We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life changing vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poppi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Poppi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Everything about the week here was perfect. The wonderful Italian teacher, Paola, the helpful staff, the wonderful food, the relaxing accomodations. Every momento was filled with laughter, music and a wonderful atmosphere. Definitely to be repeated!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. Like having your own private villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancy54058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

There is a reason that every review so far is "excellent"! There can't be a place in Tuscany that can match Casa Ombuto. It is such a beautiful destination to visit with amazing places to see just a short ride away. If that is all we did, I'd still give it 5 stars. Add in that we spent the week with Chef Paola, well, let's just say that put it over the top.
Chef Paola was full of energy, full of life, made us laugh with at all times maintaining the passion that she has for Tuscan cooking. Our "team" of wannabe chefs (My wife and I are from Florida and we had a charming and hilarious couple from Australia, three lovely ladies from New Zealand and a beautiful woman from Mexico) were certainly in for a treat working with Paola for the week. We dove into amazing recipes and learned how the culture of the food there and the simplicity of the ingredients made for some incredible meals. After a short meeting each day of cooking, we each were assigned a different recipe, sometimes pairing up, with Paola's watchful eye on each of us. With Paola's guidance we were able to put together some of the best meals we have ever had. And to think that we as a team had done that made it that more enjoyable.
From the moment we pulled up Sheena, the manager, met us and immediately made us feel welcome. The ENTIRE staff there couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. They surely go above and beyond making it an incredible experience. The rooms, the pool area, the kitchen and dining areas.....fabulous. Like, I said, there's a reason that so far nobody has given this place less than 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was an experience of a lifetime. For anyone who enjoys the love of cooking, this is for you. Our chef, Laura shared her knowledge, skills and love of food with passion and great humour. We were blessed to spend the week with her. The manager, Sheenah, made us feel so welcome. She handled all requests with such efficiency. Casa Ombuto was beautiful and a hidden gem.The accommodations were comfortable and met all our needs. We shared the week with the most wonderful people and instantly became friends as we cooked, ate delicious food and enjoyed excellent wines.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

One of the best weeks I have ever spent. The staff was amazing - there was not one need that was not met. Our Chef, Laura, is the best....she made our week so special. Shanya, the hostess, could not have been more accommodating. Marta, Monica, Donatella and Livia made it easy for us to cook and enjoy ourselves. And a HUGE thank you goes to my fellow guests this week - friendships made, and knowing us, we will cross paths again and again.

If you have an interest in cooking and want a great time, I recommend Tuscookany. You will learn more than you think (and I am someone who likes to cook). Our course was Mediterranean - we cooked Italian, French, Spanish and Moroccan. A wonderful mix....personally, Moroccan was my favorite (as I like spicy dishes). Italian was not far behind - my favorite dish - a wonderful warmed seasoned goat cheese on toasted crisps with salad.

Looking forward to going again in a few years.

You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bchalonergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is the kind of experience that you see in movies where a group of strangers meets, spends a week together and goes on to have lifelong friendships. At the end of the week, everyone was sad to leave, and it was especially heartbreaking to leave our chef, Laura Giusti. The cooking classes are wonderful, but it's the overall experience that makes this place so special.

It is hard to imagine from the agenda how all of this works, but your days are full without being rushed. Meals are served by the staff, but cooked by the students. Each meal, you sit down to a beautifully set table that enhances the experience. At each meal, you also try two new specialty wines. You have just enough time off from cooking to relax, have a massage, read a book, walk in the woods, etc. There was one day for a group outing and one day for private outings. However, as the week progresses, our group seemed to never leave the kitchen as there was always something else to learn during our down time.

The rooms are rustic and charming, meant to reflect the surrounding area. This not a hotel, but a guest house. Our room had two single beds pushed together, not a king sized mattress. The bathrooms are large, and some have showers and baths while others have only showers. There was no cable since there was no TV. There is internet access, but it varies in strength from room to room. The cantina and the pool both have excellent access. For me, this vacation was about relaxing and unplugging when in my room was a benefit to me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What A fantastic week with La cuoca Paola we learnt lots from our very enthusiastic maestra this a beautiful place in the middle of nowhere we worked very hard but we also ate very well and had an excellent choice of wines and liqueurs 34 In total. We had nine very interesting people to join us in our labours and free time great crowd grazie Mille Paola tanti auguri peer Natalie. Ciao Carlo and Audrey

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Charlie-and-Audrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

From the moment you arrive at Casa Ombuto, you get the feeling that the entire staff is truly happy to be your host. The service, facility and grounds are top-rate. Chef Paola Baccetti sets the tone for a week of fun, learning and adventure in the kitchen, where she elevates the cooking game in all her students. At the dinner table, you will spend hours learning about the Tuscan Way from this knowledgeable local fixture who has spent her life in the region. And thanks to Paola's great kitchen support team, this is a cooking adventure complete with everything except the clean-up duties.
There was one organized day trip to a winery, followed by lunch at an olive farm, a visit to another farm that makes goat cheese and then an old textile factory. Other days, you will have free time for local exploring or just relaxing, with cooking lessons starting at 3PM.
We had a fantastic week and found the other guests (there were 9 others) to be great company.
If you want to dive into authentic Tuscan cuisine, this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scafeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The M, Manager at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review and it is true we are truly happy to be your host at Tuscookany cooking classes in Italy. We are please you had such a fabulous time at Casa Ombuto and we look forward back. Happy cooking from the Tuscookany team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poppi hotels
5.8 mi away
I Tre Baroni
I Tre Baroni
#1 of 1 in Moggiona
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Il Contado Country House & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Torricella
Hotel La Torricella
#2 of 4 in Poppi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#3 of 4 in Poppi
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Albergo San Lorenzo
Albergo San Lorenzo
#2 of 5 in Poppi
69 reviews
5.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Casa Bianca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany

Address: Larniano 21, 52010, Poppi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Poppi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Poppi
Price Range: $420 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscookany at Casa Ombuto is a luxurious villa set in the hills of Tuscany offering exclusive hands-on Italian and Mediterranean cooking vacations. We offer all-inclusive luxurious one-week Italian cooking classes given in English. Have fun and learn to cook at our Tuscookany Casa Ombuto cooking school in Tuscany. Guests stay in Casa Ombuto and have the cooking classes at Casa Ombuto in a professional kitchen designed for this purpose. It is an all-inclusive cooking vacation including a culinary excursion with visits to a cheese farm, wine tasting and olive oil farm, four cooking lessons and superb meals accompanied by the finest Italian wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ombuto - Cooking Vacations Hotel Poppi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing