We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, cozy...one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Westwind Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westwind Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Certificate of Excellence
ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet, cozy...one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

i saw this deal on Travel Zoo for 2 nights and thought we would stay here as we were in the area. I called to ensure travelling with our well behaved small dog would be accepted, and was told there would be no problem.
When we arrived we were greated by a friendly staff. Our room was ready early. We were given a brief list of what to do and long list NOT to do with dogs. We should have left her at home as the list of what NOT to do was everything. We basically sat (in very uncomfortable chairs) on our balcony and read. After we decided to ignore the list and took her for a walk on the deck and sat watching the water and sunset with a glass of wine(another not)
The next day a couple arrived on second floor above us and promptly turned on the air. It was very cool and not required. We could not sit out on the balcony and read as it was extremely noisy. The couple argued outside in the evening and stayed awake until after midnight walking around opening and closing the patio doors. This definitely was not the quiet time we had the night before. Perhaps this couple should have been given a list of don't s and not our dog.
We would never stay here again, however it is beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed watching the boats in the locks and having a picnic. I recommend the Gallery on the Lake next door to view many original painting.
Rooms are worn and need to be updated. We did not participate in the meal plan as we thought it too expensive and we could not leave the dog in the room alone.(another rule)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladygolferontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words.

The problem with these deep discount travel sites is the ridiculously low rate they suggested we charge in a slow time brings people who could otherwise not afford to say here much less eat here even with food vouchers for $40. Discount Coupon people will never come here at our regular price or even at a special price as they seek rock bottom discounts. The meal plan is $60 per person for a full hot breakfast and 3 course dinner including steak, seafood, lamb.... and with a $20 voucher per night it is only $50 each.. for the TWO delightful meals served in a lovely dining room with a breathtaking view. But like you said you will never come back because you cannot afford the meals as is the same case with most discount coupon users.

The rule about alcohol is same at most restaurants and licensed areas. The deck where you sat with a glass of wine is licensed to serve alcohol and we would have happily served you a nice glass of wine if you requested. But you are not allowed to bring your own there. Dogs are not allowed on or in licensed areas either.

We do allow dogs at at this point but unfortunately not all people like dogs, some even fear them and hate them. Read the review below yours. I think they were couple who above you. It sounds like them. They were not happy people and were not pleased that we allowed dogs.

And yes, we have rules for dogs and they are basically common sense. Our beach is small and dogs are not permitted there because it is a popular place for guests to relax and enjoy privacy, peace and quiet. But there are plenty of places for you to enjoy with your dog. The boardwalk with seating, the docks have benches, the meadows also. The hammocks for two tucked away under the trees. Lots of nature trails.

Only the beach, swimming pool, hot tub areas and decks where people relax are out of limits. That is reasonable. Most hotels and resorts state that you cannot leave a dog in the room unless it is crated. Many dogs scratch the door, rip up the carpet and howl when the owners abandon them in a strange unfamiliar room. Rules are a must. Some people are inconsiderate and that is why most resorts do not accept pets... Maybe we should reconsider it also.

You were given a “pet friendly” room. There are nicer rooms at a higher rate, but what was worn? Bedspreads? We remove the expensive quilts. Pet room bedspreads are washed and washed. Most people are so grateful and happy to learn we accept pets that the rules don’t bother them. I am sure you can find a low cost pet friendly cottage resort more suitable to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    53
    22
    25
    15
See reviews for
26
139
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at the Westwind Inn. Location is tranquil; waterfront is lovely. Inn staff are friendly and helpful; room was clean. Beds was comfortable.
However, we felt let down on several counts. We had been at the Inn about 12 years ago; nothing has changed. While maintenance is visible, nothing to bring the rooms or the Inn into current day decor or services. Rooms are stale-dated: outdated linens, thin towels, linoleum bathroom, worn carpets (some places musty). Website shows upgraded rooms...but we imagine that these are the 3 (or 6?) Chalet rooms. We stayed in the Lodge, where there are with 30 rooms.
We paid a premium for waterfront view -- but really no point; certainly would not recommend this. Balcony was small, and encumbered by window air conditioning unit which took space onto the balcony; and old fashioned slatted framing obstucted the view of the lake when sitting on our plastic deck chairs. Surprised to see that guests had pets on premises; this was frustrating when late in the evening as we heard the dog in the unit below us. Dining room experience was inconsistent - good one evenng; very mediocre the next night; breakfat was just "OK".
With the room and meal plan (breakfast and dinner) the weekend was $1000 ( this did include taxes and obligatory gratuities). I did not consider this to be good value at all. It is very doubtful that we will return in the future, despite the lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goenywhereonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
You were here about 12 years ago and you say nothing has changed. What should change? The inn was built in 1986 and that is relatively new as far as resorts, lodges and country inns go where many are over a century old. We strive for the Old Rocky Mountain Lodge look... rustic... not luxury... comfortable, cozy, lots of antiques rather than new sterile décor.

We have 31 rooms in the main lodge and 6 have been updated with new spa bathrooms with slate floor, pedestal sink, 2 person heart shaped jet tub, cedar lined walls. Unfortunately we simply do not have the funds to redecorate all the rooms and why should we.. That is the least of our worries. Our regular repeat guests come here time and time again because the lovely quiet setting that is becoming so hard to find these days. Would it really make a difference if we had granite instead of linoleum in the large spacious bathrooms? Maybe one day if we survive we will, but for now we are thankful to pay the mortgage, the hydro , propane, staff wages while we as owners do not take a wage. We shampoo the carpets regularly. The linoleum is seamless, easy to sanitize and in perfect condition. Again, we don’t claim to be a luxury boutique hotel.

The chalet was built in 1997 by Linwood homes and we and most people think it’s lovely. 4 suites with large air jet tub, large balcony, pine floors, stone tiles in the bathroom. 4 poster bed.

Most people appreciate having a sliding glass walkout to a balcony deck with a view. Traditional cedar railings are timeless... as I said, Old Rocky Mountain Lodge look and feel. Lots of lovely seating on lawns and decks outdoors though plus hammocks for 2.

The air conditioners are costly thru-the-wall units, the only option available and are being replaced as needed.

Yes we allow pets these days. Many places do now in this economy. Only a few rooms and few dogs at a time.

We have been getting many compliments on the food and the chef was the same one for both your meals so a puzzle why you didn’t enjoy the next night. Breakfast also gets lots of compliments. Juice, fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, eggs benedict, french toast, choice of eggs...pancakes, home fries, bacon, sausage, coffee/tea.

I hope you find what you are looking for. It is not as though we are losing a regular guest as you say you were here about 12 years ago but I suspect its longer. Next visit might have been 2025?

But what should change as you suggest other than replacing wear and tear which we do??? Try Deerhurst or Taboo both operated by huge corporations. Do a search seeking modern accommodation. I am sure you will find many to chose from.

It’s a struggle making a living and we are considering retiring and selling for land value to a developer who will build large lakefront mansions or redevelop as a corporate retreat. We have 1/4 mile of scenic lakefront and 65 acres with a pond. One fewer resort. Less nature and lakefront for the public to enjoy. Food for thought.

PS I was browsing the Globe and Mail, Aug 9 edition and noted a $7 millon home in Toronto’s Windfield Estates for sale. Taxes $29,038.

Would you be surprised that our annual taxes are significantly more? For that we have to provide our own water, sewage, garbage removal, snow removal, road maintenance, backup generators for frequent power outages, no mail delivery. Do you think we pay the same as you city dwellers do for energy?....think again ...another $50,000+/year.

P.S since your last visit 12 years ago, we installed a new swimming pool, bought a 24’ pontoon boat, hydro bikes, added the spa rooms ... a boardwalk by the lake, lots more gardens.. statuary, lawn furniture... benches.. many new hammocks for 2 and behind the scenes expenses... new roofing, paint, stain, fridges, freezers, commercial air conditioner... quilts, 4 poster beds... I could go on and on and on.

Regards

owner

Kristi & family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Inn. The Inn itself and our room were spotless and the staff were pleasant, friendly, and helpful when needed. The grounds/gardens were beautiful and well maintained, as was the beach and swimming pool. We had a room overlooking the lake and it was so pleasant sitting on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine and watching the boats heading for the locks. We opted to include our meals with the room and were not disappointed. Breakfast was a standard buffet, and dinners were definitely a great gourmet experience. Lots to see in the area such as Fenelon Falls,Bobcaygon, Kawartha Winery; all a short distance away. Probably the most peacefull and relaxing getaway we've had in a long while. We highly recommend Westwind Inn on the Lake.

Room Tip: Recommend a lakeview room. A trip to Bobgageon or Fenelon Falls is worth the short drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karageen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. They are greatly appreciated by my family and staff who work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. The nicest people make the nicest comments! We will be very pleased to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the "honeymoon" suite chalet. What a view of the lake, what a breath taking place for a nice romantic quiet getaway from the big city. The room was very clean the king bed was omg so huge and comfy!!! It was a bit expensive for what you get in terms of a room but nice. It was so quiet it was unreal. We opted for the meals included which was a breakfast buffet. It was good enough for breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, french toast 2 kinds of cereal and yogurt, cut up fresh fruit. My only beef is that breakfast didn't start until 8:30am. For lunch we were on our own and on the second day discovered a pub on the marina in buckhorn with great grub food. Dinner was ok nothing out of this world unfortunately the set menu doesn't change much. The only item that had changed on the second night was the catch of the day and the soup. My husband had the sirloin steak which was ok but not a nice grill flavoured steak very plain, I had the catfish which was good. The servers were wonderful so polite, attentive and caring.
The grounds are very well kept and clean no cobwebs nothing you would expect in the country. We will definitely go again, not with the meal package next time.....I think we may have found our hide out

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schoolchef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. They are greatly appreciated by my family and staff who work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. The nicest people make the nicest comments! We will be very pleased to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Westwind Inn exceeded all of our expectations for a beautiful and romantic weekend. We spent July 26-28/2013 in a Chalet Suite and we were spoiled by the beautiful room and lakeside setting. We opted for the included breakfast/dinner upgrade and we were not disappointed. Both meals were delicious and filling. We spent most of the weekend in the hammock with our books with breaks spent on the water using the paddle and row boats. Staff were pleasant and helpful and we felt incredibly relaxed and pampered by our stay. We will return yearly to celebrate special occasions and to relax by the lake. Thank-you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Try upgrading to the chalet rooms for a romantic treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraDanOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. They are greatly appreciated by my family and staff who work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is the fourth year that I have spent a week with my Mom at the Westwind. We LOVE this getaway spot! It's very close (less than 1.5 hrs from Newmarket) and is a fabulous place to stay. The rooms are lovely and air conditioned - these are regular hotel rooms with air conditioning etc. not a cabin style holiday. The Inn sits right on a gorgeous lake and the Westwind offers canoing kayaking, paddle boats and bikes and boat tours as well as great fishing,.
The dining room is truly 'fine dining' and a lovely breakfast is also available, buffet style. There is a great little pool for dipping which gets great sun morning until evening.
The thing I love most about this Inn is that it is meant for ADULTS. It is QUIET! Most of the guests are readers - quiet couples or adults with their parents.
The service is outstanding!
We plan to go back again next year, for our fifth year in a row. I highly reccommend this Inn for those looking to be outside, in a calm and peaceful environment and wish to enjoy a fine dining experience nightly.
Karen Kalpin

Room Tip: For an even quieter experience ask for a room on the TOP floor - the Inn is very quiet but of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zapppa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely warm review. You and your mother are a delight to have here. So friendly and cheerful. I love that you love my little dog.... so sweet of you! We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again from my family and staff who work so hard to make your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Westwind Inn has clean rooms with firm beds and comfy pillows. The A/C units are nice and quiet; they don't turn on with a disturbing clunky noise like so many of the old A/C units. I did wish the showerheads were adjustable, but the shower worked fine. The staff was incredibly friendly, especially Melanie at the front desk. The surroundings are peaceful and quiet. If you come to the Westwind Inn, it's because you know you'll take advantage of the facilities; canoes, kayaks, hydro-bikes, trails, swimming pool, etc. That is what you are paying for. If you do not wish to partake in those activities, then the rates are a waste of your money. If you need cell phone reception and internet connection in your room, these are spotty. If you enjoy spending your evenings relaxing in front of the T.V., then this location is not for you as the channels are limited. You need to understand the type of Inn that you are booking; the Westwind is great for those who want to be outdoors.

The meals were absolutely delicious. Kudos to the chef! We enjoyed salmon, grilled chicken, perfect vegetables and yummy desserts. Breakfast was a buffet for two of our mornings and we were very pleased with the selection. Coffee was superb.

Now, I will explain the reason why I did not give 5 stars to Westwind. But, this is a reason why I could not give 5 stars to *any* resort in cottage country in Ontario. I was on a getaway with my elderly mother whose mind is still quick, but whose body isn't. She must use a walker to get around. Although there are accessible rooms at Westwind, there is a ramp to the ground floor rooms and the dining room is also on this level (and this is why we chose it; you wouldn't believe how difficult it is to find a getaway for my mom who still loves, and deserves, to travel), the grounds are not accessible. Now, we did know this when we decided to book - it is stated clearly on their website - so this isn't so much a complaint, as it is a wish. Resort owners in Ontario would do *so* much to increase their clientele if they would invest in some paved pathways on their property. It wouldn't have to disturb the natural surroundings and it would add so much more to the resort. The staff at Westwind were all so kind, though. We were asked several times if we needed any help, and how we were enjoying our stay. I was even able to drive my mom down the gravel laneway close to the lake, and from there we were able to get her onto the wooden boardwalk - we enjoyed a lovely peaceful afternoon sitting and reading by the water.

All in all, a lovely time at the Inn. For things to do, nearby in Buckhorn we spent some time watching the boats at the Buckhorn lock. Lakefield is about 25 min. away; the main street is quaint, but not too many interesting shops. We visited the Gallery/Art Store beside the Inn (Gallery on the Lake), but I highly suggest you check my review before visiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor. The floors are really creaky and if you're on the ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
9.9 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
18.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
10.8 mi away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
24.0 mi away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.5 mi away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwind Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Inn

Property: Westwind Inn
Address: 37 Gallery on the Lake Road | County Rd 36, Fire Route 21, Buckhorn, Municipality of Trent Lakes, Ontario K0L 1J0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Municipality of Trent Lakes > Buckhorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buckhorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwind is a cozy cedar lodge nestled under tall pines on pink granite rock at the waters edge in a spectacular wilderness setting. About 90 minutes from Toronto & easily accessible. Casual, unpretentious, comfortable. Family owned & operated year round providing nature, tranquility & relaxation. The main lodge offers 31 cozy log cabin style bedsitting rooms with sofa, fireplace, balcony, antiques & original art - 6 with heart shaped jet tubs for two. Common living room. Our chalet has 4 larger suites with many extra touches such as pine floors and cedar ceilings 4 poster bed, overstuffed sofa, larger balcony with a view, large jet tub, fireplace, fridge. They are popular for honeymoons & special occasions or the executive here on a retreat or conference. We provide a welcoming atmosphere with complimentary activities for every season, friendly staff, outstanding surroundings & superb lakeside dining. Majority of our clientele are repeat or referral, we hope you will become one also! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Westwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind Inn On The Lake Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Resort Buckhorn
Westwind Inn Buckhorn, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing