We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. HIGHLY recommended. Beautiful property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanark
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Clyde Hall is a slice of heaven nestled away in Lanark, ON, Maple syrup capital of the world. It is 1 hr from Ottawa, ON (capital city of Canada) and 10 mins from Perth On where there is a Theatre Festival annually (CLassic theatre Festival).

This home was built in the 1850's, burnt down in the 1950's and was completely rebuilt keeping the exterior walls (26" deep" ) intact. It is masterfully decorated. As lovely as any Four Seasons Hotel. Note that you do have to share bathrooms but the bathrooms are so fabulous that who would care? It is a non-issue, in my opinion. Rooms get housekeeping daily. Breakfast is to die for. there is a beautiful pool and jacuzzi on tghe property and there is an honor system "help yourself to a glass of wine or pop or whatever" and take it to the pool.

Rooms are approx. $110.00 a night...standard price for a good B & B and ever so much better.

Owners (Sheri and Brian) are delightful people who shower this place with love and obviously care a lot. The property is on 10 acres of land and there are several quiet spots to go and relax and lovely walks into the charming little town of Lanark. www.clydehall.com will give you so much more information.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 31 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2010

Our family stayed at Clyde Hall in the summer for my sisters wedding and it ended up being an incredible weekend! The owners catered to our every need and are extremely attentive. The rooms were perfect and Clyde Hall was able to accommodate the majority of our family.
The grounds were unbelievable especially for the wedding photos.Some of us all got massages, as the owners have a masseuse that is on hand and then were able to relax in the hot tub and fantastic pool.I would definitely recommend this establishment for a large event or just a romantic getaway. Wonderful hosts and a truly lovely spot with every attention to detail taken.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacassa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

The building and grounds at Clyde Hall are beautiful especially in the fall. But for the amount per night $110 the breakfast was fair and it was like having deserts for breakfast. No eggs, meat or cheese. Just pastries, fruit salad, croissant, coffee, juice. We did stay on the third floor and it was no big deal all of us sharing a bathroom since we all knew each other but would not want to do that with people I did not know.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayfun201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed at Clyde Hall as part of a large wedding party group. Our group booked (and filled) every room in the B&B. The location is absolutely stunning. The hall is beautiful, the rooms are very well appointed and the attention to detail in the rebuild/restoration of this house is extremely impressive.

The hosts/owners clearly love Clyde Hall, and this really does show through.

The breakfast on the first day we were there was just beautiful - the food was masterfully prepared and delicious and served in an exquisite setting. Breakfast on the second morning was more casual, a continental breakfast served buffet-style.

With all of the positives, however, would not stay here again.

1. The walls (on the upper floor at least) are absolutely paper-thin. And if you are staying on the upper floor, there are three bedrooms that share one single bathroom (i.e., if someone is showering, no one can pee or brush their teeth). We were all one big group, so it wasn't a big deal to keep the door open. But I would not feel comfortable otherwise sharing a bathroom with up to six people. The suites would be okay, but I have to say I found it a bit expensive to pay $110/night and have zero privacy (in terms of sound proofing) for the non-suite rooms.

2. This is the thing that made me SO irate. We were staying at Clyde Hall for my brother's wedding. The wedding party had booked EVERY room in the B&B for two nights. And yet, when the photographer arrived to take getting ready photos (of the wedding party, who were all staying at the B&B), we were informed that there was a $100 fee to take photos.

I found this shocking and appalling. It's not as though a large crowd of extra people came to the B&B for phtos; aside from the bride's mother and father, everyone in the photos was staying at Clyde Hall. There was no extra effort or outlay on the part of the owners to accommodate the photos. I just found it such bad business practice to charge to take photos, and THEN, the next morning as we were checking out, the owner had the nerve to ask the bride if the bride would send some digital photos to the B&B. Not freaking likely. Or maybe, for $100.

In the grand scheme of a wedding, it's not a crazy amount of money, but to pull that on the day of a wedding, when we had already rented out the entire property for 2 nights....it just struck me as tacky and disappointing.

Anyway, for that reason alone, no one who stayed there that weekend will ever go back. It IS a beautiful location, but that small action left such a bad taste in everyone's mouth that it really cast a pall over our entire stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ottawagal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We visited Clyde Hall for a private party, and we were just overwhelmed by the gracious hospitality, the beautiful period decor and the delightful food.

The owners spared no effort to make sure all the details were perfect, and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loriinottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Wow, this place is freshly renovated. The owners are the nicest people in the world. Place is spotless, the food is awesome, the view is breathtaking, the service is excellent.

The only thing I would recommend is when you get your room, ask for a key if you are going to be coming back late.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast in late June for a wedding. The grounds and the building are both stunning. The owners take great care in their surroundings and make you feel welcome upon arrival.
We stayed in the "Yellow Room" on the top floor which was lovely. The bed was comfortable and the shared bathroom on that floor was HUGE! Every room in the house was booked with family members that weekend so we were able to peek at all the room. The rooms on the second floor were beautiful, and they had their own huge bathrooms. The "Red" and "Blue" rooms on the third floor were also very nicely decorated.

The rest of the house is also gorgeous - the dining area, living room, and kitchen were all very elegant and yet comfortable at the same time. An added bonus was the pool and hot tub located just outside the grounds.

If you're looking for a bed and breakfast get away then I recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanark
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
18.4 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
9.4 mi away
Perth Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Tay Inn
Tay Inn
#2 of 5 in Perth
80 reviews
4.8 mi away
Circa 1894
Circa 1894
#1 of 4 in Lanark
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast

Address: 131 Mill St., Lanark, Ontario K0G 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lanark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lanark
Price Range: $123 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic B&B c. 1840. Elegant, historic and quiet. Situated on the 3rd hole of Timber Run Golf Club and along the Clyde River. 10 min drive to Perth and 55 min west of Ottawa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clyde Hall Bed And Breakfast Lanark, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing