We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place - east of Toronto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1847 Wine & Beer Bistro - CLOSED

1847 Wine & Beer Bistro
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: 1847 Is a casual, neighborhood bistro, friendly and fun. Our seasonal menus feature modern 'farm to table' comfort food. We have gluten free and vegetarian options. Children's menu is homemade chicken fingers, mac and cheese or chef creates something they will love. We feature local music talent. Our classic cocktails with a twist are yummy, and are made from freshly squeezed juice, and our sangria is the best bar none. The food will keep you coming back.
Lindsay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place - east of Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nice place with a good menu selection. Attentive service and great food. Had pork tenderloin - but everyone enjoyed their meal. Not a bad wine selection but an excellent list of beers available including by the flight. Busy place - make a reservation on the weekend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck_Garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    40
    26
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have been twice to this fairly new restaurant in Brooklin. Both times the food was great, the service was as well. The most recent visit was with my father, who is in his mid-eighties and likes nothing better than to joke and flirt with a pretty woman. Our waitress was a delightful young lady, who played right along and joked with my Dad. It made his day. This place is definitely worth a visit and we will be going again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We visited this restaurant for the first time last week. What a great find! The service was great, attentive without being intrusive. The food was tasty and portions were great. The wine list was also good. The only small thing was that the plates were not hot so our food did not stay warm for a long time. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucianozab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

1847 Bistro is an all around, perfect dining experience. If you are looking for a unique spot to have a delicious meal at an affordable price you must try 1847 Wine & Beer Bistro. My husband and I got married at the bistro a couple weeks ago and all the guests are still raving about spectacular everything was. Everyone at the bistro was so friendly and accommodating, we couldn't have been happier. Chef Rob and Pastry Chef Janine did a fabulous job, the food was divine. They were very catering to food allergies and had no problem creating a dishes that everyone would enjoy. Service was awesome, they were very attentive - making sure everyone was happy and the guests had everything they needed. We will be returning for many more fabulous meals !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Francine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVE this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Amazing food, great service and a huge variety of micro brewery beers.
What else could you ask for?
This place is wonderful and just what we needed in Brooklin.
Try the duck confit it's out of this world.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1847 Wine & Beer Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing