We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously???”
Review of 7 West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
7 West Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carleton Place
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously???”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Bed was old and springs creaked with every movement. No place to hang clothes so we hung them on the curtain rod in the room. We wore our shoes in the room because the carpet was worn and stained. Not sure if it was clean or not. Chairs in the room were stained so wouldn't sit on them. The water is sulphur water so used bottle water to brush our teeth. Air conditioner and fridge worked well. No hair dryer or iron

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
6
3
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Room was large though the carpet was old and worn. Reservation said 2 queens, received double and queen. Sheets were too small and coming off the mattress. No hair dryer and no place to hang clothes - no cupboard. Water smelled of sulfur even after running it for a few minutes. A note said this was well water. Bring bottled water to drink. Frig worked well. Did not try microwave that was in room. One of the blinds did not open. Quiet even though there were construction workers staying in rooms nearby. Owners are trying to do their best with an old run down motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryABCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carleton Place hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This motel is absolutely deplorable. First off, I had requested an extra cot for the room, but upon checking-in, the owner (an old, Asian man) did not understand the word "cot" and thought I was trying to cancel my reservation. It was very frustrating trying to communicate with him.
Once we got in to the room, we found that the first light switch did not work...or the second one. There was only 1 functioning light in the room besides the bathroom light (which was a cut-in-half, sideways mounted lamp...very unsightly). Also, the door to outside did not lock, so the chain lock on the inside was the only protection. Do not leave the room with valuables inside.
There were stains and cobwebs everywhere and the room smelled awful (I suspect because of the carpet, which was was disgusting).
The couch was torn up, stained, and filthy.
The bathroom was another nightmare. First off, the water is well water. It smelled strongly of sulfur and it was discolored. It left a slimy residue on your skin after use. Very unsettling. The sink was not installed properly, and practically dismounted when you turn a faucet handle. The shower was covered in mold and very, very, poorly cleaned. There was visible rust around the drain. We were nervous to even attempt to shower (for obvious reasons), but we quickly found out that that wasn't even an option because the pull level to activate the shower head was completely broken and this rendered the shower useless.
Walking on the carpeting on the other side of the shower wall also made loud noises in the bathroom, indicating very loose plumbing. It was more than a little annoying.
None of us slept under the covers because the sheets appeared to be filthy and were stained. Everything smelled.
The Wi-fi was hard to connect to and was very spotty. The TV worked fine though- the only plus of the entire stay.
Not only this, but the walls between rooms are paper-thin. We stayed next to what I can only imagine was a prostitute, who had a very busy night. I got maybe an hours worth of sleep before calling it quits and checking out at 6am.
Upon checkout, I went to talk to the owner about the shower not working and he was very unhelpful. He did not understand what I was saying and he just kept shaking his head. He did not offer any compensation of any sort.
Also, the featured restaurant was closed, not like I would've gone anyway, but it's worth noting.
I would never, ever recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: The window facing the highway has a very light blind- which makes it a bright stay at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014

The motel is old, restaurant closed, no makeups, dirty inside and out. Speaking English is hard for the persons running this place.Hot water is hit and miss, cutting grass and keeping the place neat and tidy is not a priority.

Room Tip: Want a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossrm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed On
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for one night while we went to an Ottawa Senators game. Motel is old and a bit dated but the staff was friendly, room was large and very clean. Handy to restaurants and a short 20 minute drive to Ottawa. Exactly what we expected for $89.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fluton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Dated motel but beds were comfortable. Clean rooms and baths. Very utilitarian which is what we wanted. Coffee in room and fridge. Road noise was not an issue. Did not go into the restaurant but there were no cars in parking lot and this was a long weekend. Close to many fast food franchises if you so desire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lizHErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carleton Place
Kanata
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#39 of 67 in Ottawa
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kanata
TownePlace Suites Ottawa Kanata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 West Motel

Property: 7 West Motel
Address: 10470 Highway 7, Carleton Place, Ontario K7C 0C4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Carleton Place
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carleton Place
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 7 West Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your 7 West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 West Motel Carleton Place, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing