We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro

The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Claremorris
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Old Arch is a one-stop sure bet for your needs in Claremorris - it has a gorgeous bar area to have some drinks or even just coffee, and the restaurant has a varied menu of great food for lunch or dinner. The service is great, with very friendly staff with quick serving times.

My own comment is that I had the seafood salad, which was a bit pricey and not impressive, though the guinness stews and lamb roast my friends had looked fantastic.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marichan623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    27
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in Mayo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Restaurant has to be booked in advance, the food is all locally sourced and is a very high standard. We have gone here as a group and as a couple for an anniversary meal and the service is brilliant and the menu is mouth watering. Definitely worth a visit but book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAVINANNAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loads of spuds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have eaten here 2 or 3 times before, though not for a couple of years or so, and think the food has improved both in quality and presentation. The portions are very large, and usually contain potatoes in at least two forms. The staff are friendly and efficient, and our waitress actually checked back when we ordered a salad from another waitress, as she reckoned we hadn't realised how much veg we would get as accompaniments (she was right!) A nice thought that saved some money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiko457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Whenever I can get to Claremorris, I go for food here, it is very good and not overpriced and good sixe portions as well. Staff are extremely friendly and the service is top class. Have been for both lunch and dinner and both are well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank buletide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Sojourn in Claremorris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Finding myself in Claremorris at lunchtime recently I was advised to visit the Old Arch Bistro in the centre of the town. It was a good recommendation. I needed something not very heavy but adequate enough to keep me going until dinner.
I decided to take one of the lunchtime specials, the Beer-Battered Cod and Chips. This was accompanied by a glass of Sauvignon Blanc and the bill came to a very reasonable €15 which I thought was good value considering the high quality of the food. The batter was crisp and the fish was not falling apart inside. This, with chips and the peas was simple fare and was expertly cooked and very satisfying. Nothing elaborate needed or wanted here. The staff were friendly and cordial and competent.
This looks to be a properly run restaurant and obviously is very popular with the locals, always a good sign. I may pay it another visit before I leave Claremorris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro also viewed

Claremorris, County Mayo
 
Claremorris, County Mayo
Claremorris, County Mayo
 

Been to The Old Arch - Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing