We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, peaceful - the real tuscany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calcione Castle and Country
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucignano
A TripAdvisor Member
“beautiful, peaceful - the real tuscany”
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We found it very difficult to leave Calcione after a two week stay earlier this month. It is in a peaceful, beautiful setting. Our accomodation (a two bedroomed apartment, Alloro - family of 4) was spacious, full of character and very enjoyable to stay in. This is not pristine, modern accomodation and is not "twee" tuscany. The small lake is beautiful and we used the excellent estate swimming pool. We loved it and hope to return soon. The location is also very convenient for seeing much of Tuscany and Umbria, with a beautiful and friendly town of Lucignano nearby.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2006

Gloomy, totally not welcoming. Sarcastically called a castle, but no access to the run down castle. With some effort you can see one tower. The comtessa, who rents the units, is definitely more interested in your euros than your comfort. Nothing was done to make you feel welcome, no potted plants or any warmth (in Tuscany!), just a spartan environment. The location is desolate, but the town of Lucignano is lovely and we had probably our best dinner there. Our bed was good, but the ones in the second room (which we did not have to use since we rented a 2 bedroom for 2 people) were terrible. The rooms were very dusty and dank, the furniture grimey (I threw a blanket over the couch so i could sit on it), my shower head came out of the wall, no water prerssure and insects and roly polys everywhere (including the tub).

We could not stay longer than 4 days, for it would havwe ruined our great impression of tuscany. We left forfeiting our deposi, and drove up to the Chianti region and checked into a country inn. Since we paid cash to the comtessa, we had no recourse.

We go to Tuscany every other year and I would stay away from this place and find other more welcoming places instead. There are much better castles in the area, where it looks and feels like you are actually on vacation in Tuscany. If you like it here, you must not be used to much.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

My wife and I recently spent a week at Il Calcione, a renovated castle and estate located just outside the little town of Luciagno. It is about an hour from Florence and 45 minutes from Siena. It is a wonderful place to go and forget about the rest of the world. It has been described as "rustic" by many, and I think it certainly encapsulates the place well. Luxury accommodations these are not. The setting is beautiful, the location is central, and the sense of getting away from civilization is nearly complete.

We stayed in La Casetta which is essentially the lower floor of a small two story building a stone's throw from the castle. It is essentially a small apartment complete with a kitchen and gas stove, a small living room, and a bedroom with attached bathroom. There is not air-conditiong, only heat. We wouldn't have used an air conditioner anyway as the weather in May was beautiful. The porch looks out over a orchard of olive trees directly to the west which makes for beautiful nightly sunsets. You provide your own food, but wine, olive oil, and even eggs can be obtained at the castle for a minimum charge (the wine was about $3 a bottle and the olive oil was about $10). We spent several afternoons reading, watching the horses graze in the distance, and simply absorbing the tranquility of this place. The only disadvantage of this particular apartment stems from the fact that people do stay above you. As you might imagine, a structure that was built several hundred years prior does not have much in the way of insulation. Footsteps and voices transmit very easily. Luckily for us, the people upstairs were very quiet and unobtrusive, but this definitely was a small drawback. The bathroom, although impeccably clean, smelled a bit of sewage (likely a universal problem in this rural area rather than a cleanliness problem). Insects are very prevalent, especially since we usually kept windows and doors open during the day. Again, not a problem unless you are particular scared or put off by them.

The location is nice to visit the region. We took day trips into Siena, Florence, San Marino, and Bulgheri. We often ate large lunches in the cities we visited, returning in the evening for a light meal of bread, meat, and cheese while watching the sun set.

I would recommend this place to anyone as long as they realize the rather spartan conditions, especially when compared to luxury hotels. This for us was not a problem. We hope to return to Il Calcione one day with friends and stay in one of the larger places available.

Finally, the price simply can't be beat. We stayed a week for what it cost us for 2 nights in Austria. It does require the use of a car, but you need a car anywhere you stay in Tuscany. We've included a few pictures. The beauty of this place really can't easily be captured on film.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank searuncut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2005

If you are looking for a rustic quiet place in Tuscany with a good central location to do day trips-Il Calcione castle near Lucignano is easy to drive to, only an hour from Florence and definitely a good buy for the money. It is for sure in the country but easy driving restaurants and sights. If you just want to relax, there are private pools and tennis courts. The managers were very friendly but never obtrusive. We even saw a family of wild boars crossing the road one evening after going to a great family owned local restaurant.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank Larue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucignano
5.4 mi away
I Girasoli
I Girasoli
#1 of 2 in Lucignano
33 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
524 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle
Bed & Breakfast Le Caselle
#1 of 11 in Lucignano
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
308 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Casalta
La Casalta
#8 of 10 in Lucignano
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agriturismo La Nora
Agriturismo La Nora
#2 of 10 in Lucignano
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcione Castle and Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcione Castle and Country

Property: Calcione Castle and Country
Address: Il Calcione | Localita Calcione 101, 52046 Lucignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Lucignano
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lucignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calcione is a family-owned estate set in the hills of the Val di Chiana, one of the most beautiful areas in Tuscany. We have several villas, country houses and apartments (self-catering rentals), available from March to November, that provide a starting point for a memorable vacation in Tuscany. The spacious and comfortable interiors combine the welcoming atmosphere of antique furniture with all modern conveniences. Unspoilt countryside, swimming pools, two large lakes and a tennis court provide an ideal setting for a memorable holiday. Whether you come in search of art (within a radius of just 100 miles of Calcione, lies 20 percent of the world's greatest art treasures), to celebrate a special anniversary, or simply to enjoy a relaxing and special vacation, you'll find what you're looking for. From the day of your arrival, one of our English-speaking collaborators will be available to answer any questions and make you feel at home. Tuscany's charm is has been widely publicized. We believe Calcione is a special place, where the many pleasant and enjoyable aspects of Tuscany can be appreciated at their best. Il Calcione produces, organically, an outstanding olive oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calcione Castle and Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcione Country And Castle Lucignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing