometres far from Donostia-San Sebastian and 40 Kilometres far from the airport of Hondarribia. The Hotel Zarauz has 75 rooms: 53 twins, 14 single and 8 familiar rooms. Each room has TV, Telephone, radiator, hair dresser, WI-FI free and complete bathroom. It also has Restaurant, and a Conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zarauz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarauz Hotel Zarautz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing