We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello dei Conti Guidi

Castello dei Conti Guidi
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Poppi
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you want to find a Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town to add to your tour I can recomend this gem . Easy to find, easy to park great views, history and unlike Florence/Senna/Pisa etc.it's not jam packed with coach loads of tourists.

Visited November 2012
1 Thank campingduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortona, Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Count Guidi Castle of Poppi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This 12th century castle is located in the center of the small town of Poppi, near Arezzo.in excellent condition, you can visit the entire castle and climb to the top to see the panoramic view. visit also the Conti chapel with the fresco's while in Poppi and if you have young children, visit the zoo too.

Visited October 2012
1 Thank LaMucchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A little highlight of our holiday in Tuscany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We'd done three days in Florence, a day split between Siena and San Gimignano, and an afternoon in the Chianti hills where we were staying. All very splendid and you have to do them. But then we dived into into the wilder, high green hills and hairpin bends of the Casentino region, via Regello, Vallombrosa and a detour to the top of Monte Secchieta. Of this a cycling website wrote " Monte Secchieta, with its highest point at 1421 m and a climb of 34.89 km is a race bike friendly route." Only if your name is Bradley Wiggins, I fear. We drove. But I digress. Carry on to Poppi - the place is not as twee as the name suggests, so don't think you are in a tourist trap. High up, views, arcaded main street, terrace - and the castle.
Okay, they say the trip up to the top of the castle's tower is not for those with vertigo, so i sent husband up there to admire the panoramic views of the Casentino and beyond. You can roam all over this perfect little castle with its decorated rooms, and excellent animated diorama of the battle of Campaldino. There is a small guide in English to help you. A lot of work has been done to renovate the castle and there has also been a big project by schoolchildren and others to connect with their own past, one that modern globalisation has rendered alien. We didn't have time to see everything, and my Italian isn't very strong when it comes to listening an speaking so I would not have appreciated some of the audio material.
Outside the castle is an open area with a cafe/bar where we stopped for a coffee and a pastry. Here the local teenagers had gathered in numbers, but no bellies hanging out, no muffin tops bulging, no arms covered in tattooes, no drunkenness or sullen pouting. They sat laughing and drinking coffee or beer and taking photos of themselved, and they just looked happy, friendly and relaxed.

Visited September 2012
2 Thank frigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gem of a castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely castle really well maintained with some interesting new material developed by local schools. Quite a lot to see. The library was extraordinary, amazing collection of books on view.Great view over the countryside

Visited August 2012
Thank gillsimpson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimona, Israel
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A typical castle in a beautiful town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

A genuine Italian castle, with interesting rooms. It's too bad it only opens at 10:00, as quite a few people were hanging around outside, obviously wanting to get in quite a bit earlier and get on with the arduous task of sightseeing. Some of the rooms contain some interesting exhibits prepared by local high school students, and the tower is not a difficult climb.
It's too bad that it's not possible to visit the kitchen or servants' quarters, both of which I assume existed, to get a feel for day-to-day life in the castle. The castle and its town are worth a visit, as they are both wonderful examples of medieval Italy.

Visited September 2012
Thank Daveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello dei Conti Guidi also viewed

Chiusi della Verna, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
Camaldoli, Province of Arezzo
Poppi, Province of Arezzo

Been to Castello dei Conti Guidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing