We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Langenhof Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Riebeek-West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in one of the spacious Garden rooms. Very quiet, private with lovely large terrace. Open plan bathroom with stand alone bath, separate shower and toilet. Excellent location for a stroll around the quiet and very attractive leafy streets in Riebeek where there is lots of bird life - as well as in the garden at De Langenhof.
Standard bed size perhaps surprising but crisp sheets, TV with good channel coverage safe and fridge. Ample safe parking inside the grounds.
We had made arrangemants with Gail to have dinner on our first night and it was a most pleasant experience. Sat in the large verandah. 2 courses, Lamb chops and crepes with local wine from Pulpit Rock (I can recommend their Pinotage)
Excellent breakfasts as previously reported. We really enjoyed the home made marmalade and lovely cool, minted water on a warm morning.
Enjoyed our lengthy conversations with Gail - who is the perfect hostess. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 129 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

De Langenhof was everything the website and brochures promised, and more.
Sparkling clean rooms, crisp linens, fanatical fantastical breakfasts made for a peaceful luxurious stay. It IS the little things that count to make one feel at home. Gail has mastered this art. Well done - truly the best stay I had for a long time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElizeJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

De Langenhof is such a stylish home, wine farmhouse, retreat and breakaway, right in the heart of wine farm country, that you will think you are in the South of France. The Northern slopes of the Riebeek Kasteel mountain ensures a charming garden of rich diversity. Elegant outdoor breakfasts, lazy afternoons by the pool surrounded by aromatic herbs and fish ponds. Gail and Mike will really take good care of you with their personal and relaxed style of hospitality. I was there for a family wedding at nearby legendary wine estate Allesverloren. Further cheese farms, olive farms, fruit produce and crafts are other great local attractions.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I saw were charming. You may prefer a room opening onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamlamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having given very little notice of our need of a room for the night we were given a very warm welcome by Gail on our arrival . The bedroom was very clean and comfortable but we never did learn how to work the TV, but then it might be an age thing!
Mike prepared our delicious breakfast which was served on the veranda, allowing us to see all the wonderful birds in the garden feeding.
We received a lot of information on the area and best places to eat, nothing was to much trouble
for Gail. Hope to stay again when next in South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 815,786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not everyone meets you at the door with a cold glass of water, exactly what I needed.

tranquil atmosphere having breakfast on the veranda with view over fragrant garden.
the sliced fruit with the breakfast had so many varieties, complimenting each other perfectly.
the main breakfast, very well prepared and tasty.

room spacious and stylish, enjoyed the option to select a DVD's.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

As a frequent business traveller living out of a suitcase regularly it is so lovely to stay at a place, so beautiful and elegant as De Langenhof, where you still feel comfortable to kick off your shoes and walk around barefoot. Gail and Mike do everything in their power to make you feel at home, and the only thing better than Mike's breakfast is the view from the wraparound stoep where you sit and eat. Already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are tastefully decorated and Very comfortable Loved the garden and especially the pool with its gazebo to provide much needed shade. The hosts were friendly and very helpful in terms of all the great places to eat in the area. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lottimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riebeek-West hotels
0.1 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
370 reviews
0 mi away
Church Hills Boutique Guest Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Merindol Manor
Merindol Manor
#3 of 7 in Riebeek-West
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dennehof House
Dennehof House
#4 of 7 in Riebeek-West
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to De Langenhof Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Langenhof Guest House

Address: 18 Lang St | Western Cape, Riebeek-West 7306, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek-West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Riebeek-West
Price Range: $72 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Langenhof Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Riebeek Valley, approximately an hour's drive from Cape Town. This elegant country accommodation is set in a mature garden with restful water features and ample space for quiet reflection. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms are fitted with quality linen, air-conditioning, Satellite TV & DVD players. Enjoy breakfast on the veranda. Relax at the large pool and quaint pool house in summer, and in the comfortable lounge by the fireplace in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Langenhof Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing