We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Langenhof Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Riebeek-West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

As a frequent business traveller living out of a suitcase regularly it is so lovely to stay at a place, so beautiful and elegant as De Langenhof, where you still feel comfortable to kick off your shoes and walk around barefoot. Gail and Mike do everything in their power to make you feel at home, and the only thing better than Mike's breakfast is the view from the wraparound stoep where you sit and eat. Already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
56
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are tastefully decorated and Very comfortable Loved the garden and especially the pool with its gazebo to provide much needed shade. The hosts were friendly and very helpful in terms of all the great places to eat in the area. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Most enjoyable stay at this welcoming & homely guest house. Great veranda & lounge with roaring fire has a convivial & relaxing atmosphere where you soon get chatting to hosts & other guests. Basking in the gorgeous Winter sunshine at the pool, surrounded by the fragrant garden, was a real treat. The rooms are comfortable & beautifully decorated.

It is an interesting & picturesque area to visit, with a number of good restaurants, quaint shops and historical sites, without being the usual tourist trap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I and our girl went to De langenhof this passing weekend, to relax and get away from the hoots and toots of the CBD. With this in mind I experienced a relaxing and peaceful environment. Being in the hospitality industry myself I am very particular of service and standards, and i could not find fault with this establishment. The hostess namely Gail was informative and friendly on arrival and departure. I will definitely visit this establishment again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelands, Cape Town
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night and had a very convenient garden room, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lovely attention to detail with a beautiful fresh rose and even port and chocolates in our room. We were treated to a sumptuous breakfast and enjoyed the friendliness and hospitality of the owners. A place worth visiting in a lovely setting.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We loved our stay at De Langenhof Guest House. We had a garden room and it was beautiful - with a bathroom to die for! Our hostess Gail went out of her way to help us - booked a restaraunt for our dinner and even made special gluten free bread for me to have with breakfast. I would recommend this guest house to anyone who appreciates comfort and attention to detail.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveM704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

OVERALL: the room and establishment was incredibly clean, beautifully furnished and well equipped with basic amenities. The fact is it’s just not worth the room rate.

ROOM: We stayed here for one evening in a twin room. On arrival we received a coldish welcome form the owner. The twin room was incredibly small with little space for moving around. The DSTV was not working and when approached the owner could not rectify the problem. There was a clock in the hallway outside our door which chimed one every hour which subsequently woke us up continuously during the night and made our stay quite unpleasant.

BREAKFAST: The breakfast was disappointing considering the room rate and what I have received elsewhere at the same price. I asked for fried aubergines and when my plate arrived I was given two pieces each the size of a 5 rand coin. It was actually quite a laugh. Also we were each given one piece of toast and then asked afterwards if it was enough.
When we left we were asked quite rudely by the host if we had taken anything form the courtesy bar as if we were dishonest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPWfmPE, Owner at De Langenhof Guest House, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Iloveshoesalot

This was the first time that the DSTV did not work (ie, it wasn't as if the problem had been around for a while). Mike checks all TVs and decoders in every room before guests arrive. He did apologise and offered to try and fix it; the apology was accepted in good grace and the offer to fix it declined, as your partner suggested you would then watch some of our DVDs. Mike has since driven into Cape Town and had the DSTV decoder repaired.

We apologise that the chiming of the grandfather clock woke you and will, from now on, switch it to silent at night.

Apart from our fresh fruit, sometimes stewed fruit, fruit juices, yoghurts, milk, 4 cereals and 2 mueslis, our cooked breakfast is, we think, quite a reasonable variety, namely, eggs, bacon, sausage, creamed mushrooms, fried tomato and fried brinjal. We do only provide 2 pieces of brinjal per plate, but guests are always welcome to request more of anything. We do check to ensure everything is in order. As I prefer to get my toast hot, I often ask if I should bring a slice each and then check later, or bring 4 slices at the same time. I apologise if I did not put that question to you, although I do always ask if guests would like more toast, whether a or not they've had 1 or 2 slices already.

We apologise you thought us rude when asking if you'd had anything from the courtesy bar. We ask, as guests often forget to tell us; we do not think that they intentionally leave without paying.

I am sorry that you felt we were overpriced, especially as we have not increased our prices since September 2010.

Kind regards
Gail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Riebeek-West hotels
0.1 mi away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dennehof House
Dennehof House
#3 of 5 in Riebeek-West
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Hills Boutique Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Merindol Manor
Merindol Manor
#1 of 2 in Riebeek-West
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to De Langenhof Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Langenhof Guest House

Property: De Langenhof Guest House
Address: 18 Lang St | Western Cape, Riebeek-West 7306, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek-West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Riebeek-West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Langenhof Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque Riebeek Valley, approximately an hour's drive from Cape Town. This elegant country accommodation is set in a mature garden with restful water features and ample space for quiet reflection. Beautifully decorated en-suite rooms are fitted with quality linen, air-conditioning, Satellite TV & DVD players. Enjoy breakfast on the veranda. Relax at the large pool and quaint pool house in summer, and in the comfortable lounge by the fireplace in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Langenhof Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing