We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fine dining !”

The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
mayo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous fine dining !”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere wonderful food extensive wine list all teamed with excellent service. I am a regular customer and highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mulberry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    59
    29
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always great food!!! ”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Food is always great in the old arche! Eat here regularly and can't ever remember getting a bad meal.
It would be great if they changed the menu!!

Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyGirlMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Treat = Massive Let Down”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We arrived at the Old Arch on Sunday (Mother's Day), and waitied for 15 minutes while our table was being prepared. After being taken to our table, it appeared the table still wasn't ready as there were no place mats, side plates, condiments on the table, apart from cutlery rolled up in paper napkins and glasses. To add to the let down of the appearance of the table, it was not a table that should be used for dining at, especially in a restaurant where your are paying for comfort, atmosphere, good food and good service. There were bars that ran across the bottom of the table, just below the knee, which meant we were unable to put our feet under and we had to sit with our legs to the side of the chairs. The table was situated in a dark and horrible function room upstairs, away from the restaurant which was not acceptable especially when we had booked 4 weeks in advance - if there was no table free downstairs then we should have been informed that we would be situated elsewhere and given the opportunity to decline. This room was not suitable as it doesn't have a 'restaurant' feel to it and it came with poor table service as the waitress' spent most of their time downstairs serving in the restaurant. We were never informed that our table would be situated in this random room especially when we had to help our 85 year old Mum climb the stairs to get to it. After coming to terms that it was now 3.30pm and there was little chance of there being a lot else we could do, we decided to dine as the menu advertised on the website looked appetising. The menu was not what was on the website but the usual bog standard menu that a bar menu would offer so a fast turnover could be achieved. This menu was not what a restaurant should be offering and clearly showed they were out to grab as much money out of the day rather than maintaining the standard it had set in the past. There was nothing special about this menu or the food when it arrived. I am very angry that our day was wasted in this way and I would highly advise anyone looking to go out for a meal on special days such as Mother's Day, should ask for a table downstairs in the proper restaurant and to double check what menu they are offering before confirming to dine. I will not be dining at the Old Arch again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel878787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food is very good and has a great variety of dishes available. Also caters for gluten intolerant. The standard is consistent.
The decor is relaxing and calming.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflowers00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Serious food at seriously good value”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stopped by this restaurant today on route from Cork to Sligo. This has to be one of the best restaurants I have ever ate in. The food is just divine and at such cheap prices, even down to the taste of the tomato sauce is serious. Staff very friendly and the place is warm and inviting. Will definitely call again. This place is well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annasligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro also viewed

Claremorris, County Mayo
Claremorris, County Mayo
 
Ballyhaunis, County Mayo
 

Been to The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing