We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
17
14
10
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
17
14
10
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2016

The old town of Poppi is medieval perched on top of a hill.
The hotel is right at the top of the town and situated on the edge of the Castle square .
It is a beautiful old building like all in this location.Beautiful old room,clean and comfortable and spacious.
The restaurant is in a different building.The food was excellent.Breakfast Continental
buffet was not elaborate but plenty of it
If you want to be away from large modern hotels ,don't miss this.
Wandering around the streets of this old town is just beautiful and the Castle worth visiting.

Room tip: can't think any rooms would be noisy.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lit39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015

I stayed at this hotel 6 nights for a nearby conference, the amenities are fairly basic but the interior garden and adjoining restaurant are absolutely wonderful. The staff is very friendly and it's not an expensive place to stay or eat! All of their food is cooked in a wood fired oven and they make most everything in house. Keep in mind that they do have heat but no air-conditioning, I visited in June and it could get a little warm in the rooms but if the shutters are kept closed during the day it not really an issue.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2015

This hotel is traditional and lovely, great value. It is at the top of the beautiful hillside town of Poppi. My room overlooked the town and the surrounding hillsides. The interior garden was lovely and I enjoyed reading under the abundant wisteria vines. The restaurant is nice and the food and service were good. The hotel is right across from the Castello dei Conti Guidi and a popular caffé under the trees outside, with the view of the surrounding valleys.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Susan30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We found this hotel in our GPS. It's inside the walled city of Poppi, a beautiful town. When we got there, we were pleased to find that it shares a square with the castle, which meant we could visit the castle without even moving the car. Parking is both ample and free. We met interesting guests at the hotel, which made up for the fact that Poppi has little night life.

The rooms were comfortable and cozy, if a bit antiquated. Treat the windows and blinds with loving care, and they'll prevent all light from coming in in the morning and disturbing your rest.

Dinner in their restaurant was fantastic, and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was typical for Italian hotels, but unfortunately did not include eggs.

The staff was wonderful, which helped make our stay there a pleasant one.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for the second time in August 2012 as we love the charm of the hotel and the superb food at their restaurant. The staff are charming and the pace of the service is relaxed making it a perfect place to stay.

Room tip: All rooms are spacious
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews