We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great food and friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
McWilliam Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife, my son (6yrs) and I stayed for 5 nights on a B&B, no evening meal package just this week as did a lot of families availing of the same package. We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean with the room itself cleaned everyday and the beds made and clean towels in the bathroom.
The food from breakfast to evening meals and including bar-food was fantastic and presented by wonderful and helpful staff who went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking.
Pool and gym facilities were available to residents and were excellent.
The hotel is ideally located to take in all the activities we researched with only a short drive to Castlebar and Westport where there were plenty of activities for adults and kids alike.
But without doubt this hotels biggest asset is the staff who made our stay just perfect and we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 734 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed here on many occasions with work because its in a good location. But thats it for good things about this hotel now. The food is poor to say the least over priced.€9.50 for chicken salad starte!! Steak bap with onions and mushrooms , but when i got it there was neither in it . Rooms were good when new but now there just tired and dirty. tile's coming off bathroom floor gracked grout, wifi to low to work. Music banging out till all hours in morning , and not intrested in morning when i mentioned it. breckfast is just terrible. And at €79 corpret rate its total over priced need work and food need to improve alot especially breckfast.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms on second floor at opposite side to bar and music if ud like sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul121Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Service here was bad, arrived for a two night stay at 5pm on the Friday and given our room after the receptionist confirmed it was ready, but when we went to the room there were no blankets pillows or towels. the receptionist moved us to a different room which was ok. then had a meal in the hotel restaurant. I ordered the duck, think they killed the poor thing to soon he was tiny! I asked for plain mashed potato as opposed to the spring onion mash on the menu and was very disappointed to gear they didn't serve plain mash. For gods sake it's Ireland 4 million of us emigrated because we couldn't get plain mash we don't all like that fancy stuff, far from spring onion mash we were reared.! the room service was lousy also. On Saturday we received a knock at the door at 10.30 from the staff wishing to service the room and we asked if they could come back in an hour as we had a wedding to get ready for. Alarmed to find out they would be on a different floor and could not come back. More spring onion mash at the wedding meal with no option for plain mash, c'mon seriously is this a 4 star hotel. 260 euro for two nights plus evening meal for two, it's certainly priced like a four star hotel but without the service or quality. AVOID.!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeeJaysus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I was mostly impressed with my stay at the McWilliam Park - the room was large and airy with a comfy bed (though the heating had been left on by the housekeeping staff and so the room was oppressively hot on a warm Summer afternoon!) and the bathroom facilities were great with plenty of complimentary bathing goodies. We ate from the bar menu and the food was good, as was breakfast the next morning. The staff were lovely and I was delighted that they were locals who knew the area and gave us some tips and directions.

Location-wise Claremorris is small and the hotel seems to be a 'wedding' type hotel as I can't imagine there are too many tourists or locals flocking there given the size of the town it's in versus the size of the hotel. It's a little bit outside the town but within walking distance of a supermarket and you could probably walk to the main street within 10 minutes.

My two minor complaints would be that the television in the room was really poor with patchy reception and some parts of the room (the table and bedside tables) had not seen a duster in a long time. Neither of these things kept me awake at night of course, but when so much care is taken on every other detail of the hotel it's a shame to fall at the last hurdle. If I was in the area I'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was a great hotel nice rooms nice service and the bar was lovely and lively very nice ambience and friendly staff all round thumbs up

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a busy family hotel and the centre of alot of weekend activity in Claremorris. I stayed here with a friend recently for a weekend visit. Overall I found the place itself to be modern and clean and the room very comfortable. However, though all of the staff were very friendly, we did find the service lacked in professionalism - enough times to mention in a review. We also found there was nothing for us to do in Claremorris, so we ended up driving to Westport for a pint in Matt Molloy's instead! On arrival we waited more than ten minutes at the reception to be checked in. We were the only people arriving at that time! The clerk referred to my partner by her first name. I didn’t really like that familiarity, especially after the wait - we had no explanation as to why we were made wait - personal phone call or cash lodgement? Who knows? We were offered no explanation. The carvery tasted of soap - the serving chef did not rinse his utensils. Although the selection was good and well priced the lack of attention to hygiene ruined the meal and left us both felling ill. Breakfast is advertised in the elevators as a traffic light system. Green 7.30-8.30 guaranteed a seat. Orange 8.30-9.30 getting busy with Red 9.30-10.30 very busy. We arrived for breakfast at 7.30 both mornings and both mornings there were problems. The first morning there was no hot buffet until 8.50. This was also without eggs when it did eventually arrive. I don’t know about anyone else but we like to rise early and cram loads into the day. Timing is important. Like I said I would not have mentioned this accept it happened so often. All problems were service related and especially around the kitchen/food service. Day 2 the beans on the plate were cold. I mean freezing cold! The fry that morning was also overcooked and dry - clearly a left over from the morning before. It was inedible. The staff member who served us was obviously badly hungover, unwashed and unshaven. His manners were impeccible. But we were both rather annoyed that the whole effort was so shabby, half baked and below par. I also ordered room service on one of the nights. The phone was answered in reception 3 times and put through to 'Room Service'. All 3 times it rang off. Eventually I went downstairs myself and ordered in person. When on holiday, spirits are high and sometimes a treat in room service adds to the experience. After an hour and yet another bad service experience I rang down to the reception desk a fourth time and just cancelled the service. We had ordered nachos - how could they take an hour? You open a bag? At this stage - with no phone service and my having to go downstairs it was well over an hour and a half! We actually thought the service was so bad it was like Fawlty Towers. Almost funny. We were good humoured about it, but called it a night and went to bed with no nachos, looking forward to leaving the McWilliam the next day.Twenty minutes later the cancelled Nachos arrived. We were both asleep. I thanked the very helpful staff member and apologised. The porter had not been advised by reception / duty manager or whoever - they apologised for waking me and left unrewarded. If you need somewhere to stay and for some reason have to stay in Claremorris, by all means stay at this hotel. However be prepared to do some driving because Westport is really the best place to visit. It is truly a beautiful town. Claremorris is ok - it’s just there is not even a green area to walk in and enjoy the light - and the hotel itself - it will probably remain a focal point for the local community. I can’t see it competing on a larger scale. There are plenty of places to eat at a reasonable price in the town. Comfortable clean modern rooms, but definitely well below even a basic par on service. We also drove to Castlebar, which has everthing a modern town can offer. But for beauty, a huge variety of qualty and value places to eat, drink and play, Westport is the only place in Mayo we would stay in from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeGrandeFromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here midweek in January with friends. First impressions were positive, nice big car park, friendly receptionist etc but unfortunately thats where the positives ended. The corridor to our ground floor room was tired and worn, the room itself was very basic and had seen better days. Cabinet drawers hanging off the hinges, ancient tv etc. Oh and we had a lovely view of the car park.
We were horrified at the experience we had when we decided to check out the leisure facilities. Upon entering the leisure centre we quickly noticed there was some building work going on, we continued into the changing rooms and where shocked to find workmen strolling around while women and children were changing! In one corner of the swimming pool area was a 4 or 5 foot high pile of building rubbish and debris! There was literally kids running right alongside the workmens rubbish. Shocking.
After that horrendus scenario we decided to go for dinner only to be informed the restaurant would not be open but we could get food in the bar instead. The bar area was so depressingly dark we could barely see the menu. We each ordered different main courses and and later we could all be certain they were microwaved straight from a packet. Absoloutley dreadful.
There was no atmosphere in the bar at all, at one stage we were the only ones in the place. There wasnt even any music playing and the bar man kept popping off and leaving us waiting to be served.
Breakfast followed in the same footsteps as dinner. No selection. No service. We couldn't wait to leave!
Disgusting food, worn bedrooms, obvious health and safety risks and zero atmosphere. There is no way this hotel merits 4 stars. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Toyotacarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claremorris
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
90 reviews
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
Park Hotel Kiltimagh
#2 of 2 in Kiltimagh
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
Harlequin Hotel Castlebar
#2 of 9 in Castlebar
900 reviews
23.1 mi away
Westport Woods Hotel
Westport Woods Hotel
#11 of 14 in Westport
1,091 reviews
5.5 mi away
Knock House Hotel
Knock House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knock
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range: $67 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing