We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant, Very cramped accommodation. Rating refers to dining experience.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Thursford B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

You will get a friendly welcome here. Colin, his wife and staff did all they could to make us feel at home. It is a bit of a Jekyll and Hyde establishment as the restaurant is excellent but the accommodation is very cramped so I split my review into two parts.

RESTAURANT.
Colin is main chef and is clearly accomplished. The food was good and the portions enormous. My main course was delicious but I couldn’t eat it all as there was so much. I did manage to fit a dessert in though…. Everywhere was very clean and Colin came personally to ensure we were enjoying the food. He is very amusing with a big personality. Previous reviews have said he was a little overbearing but I found him to be good company and entertaining. If you are a retiring type or less social I can understand that he might seem a little awing but that is how head chefs should be. The restaurant is a bit dated but I found it more charming for that. It is the real deal and it is for that I give the venue four stars.

ACCOMODATION.
Ooops, this is the venue’s Achilles heel. The rooms are definitely below average. My room was very cramped. I had to walk in sideways because the wardrobe blocked the entry. The light pull was not near the bed. There was a wood roof beam which blocked the route from the bed to the toilet meaning one had to duck severely, awkward in the dark. The washbasin is small and crammed in the corner of the room. The toilet is electric and briefly noisy so during the night you could hear the other guests using theirs. The shower had virtually nil flow and impossible temperature control. Everything was very clean but one gained the impression costs had been cut severely on the room etc. The accommodation I would give two stars verging on one.

I would like to eat here again but definitely would not stay overnight again. Shame, as it would be good if the rooms were improved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 96 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Would not recommend this establishment to anyone, manager extremely rude, food awful, and rooms you could not swing a cat in, would never stay again.
Food served on cold plates and when complained the owner made a big thing about it and humiliated me in front of other guests, he did ask was everything alright, so I told him it was not, obviously does not like criticised.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SueHay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and myself stopped here for one night and had an eveing meal in the restraurant. The food and service in the restraurant was excellent and friendly.Breakfast was tasty and fresh. The room was nice and clean. i would recommend a stay here to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PShrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed the night and had a meal in the restaurant with friends, the meal was very good, and for the price the accomodation is good but basic and comforteable. It is perfect for a visit to a lovely area and only ten minutes from the Chritmas spectacular which is handy for after show drinks. The meal and breakfast in the morning are good local products. Thanks Colin and Sarah and will book next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigglesNorfolk, Manager at The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and we wish you a happy new year and hope you had a great Christmas. Incidentally, anyone who is reading this review please note that we are only three minutes away from the show not ten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed the night at The Old Forge and had a great time. Our room was nice, a little basic maybe but a comfortable bed and an en suite bathroom. The meal though was an amazing experience, everything was perfect in this small intimate restaurant. Breakfast in the morning was equally as good and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wednesday7pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay to visit the Spectacular. Food is, as always, amazing. Colin and Sarah are really welcoming and friendly and Colin (the chef) always takes the trouble to talk to the diners to ensure they are happy with their meal.

Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked the Old Forge for the second time, last night, before going on to the Just so good
Thursford Spectacular and received the same warm welcome as before (Xmas 2010).
Friendly staff showed us to our table and in no time Sarah was at our side just checking all was OK. Although it seems a strange time to eat, (4.30 ) our taste buds were soon buzzing with the
choices on the very full menu. I won't bore you with what we all eat but the 4 of us were really happy ( and Full) I know I shouldn't have but the Bread & Butter Pudding was crying out to be tasted so 1 ordered and 4 spoons , we all agreed that it was delicious.
Colin (chef a title he does not use) just checked every so often that all was OK.
Living in Norfolk we are very lucky to have many good Restaurants. But I can't wait for the spring/ summer to try one of Colin's, Fruit de Mer If it is half as good as last nights it will be wonderful.
Thanks to Colin, Sarah and the Staff

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thursford
1.6 mi away
Wensum Lodge Hotel
Wensum Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fakenham
178 reviews
15.9 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
845 reviews
3.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
YHA Wells-next-the-sea
#2 of 6 in Wells-next-the-Sea
86 reviews
11.0 mi away
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
#3 of 6 in Cley Next the Sea
478 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Elmham
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fakenham Road, Thursford NR21 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thursford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thursford
Price Range: $84 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant And Bed And Breakfast Thursford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing