We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at it's BEST”
Review of Oakdale Manor

Oakdale Manor
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Claremorris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakdale Manor
Ranked #3 of 7 Claremorris B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hospitality at it's BEST”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I booked this bed&breakfast at the last minute and little did I know what an absolute gem of a place it would turn out to be. From the moment you meet Carmel & Tom you are at home, they have gone above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and after a great nights sleep I was treated to an AMAZING BREAKFAST FIT FOR A KING. Many thanks to them both and to be sure I will return again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BeverleyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Very warm welcome, genial hosts, house with plenty of character. Excellent value for money

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

came on this place by accident and were we lucky, carmel and tom are perfect hosts, we planned to stay one night and stayed two, we really enjoyed this beautiful home , and the town has great bars and restaurants, we will be back

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pattie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Lovely house and spacious, clean room. We received a lovely welcome from Carmel with tea and biscuits and she couldn't offer to help us enough. Breakfasts are enormous and she's happy to cook you anything you want. Really quiet and relaxing and amazingly cheap.
Well recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RebeccaSackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

If you like historic settings and staying in centuries-old manor houses, the Oakdale Manor is a place to try. While very close to the center of town, it feels like one is staying on a large country site. The wonderful home is far more special than the typical B&B, and the host attends to many details when it comes to a guest's comfort. There are optional heating sources for those who want more warmth than other guests, the rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable, and the breakfast is great. Having wireless access is a nice benefit as well. A warm welcome and kind attention is well-appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leopardtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

I stayed in the wonderful Oakdale Manor last week as I had some business in the area. Carmel greeted me with tea, biscuits and a lovely chat! The room was beautiful and the shower was powerful (always something I look ot for!!)

I asked Carmel if she minded giving me a (very) early breakfast and what a spread appeared before me! It was gorgeous and I would love to stay there again, even if I didn't have to be exactly in Claremorris, I would certainly travel again.

Carmel could give courses on customer service as she is truly an expert and also, she knows how to keep her customers coming back - a recesssion will never affect a business like that!

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HighFlyerGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We've just returned from a wonderful week's holiday staying at Oakdale Manor. We have never met a hostess so helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Carmel even had a request played for us on the local radio station!
Make sure you diet before you stay there! Her breakfasts don't come in child-size portions!
The house is old and full of character. The three bedrooms are very spacious with high ceilings. Two of the rooms can be used as either a double or twin with a full ensuite bathroom, including bath as well as shower. Each room has a lovely settee to relax in the evenings. The third bedroom is a family room with a private shower room next door.
The house is set back from the main road, but if you want total peace ask for room 1 which is at the back of the house.
If you want to stay somewhere different from the run-of-the-mill Irish b&bs then Oakdale Manor won't disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travmanDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Claremorris hotels
0.6 mi away
McWilliam Park Hotel
McWilliam Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Claremorris
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#3 of 3 in Claremorris
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dalton Inn Hotel
Dalton Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Claremorris
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ashlawn
Ashlawn
#4 of 7 in Claremorris
5 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cloon River Bed & Breakfast
Cloon River Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Claremorris
56 reviews
3.3 mi away
Conway's Bed & Breakfast
Conway's Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 7 in Claremorris
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakdale Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakdale Manor

Property: Oakdale Manor
Address: Oakdale Manor Convent Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing