We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great authentic Italian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Cantine

Le Cantine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great authentic Italian food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a fun restaurant where we were the only non-locals eating. The food was lovely and the service very welcoming.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Britishbird65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tallahassee, fl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is a local place with amazing pizza and "just picked" salad, great service. It's a steep drive up the hill to get there but worth the trip.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank testdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for lovely Pizza - leave the rest!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We really liked the atmosphere of Le Cantine, which is in a lovely hilltop town and the pizzas were just lovely. .....but we ordered other items from the menu on our next visit and were very disappointed. Pasta vongole was way too salty and full of grit (the clams could not have been cooked separately or rinsed before serving) and both my pasta and the mixed grill dish seemed to contain more salt than the dea sea. We told the waiter and he replied "But its Tuscan salt" as if this was the most normal thing in the world! I like seasoned food but really?????!

Don't be put off completely though - we still went back twice after this as its def worth a visit for the pizza which were delicious and very traditional. We have young children so pizzas are easy option!

Need to make advance reservation if you are a large group or visiting later in the week or at weekend, esp if you want to eat out on the lovely terrace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrentfordWonderWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildervank
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not always the same quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

some food was delicious, but I had a pizza with very bad bacon on it, The tables and chairs are not all that comfotable

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JelteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Le Cantine was recommended by our host in the B&B Poggio Del Drago where we were staying and the food was absolutely fantastic. We tried other restaurants in the area but kept returning to Le Cantine as it was so good. We also liked the fact that there were always at least a few tables of local families or friends along with the few tables of tourists.

All of the food looked and tasted excellent, the portion sizes were huge and the prices were low. The first time we had an antipasti dish and pasta dish each, but this was far too much so the other two nights we shared an antipasti and then had a pasta or pizza dish each.

There is a wonderful view of the sunset over the Tuscan hills from the outside seating area which gives a nice romantic setting. If we are in the area again, we will definitely be eating here.

NOTE: Le Cantine is closed on Mondays (when we were in the area)

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucasgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cantine also viewed

Pieve A Presciano, Pergine Valdarno
Pieve A Presciano, Pergine Valdarno
 
Pergine Valdarno, Province of Arezzo
Ambra, Province of Arezzo
 
Laterina, Province of Arezzo
Badia Agnano, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Le Cantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing