We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McWilliam Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were given a weekend stay in the McWilliam hotel as a gift. It's a nice modern hotel, in Claremorris. We happen to be there on one of it's music weekends so it was pretty busy. The rooms were of a good size with a nicely appointed bathroom. One downside was that the beds were so very uncomfortable I even popped into the single bed in the room and it was no better.
The leisure facilities are very nice to use and nice and clean. The Jacuzzi area is very pleasant.
We made a lot of use of the leisure facilities in the hotel as the weather was so bleak and there is not much to do in surrounding areas in such bad weather.
The breakfast was just okay, you had to order your hot items from a server as opposed to helping yourself and on both days we had the breakfast the server got the order wrong.
All in all it was a pleasant enough stay but I don't think I would travel the distance again to stay there

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 742 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean. Comfortable beds and spacious rooms. The only problem is there is no air conditioning in the rooms. This probably only applies though to the one week of the year we had sun! Breakfast was lovely. We were late down but staff went out of there way to get us a full irish.
The restaurant is nice just don't order steak! The menu could do with a few more choices but generally food is good. We had an issue with the meal which the staff resolved. Good value for money in the restaurant. Hotel was very busy which is a good sign but staff were well able to cope. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank TracyK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had a lovely weekend stay in the McWilliam in March 2014 - the hotel is lovely and spotlessly clean, the staff are chatty and helpful and the food is really nice. Only one tiny downside that stopped me from giving it five stars and that is that there's no wifi in the rooms, which is kind of expected these days. But otherwise a lovely stay in a lovely hotel - couldn't recommend the McWilliam highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineFahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights for my sons wedding. Hotel is spotlessly clean and very conveniently located just off the N17 but within comfortable walking distance to the centre of Claremorris for shops , bars etc. The staff are first class, friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a meal in the restaurant o Friday night and the food and service were first class. There were almost two hundred guests at the wedding and they were all wholesome in their praise for this hotel and its staff. First class location, first class facilities and a first class staff. We shall be back!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms well away from the bar and function room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Was our first time to stay in the hotel and we are already planning a trip back. The staff were all friendly and very efficient. The room was spacious,clean and had everything you could possibly need for a stay! The only things we really needed to pack was our clothes.....everything else was available was it needed. We had our 4 course dinner in the restaurant.....the food was absolutely fantastic....as was our breakfast the next morning. But I think for me what really won me over aside from the friendliness of the staff, the dinner that was fit for royalty and the variety of choice for breakfast had to be value for money.....for €49.50 each we had bed &breakfast, full use of leisure centre which is fantastic as well and a four course dinner.....I would highly recommend this hotel and cant wait to return myself. TOP CLASS.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our second visit to the McWilliam Park Hotel. The first time we got a great deal on Groupon. The reservation staff were lovely - helpful & friendly, & nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was busy, with a lovely atmosphere. We felt welcome and all the staff were very pleasant. We have bought Groupon deals for other hotels, and were made to feel like 2nd class citizens, with a separate Groupon menu & shabby rooms, but this was certainly not the case at the McWilliam Park! For our 2nd visit, we took 4 friends along. We had a lovely meal in the bar on the Friday night - I would recommend the steak baguette! There was entertainment in the form of an accordion player/singer in the bar, or the option of joining the ceilidh in the dance hall for a charge of 10 euros. The breakfast was fantastic. Lots of fresh fruit, cereals & nuts & lovely wheaten bread, before tucking into a cooked breakfast. Our party of 6 had various different requests, and all were catered for. All in all, it was a lovely weekend & we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just want to comment on our stay.My husband and I stayed for a nite whilst enjoying the nightly entertainment.The rooms were lovly and clean and the reception staff very friendly. The dinner in the restaurant could be improved but the breakfast was superb.A young lady called Lorna served us and she was most pleasant.Extremely mannerly and polite and very efficous.The hotel is in an ideal location,close walking distance to town and not far from amenities.
There was one thing that disturbed me during breakfast and that was an arrogant approach a non national older waitress had with young lady waitressing that morning.Her tone and raised voice with her for no apparent reason was unacceptable.It put a damper on things.However all in all we had a lovly time and no doubt will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pegg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
93 reviews
15.6 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
278 reviews
5.5 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
172 reviews
19.8 mi away
Westport Country Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris F12 D1W3, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing