We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolute elcellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McWilliam Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
McWilliam Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“absolute elcellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I can only say this is a well run hotel at very reasonable price,on tuesdays you get a main course for €5 and there is good choice Even cup of te and biscuit free dont know how they manage to make money with those prices and a pleasent smile from all the staff highly recomend this hote,staff are very friendly,well done, MICHAEL DONEGAL TOWN

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael1Donegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good morning Michael

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your visit to the Hotel.

Our Tuesday €5 Lunch has become very popular and we are delighted with its success.

We are glad you commend our staff as we recognize that they are indeed an essential part of our success.

Look forward to see you back in the Hotel in the near future

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    176
    99
    34
    28
See reviews for
203
207
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The McWilliam can be accurately reviewed as a three star hotel.
The walls are thin and the furnishings sparse.
The staff tries hard but clearly the hotel is average in it's amenities.
The food and the service in the bar areas were good.

Room Tip: try to get an end room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingman826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Travelingman826

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our Hotel received its 4 stars from TAMS the body responsible for Hotel Classification in Ireland.
This was awarded and we receive regular visits to ensure we remain a 4 star standard.

We have a full maintenance programme to ensure all areas of the Hotel remain in the pristine condition that you would expect in a 4 star Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food and that you were well looked after by our staff.

We recognize that our people are our best asset and we are very lucky with the staff we have working at the McWilliam Park Hotel who are committed to delivering the best in customer service at all times.

May I wish you well in your travels and express our sympathies to all our friends in Boston at this troubled time for your city.

I look forward to see you back in Ireland and the McWilliams Park Hotel in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed here for just one night but found the hotel spotlessly clean with excellent staff and can report a good night's sleep. The hotel is well located on the edge of the town about a 10 minute stroll to the centre of things, its typical of a Celtic Tiger era property, imposing with loads of glass and a marble lobby complete with grand piano. I was on business and was given a Business Class room but to be honest, I couldn't see the business touches.

The room was large with a double bed, sofa, chairs a flat screen TV , tea and coffee making facilities and here's a nice touch - a DVD player. The bathroom had a shower as part of the bath and was spotlessly clean and well lit. All fairly standard stuff I would have thought for a Four Star property. The Leisure Centre was well equipped and the swimming pool and changing roooms were up to a high standard.

Despite the fact that functions were in progress the hotel was very quiet during the night with no noise as punters left or returned to their rooms. I left before breakfast so can't comment on the food save to say that I thought the dinner menu and room service menu looked quite expensive.

To sum up, you can't go wrong staying here if you're in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel where the function rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fingalflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Fingal Flyer
We are delighted to receive your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hotel.

It is important that our guests sleep well and are able to enjoy the day or whatever business they may have in the area.

Our lobby and foyer are striking and create a great first impression of the hotel so we are delighted you were impressed.

We feel our Business Class rooms are larger to allow a guest continue working if required.
Wi Fi and complimentary newspapers are all part of the Business Class.

I have however noted your comments and if you have any suggestions as to how we can improve this service please do get in touch.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future
Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I am not normally one of those people who write a review no matter how bad or good my stay was at a hotel but I am so enraged with the treatment we received I felt I had to warn people what to expect staying here - btw keep those expectations at your lowest!!!
Myself and my husband went away for easter weekend. We arrived on Friday late afternoon and waited to be checked in by the one and only recptionist who did about 10 tasks before addressing us. Checked in without hassle and went to our room which was pleasant enough - typical hotel room but not 4 star standard. We had our dinner in the bar that evening. The staff were pleasant but the food was not and certainly overpriced for what you got.
Breakfast the following morning was bog standard - nothing special or 4 star about it. I did 'enjoy' trying to cut through the yolk of my egg which my cutlery continously bounced off.
We had a very pleasant day out and about and decided to go out for dinner that night to avoid the hotel food.
There was a function on the saturday night - some musician was playing - but we thought nothing of it.
After a beautiful dinner and drinks in a neighbouring town we returned to the hotel about 11.30pm and then the fun began. As we approached the hotel the road outside was lined with cars but there was a young guy directing traffic at the entrance to the hotel so we figured those here to watch the show where being parked in specific areas to accommodate the guests - oh how wrong we were. That poor kid 'directing' cars was there for show and nothing else. We circled the car park and found no available spaces left so refusing to park our car on the roadside we had not option but to park outside the front door of the hotel in the drop down area.
We went inside and asked to speak to the manager to understand why as paying guests there was no areas marked for 'residents only'. The manager was pathetic, all he could offer was excuses and say sorry. That was after he told us it was our fault for coming back to the hotel so late. He did offer us his car park space but we asked him what would that solve??? What if another guest returned later than us? and where was he going to park his car? (You might think this a trivial matter but it was a simple request that management blew out of proportion). In the end we left our car outside the front door as it was the only safe place to park on the grounds of the hotel.
The following morning upon checkout, after a poor nights sleep from the blaring music, my husband approached reception and asked very politely to speak with the duty manager (given we were annoyed at our treatment the previous evening). The receptionist Jean dialled the manager's number and told him there was a rude man waiting for him in reception. She was on duty the night before and knew we were unhappy but she did not have the right to label my husband rude - god forbid someone should make a complaint!!! The day duty manager Alan was no better. He kept trying to fob my husband off and would not address any of his concerns. He also informed my husband that when there are such shows/functions in the hotel residents take SECOND place to the people attending the function. We raised the issue of the noise levels and were told we were the only people to complain. 2 mins later he said he spent from 7am to 9am that morning patrolling the hallways to ensure the drunk revellers stayed in their rooms and that others had complained. I don't know what school of customer service he attended (obviously none) but he needs some lessons to learn how to address complaints.
He did offer to cancel our bill but that is not why we complained. My husband asked for the bill so we could leave because talking to these idiots was not worth it. Alan kept insisting he didn't have to pay it and wouldn't pass the bill across. He was deliberatley trying to antagonise my husband to provoke him into doing something stupid. Eventually he was told go away we have finished talking to you and the bill was paid. During all of this I found shards of broken glass in the chairs in reception that I was about to sit on. I could only imagine what could have happened if a child climbed on that chair.......
We left that hotel completely disappointed and enraged and with the managing director's name so we can address this with him. We will never be back there again and I would only recommend staying here if you enjoy being treated as a second class citizen!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Guest664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
"Dear Guest664.

Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion of your stay at the McWilliam Park Hotel. We are very disappointed that your stay did not meet either your expectations or indeed our usual high standards of customer care and this is of great concern to us.

We have carried out an investigation of the issues raised by you which are not representative of the usual favourable reviews that we receive. We are satisfied that our managers and staff acted in an appropriate manner at all times.

As I said, this review does cause us great concern and should you wish to meet with me to discuss your grievances further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly here at the hotel.

With kindest regards

Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staff, Food, service, cleanliness & Entertainment was excellent - The McWilliams has it all. This is a top class hotel. Its exceptional service right across the board left us thinking why its actually not a 5 star hotel. By far the best hotel in Mayo and believe me we have been to them all. Breakfasts were brilliant. We had dinner and the service and food was just fantastic. We went to Brendan Shine & Jonny Brady and it too was a great night. We certainly will be back soon. It was a great week-end.

Room Tip: Can`t fault anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Good afternoon Carmel
I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Thanks also for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor

I look forward to welcoming you back to the McWilliam Park Hotel in the near future

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Accomodation : Superb....huge bedroom lounge and bathroom complete with whirlpool bath and underwater lighting.
Food: Delicious, hot, good value, excellent choice
Service & Staff: Prompt friendly and efficient
Entertainment: On the night was Patrick Feeney, excellent entertainment and dancing.
Overall couldn't fault this hotel in anyway.

Room Tip: Executive rooms......simply superb. Nothing forgotten. Great for business or holiday use
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoleyColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Coleman
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are glad you enjoyed the experience and hope that you will return in the near future

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just spent a great weekend of a Country Music festival at the McWilliam Park Hotel. An absolute great experience with the best of service and facilities. Great staff, very skilled and friendly. I would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faganman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi PJ
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the McWilliam Park Hotel.
Thank you also for posting a review on the site.

We work hard to make sure our staff are trained to provide the very best in customer service and your comments prove that it is indeed worthwhile.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.3 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
8.7 mi away
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
Cill Aodain Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
15.7 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 8 in Castlebar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Castlecourt Hotel
The Castlecourt Hotel
#7 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Property: McWilliam Park Hotel
Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing