We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience”
Review of Westwind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwind Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We found the inn by accident while driving in the area. The young lady, Abagail, at reception went all out to make us feel welcome and contacted her manager re:price. Her enthusiasm made it hard for us to say no so we signed in for one night. We have never been treated so well. The dining staff of Karen, Maegan and Janette also treated us like family. The morning we were to leave we talked to Karen and Janette and it didn't take much for us to decided to stay another night. We can't say enough about the caring of these four young ladies. The room had a view of the lake and was very peaceful. We are anxious to go back again. The setting for the Inn on the lake was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Thank you! What a nice review! Come and stay with us again.... we would love to have you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 241 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our bowling league just spend May long weekend at the Resort and had a great weekend - the rooms were beautiful with the gas fireplace and the overall resort was so cozy with all the antiques through the lodge. The staff were very polite and looked after all our neats - had a great hot tub Saturday night followed up with campfire with lots of good friends. Hopefully we will be there next year - Thanks again to all the staff

Room Tip: the rooms over looking the water had the best scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It is greatly appreciated. We enjoying having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Where do I begin…our league of about 50 people stayed at Westwind Inn last weekend. I can not say enough good things about this establishment. From the beginning stages of booking and organizing our weekend for such a large group, both Inga and Janette were amazing. They understood our needs and were so helpful accommodate and assist in getting everything prepared. Our whole league was very pleased with the entire weekend. The rooms are quaint and spotless. The fireplaces really give you that cozy feeling. Everything is so clean. The hot tub was cleaned every morning. The staff is constantly smiling and always so helpful. The food was delicious (especially the prime rib) and the service was second to none. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Sitting out at the bonfire each night was so much fun. While dinning the panoramic views of the lake are breathtaking. The staff and service score a definite 5+ stars. It doesn’t get any better than the staff at Westwind Inn.
I would recommend this resort to everyone. Can’t wait to go back again next year!!!!! Special shout out to some of their great staff Inga, Janette, Karen, Amanda and Matt. The rest of the staff were amazing as well unfortunately I can not name everyone. Thanks again Westwind for a great time. See you next year.

Room Tip: If a lakeview room is available take it. The view is amazingly beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words. A lovely review. We enjoyed having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Resort is a little dated (very old tv's, bathroom tile) but it was secondary to the time we spent outdoors. Jacuzzi was hot tub maintained. Lap pool to ourselves -a nice offering. Snowshoe trails
Aways groomed (after every snow fall...and there was lots). Ice rink also plowed and shovelled daily.Lots of equipt available included in price. Close to stores if you need to pick up wine or want to stop in for a hearty soup at local restaurant. The dining area was a little too cold for my liking even with the fire going (DRAFTY)...staff brought out a floor heater, but we just ended up moving to table closer to the fire. Staff very friendly (especially Karen) and the son-in-law of the owners who maintain the property. Night time security 'procedure' a little too lax for me...but im from the city..lol. Overall a nice stay but wouldnt stretch it past two days in winter...looks great for the summer. I would have been a little disappointed in the cost (high) if it were not for the vouchers. Overall a nice stay....could do much better in the rating if they upgraded a little. Chef-meals were VERY good...taste and presentation (duck and cheesecake especially)...give the man a raise! STAFF very accomodating but they had a problem with being short staffed at dinner time (people not coming out in the cold I guess..lol). I would like to try out the resort in a summer setting....but please upgrade the rooms...they are past being 'country and quaint'..and fall into the 'dated' category. Had a good time..will try it out in the summer if they do some upgrading. Thanks for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Winter stays....ask for room away fr main enterance as you are woken by contact ice picking and shov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for the kind words.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come and visit in the summer. There is so much to do. Free use of canoes, kayaks, rowboats, pedal boats.. and more. Sand beach, pool.

We do have upgraded rooms. Check out our website for photos. Many rooms have heart shaped jet tub for two, slate floors, fridge, kettle and more.

The chalet suites are lovely. Stone tile in the bathrooms, large jet tub.. Spacious guest room with pine floors, redwood cedar ceilings, lovely furniture... 4 poster bed. They are higher priced.

When we upgrade the room you rented the price will be increased as well.

We do not profess to be a luxury resort but a comfy cozy homey lodge resort filled with antiques. We get many repeat guests who appreciate what we offer including the rooms as they are.

In summer you will spend your days enjoying the great outdoors and hopefully not wish to watch tv at all. New TV's would not get any more stations.

Our family lives on site steps from the inn and monitors all activities so night time is very safe. No need for concern. Buckhorn is a safe sleepy little town with nice residents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife, 5-year old daughter and I stayed over Christmas 2012 and found a charming inn with great staff. We were the only guests, yet the restaurant was open and served delicious food. While there was no snow we enjoyed hikes through the woods and along the lake, still beautiful with the frost on the tundra like lichen and pines. An added was the waitress who spoke sign-language with our daughter who is mute and uses sign language to communicate.

We look forward to returning and found the price reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We just took a writing group to the Westwind Inn for a 5 day writing retreat in late October 2013. I can't say enough marvelous things about this place!

They worked with us to understand all our needs and requirements and then did their best to fulfill them and completely succeeded!

The location was great, the workshop space was very effective, the rooms were comfortable and conducive to quiet writing time, and the extra curricular activities in the area were varied and interesting. But it was the food, above everything else, that absolutely knocked our socks off. Meal after meal after meal the chef stunned us with his creativity and his presentation. The food was beautiful and delicious. Like eating in a 5 star restaurant.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. Bravo!

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms on the main floor are a treat (jacuzzi tubs), and the luxury rooms in the Chalet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Writergrrl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you Sue!!!! We couldn't ask for a nicer group!!!! And thank you for such a kind and generous review. Hugs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the inn this summer.  It's always just what we need to unwind.  The surroundings and setting are like no other place we've visited.  My husband hates going to the same place twice but after checking out the competition we always end up back at Westwind.  We love the grounds, the views, the lakefront, the nature trails, the dining room view, our cozy room and fireplace.  Oh and how could I forget the pool, what a great pool.  The staff are always so helpful and friendly, the owners go above and beyond, food is great and we can't wait return.  Fall is our favorite time, we always meet great people around the campfire.  See you soon and thank you for staying open while so many other resorts are disappearing.  I'm sure it's a tough business. 

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ineed2getoutofhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
9.9 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
106 reviews
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
396 reviews
19.7 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
203 reviews
5.6 mi away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beachwood Resort
Beachwood Resort
#1 of 10 in Lakefield
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Inn

Address: 37 Gallery on the Lake Road | County Rd 36, Fire Route 21, Buckhorn, Municipality of Trent Lakes, Ontario K0L 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Municipality of Trent Lakes > Buckhorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Price Range: $181 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwind is a cozy cedar lodge nestled under tall pines on pink granite rock at the waters edge in a spectacular wilderness setting. About 90 minutes from Toronto & easily accessible. Casual, unpretentious, comfortable. Family owned & operated year round providing nature, tranquility & relaxation. The main lodge offers 31 cozy log cabin style bedsitting rooms with sofa, fireplace, balcony, antiques & original art - 6 with heart shaped jet tubs for two. Common living room. Our chalet has 4 larger suites with many extra touches such as pine floors and cedar ceilings 4 poster bed, overstuffed sofa, larger balcony with a view, large jet tub, fireplace, fridge. They are popular for honeymoons & special occasions or the executive here on a retreat or conference. We provide a welcoming atmosphere with complimentary activities for every season, friendly staff, outstanding surroundings & superb lakeside dining. Majority of our clientele are repeat or referral, we hope you will become one also! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Westwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind Inn On The Lake Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Resort Buckhorn
Westwind Inn Buckhorn, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing