We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”
Review of Helm Wines

Helm Wines
Attraction details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Ken at Helm for the second time. We had previously visited at Easter this year. Helm doesn’t have a bad wine! His rieslings are incredible and the price is a steal. Our favourites are the premium and the Orange sourced grapes.

We had a real surprise with Helm’s Cabernet - they’ve done a brilliant job, this is a perfectly balanced wine.

The old school house as a cellar door is really special and a great tribute the local history of the area.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 890debd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old school"
in 11 reviews
"cabernet sauvignon"
in 4 reviews
"the owner"
in 7 reviews
"takes place"
in 2 reviews
"canberra region"
in 3 reviews
"cellar door"
in 15 reviews
"tasting room"
in 4 reviews
"wine industry"
in 2 reviews
"great wine"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 2 reviews
"wine tour"
in 2 reviews
"schoolhouse"
in 8 reviews
"rieslings"
in 8 reviews
"ken"
in 21 reviews
"joy"
in 3 reviews
"stories"
in 6 reviews
"premium"
in 3 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 38 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2018

A real treat to stop by this winery and to have a lovely chat with the Owner who is knowledgeable, friendly and a joy to be around. His wines were exceptional.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Tabsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

My wife and I visited Helm in July 2018. We had the small Cellar Door to ourselves and the owner, Ken ensured our 45 minutes was full of fine wine tasting, interesting local history lesson and good discussion. we had never met Ken before our visit but left feeling like old friends. We had a lovely time in this old school building come Cellar Door.
BTW we purchased a box of Riesling and it was fantastic as the centrepiece wine at a family party. Thank you Ken we will return.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

This is such a cute little tasting house - the winery tasting room is in an old school classroom, still with lots of the original fittings and accessories (including an ancient cash register machine!). However that is just an added aesthetic bonus, as let's be real, you come here for the WINES! I don't normally even like rieslings, so can someone please explain how I ended up buying a bottle and taking it home? The amount of love, care and years of knowledge of grapes and all things wine-making Ken has truly comes through in the wine itself. This man has perfected the wine-making so much that he doesn't even need to sell to retailers, just direct to restaurants who demand his supply of Helm Wines. We could have stayed all day just listening to his wisdom and stories, but we were on a schedule. Ken even has bottles of wine from the year you were born! If you are in the area, don't miss Helm Wines, it is definitely a must-see!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TravellingTaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2018

I have been wanting to visit Helm since i first tasted one of their Rieslings many moons ago.

Fantastic little spot for a wine taste in an old school classroom converted into a cellar door.

Ken was very generous with his time... and lots of stories and titbits about the history of wine and in particular Riesling was a highlight of our wine tour around Canberra.

The Rieslings were all great, my pick was the Central Ranges for $30. And I particularly liked the Cab Sauv

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helm Wines also viewed

Murrumbateman, New South Wales
Murrumbateman, New South Wales
 
Murrumbateman, New South Wales
Murrumbateman, New South Wales
 

Been to Helm Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing