We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We will return......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle
Ranked #1 of 10 Lucignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We will return......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived at Le Caselle at the end of August in a temperature of 100+F. That's hot! It would be too easy to say that the welcome was as warm as the weather, but it really was. There were four of us and after a little trouble finding the place (not really that difficult but we were a bit hot and edgy) we were sat quietly in the garden with a cold beer to get our breaths and our tempers back. And after that - perfect!
Le Caselle is a big seventeenth century house just outside Lucignano (itself a beautiful little town) which has been beautifully restored and still has work going on. There is an enormous garden and a large swimming pool. The bedrooms have air conditioning which works perfectly. This is not always the case in Italy I know and it generally doesn't matter that much. But when the weather is on the very very hot side of very very very hot, the air conditioning is a godsend! Just a word of warning here. The room my wife and I were in was at the top of a narrow spiral staircase. All very elegant I know, but tricky to negotiate when you have mobility problems and a large suitcase.
The family (it is a family run establishment) and the staff were all very good natured and helpful.
Breakfast is a buffet job with a wide choice and as plentiful as you want it to be.
We had dinner in the garden on both of the nights that we were there. You eat in little compartmented areas with built in mozzie protectors. The dinners were terrific - representing Italian food as you really want it to be - fresh ingredients (many from Le Caselle's garden) to which as little as possible has been done. Delicious. Every night Brjan lights an enormous wood barbecue on which things are cooked. You can sit and watch your dinner appearing as you sip your prosecco and jeer at the feeble attempts of the mozzies to get at you.
We loved our two nights here and will certainly be going back. Interestingly, the day after we lefe, the weather broke and it rained pretty syeadily for a week. It would be symbolic of something.

Room Tip: Watch out for the spiral staircase room unless you're fit and flexible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryYossarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
62
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We are a family of three and stayed at Le Caselle last year. Located in a beautiful and relatively undiscovered part of Tuscany, Le Caselle is just outside the pretty walled town of Lucignano. We had a large bedroom with bathroom, recently renovated and tastefully furnished, very clean, with the most beautiful view out of the window: the town of Lucignano itself. Everyone was extremely polite. We thought the rates where reasonable and the food at the restaurant great. A special mention goes to the home-made red wine, proudly produced by the owner: definitely recommended if you like rich, oak aged, intense reds.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annnmarysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

There are two other reviews for Le Caselle on Tripadvisor which persuaded us to spend 5 days with Brjan (pronounced Brian) and his family and those reviews were right on the money. This is the perfect place to not only explore southern Tuscany but also hang out by the pool in lovely, well kept gardens. Our room was large, clean and modern (in a rustic style) with views looking up to the renaissance town of Lucignano on the hill. There's a couple of nice restaurants in town and access to the surrounding area is easy. We visited Siena, Montalcino, Pienza, Montepulciano, and Arezzo as part of casual days out returning for the late afternoon by the pool. Breakfast is laid out for you in the garden and you can eat dinner there if you wish. They barbeque in the garden. While we were staying there Brjan got married in a big do there and you could see they knew what they were doing. All in all a real find. You won't be disappointed. Our only gripe...we'd have liked more fruit at breakfast but hey, the coffee, croissant, yoghourt and homemade jams were fine. Oh, and they're not too good with directions but the town's so small and there's a sign just outside town, so you'll find it eventually. Brjan speaks English.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Amazing gem, our stay was so relaxing we didn't want to leave. It felt like staying with family. The food is so fresh, they grew their own vegetables. We had the best dinner in Italy right here. You can pick your own fruits from the trees in the backyard.
Every morning we sat outside for breakfast. We had the most amazing room overlooking the country on one side and the village from the other. I would highly recommend it anyone staying in the Lucignano are. We hope to be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cortina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

After travelling 3600km in Northern Italy we came across this wonderful village of Lucignano where the people are wonderful, and relaxed, and by chance we decided to stay for the night. We came across Le Caselle Bed and Breakfast and could not fault them in anyway. Absolute comfort, relaxation and beautiful surroundings of all shades of green.
It seemed like another world away from the chaos of the everyday Italian life and we have travelled and stayed in many villages and cities, encountered many attitudes and at times bad service and nothing could compare to the brilliance of Le Caselle. We had to return the next day for one more night before heading further south. I would highly recommend this beautiful place to stay.

  • Liked — The Welcome
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nzinitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucignano
3.5 mi away
Calcione Castle and Country
3.9 mi away
Hotel Santorotto
Hotel Santorotto
#5 of 5 in Sinalunga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.2 mi away
I Girasoli
I Girasoli
#2 of 2 in Lucignano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Il Cassero
Il Cassero
#9 of 9 in Lucignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Nora
Agriturismo La Nora
#2 of 9 in Lucignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casalta
La Casalta
#8 of 9 in Lucignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle

Property: Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle
Address: Loc. Caselle n. 30, 52046 Lucignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Lucignano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lucignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Le Caselle' lies in an idyllic corner of Tuscany, moments from Lucignano, a medieval walled village known as the 'small jewel' of the Val di Chiana region. Our lovingly restored Tuscan farmhouse provides an ideal place in which to relax, explore the landscape and enjoy the rich culture and history of the area, known also for its excellent shops, food and wine. Equidistant from Pisa, Rome and Bologna airports and also within an easy drive of Siena and Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing