We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Hike”

Temple's Sugar Camp
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Lanark
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: We are located a short drive west of Ottawa between Carleton Place and Perth just minutes from Hwy #7. Our authentic two hundred seat timber frame building is surrounded by forests and gardens making it a lovely setting for a country wedding through all four seasons. We have a friendly and experienced staff who welcome the opportunity to make your wedding day a wonderful and memorable occasion.
Restaurant details
Description: We are located a short drive west of Ottawa between Carleton Place and Perth just minutes from Hwy #7. Our authentic two hundred seat timber frame building is surrounded by forests and gardens making it a lovely setting for a country wedding through all four seasons. We have a friendly and experienced staff who welcome the opportunity to make your wedding day a wonderful and memorable occasion.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Hike”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were 4 adults and a 2 and 4 year old. First we took the trail hike through the woods and over the bridges to work up an appetite. Then we checked out the evaporator and dining room. We had a very congenial waitress and decided on the meal for 4 which gave us more than enough great food with lots of variety. The french toasts are special, pumpkin and cornbread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best pancakes and syrup in Ontario”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a great time! Pancakes were excellent and they leave a jar of syrup on the table so you can have as much as you want. The service was great. The waitress came over several times to ask if we needed anything or would we like more coffee. There was no rushing us even though it was a sunday. Their syrup is very reasonably priced. You can check out the vats and the making of the syrup. They also have a trail through the sugar bush. I loved it!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Darlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A highlight of the maple syrup season”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Don't miss a visit to Temple's sugar camp during the season. The building is magnificent - a great example of post and beam - spacious, airy and lots of light. Staff friendly and energetic managing very efficiently during busy periods. The food is terrific. Lots of variety - not just pancakes - which is great. Having said that, the pancakes (three or four different kinds) are light and delicious and there are lots of sides to add in. Very good pea meal bacon, sausages, beans, fruit...
Nancy, Charlie Temple's sister makes blueberry preserves to die for. Highly recommended.
I have also had the breakfast sandwich which is a work of art. Beautiful pastry framing generous ham, egg and cheese - hot and crispy - and served with home fries. The coffee is outstanding - specially created by an Ottawa coffee shop for Temple's.
Loads of parking and nicely maintained trails for walking through the sugar bush to get rid of a few calories afterwards. The evaporator is right next door and an amazing sight.
Another important point - very good washrooms. Absolutely immaculate.
And a little shop so you can stock up on syrup, candy, butter tarts etc. YUM.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fun walk in the sugar bush”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My visit to Temple's was during maple syrup season, so it was quite the hive of activity. Walking into the building with the evaporator running is a guaranteed way to get your mouth watering for some of the food served next door. The sugar bush next door is fully "piped" to get the sap from the trees to the evaporator, and the trail has bridges over the lines and guides/signs to the various trees and birds seen in the area. It's about a 20 minute walk.

The restaurant / events hall (it is often rented for wedding receptions, apparently) serves food that is both fantastic and plentiful. Good coffee, great pancakes, outstanding french toast made with cinnamon bread and lashings of maple syrup for everything. The place is spotless, the staff is courteous, and the service is quick.

There is a small store to purchase maple syrup and other maple souvenirs right at the door.

I went twice this spring, and will stop by for breakfast at any point of the year if I'm in the area. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank 54Kardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple's Sugar Camp also viewed

 
Lanark, Ontario
 

Been to Temple's Sugar Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing