We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Week”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tinker's Retreat

Rear View of Tinker's Retreat With Patio Area & Hot Tub & Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear View of Tinker's Retreat With Patio Area & Hot Tub & Garden
Spacious Lounge with a fabulous log burner for those cooler days One of the double bedrooms with luxury Joules bedding
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Rear View of Tinker's Retreat With Patio Area & Hot Tub & Garden
Spacious Lounge with a fabulous log burner for those cooler days
One of the double bedrooms with luxury Joules bedding
Second Double Bedroom with an original Victorian brass bedstead
Fabulous kitchen with all mod cons and stunning stained glass feature window
Family Bathroom with large bath to soak in and shower over.
Towels for the hot tub and bathrooms
Shower Room
Entrance Hall with feature stained glass windows
Patio area for those leisurely lunches and glasses of wine in the summer evenings
Space to escape and sit in the private large garden
Part of the rear garden and the conservatory against the Victorian garden wall.
Fabulous Hot Tub for 6. Relax and watch the stars at night - enjoy! (Tinks my labrador posing!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Worstead, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tessa B
1 review
“Relaxing Week”
Reviewed September 16, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We spent a lovely relaxing week at Tinker's Retreat with our 2 energetic Hungarian Vizslas. As we were only 2 ‘humans’ we had the choice of 3 double bedrooms and were similarly spoilt for choice where to sit in the spacious the hot tub. The well equipped accommodation had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The dogs also enjoyed exploring the large enclosed garden where there was plenty of room to play fetch.

We found Worstead itself to be pretty quiet, surrounded by narrow country roads without footpaths. However, there’s plenty to do locally within a short driving distance, with the Norfolk Broads on the doorstep (fun for boat watching), several dog friendly beaches and Bacton Woods nearby. We came home very relaxed with very tired dogs!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2018
Tessa. Delighted that you had a great week for doing just what holidays are for - relaxing. More importantly that your two Vizslas had a great time too. Doing the changeover after your departure was a sheer delight - you left the property immaculate - so many many thanks for that. You are welcome to return any time if you ever fancy it again. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette Y
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced. Not worth the money”
Reviewed September 8, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Emma and Alex were very hospitable and helpful. However, the rental is very overpriced. I did not realize at time of booking that it was only the downstairs of the house that was rented out. The pillows and bed are uncofortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2018
Thankyou for your review. I am sorry that you found the bed that you chose to sleep in and pillows uncomfortable - but a little surprised you never mentioned this before now or indeed tried any of the other 3 beds and the choice of 16 other pillows that there are in the house as there were only the two of you staying in a house for 6 people. If it was uncomfortable you could have quite easily slept in one of the other bedrooms as all of the rooms were completely made up.
My description of Tinker's quite clearly states that the accommodation is all on one level (2nd para of the description) and at no time were you ever overlooked as the first floor is completely separate and this is my private Sewing Studio which is only ever used if there is no one staying in Tinkers.
As for the price, yes it may have been more than other accommodations here in Norfolk that are priced and suitable for just 2 people - but you chose to stay here when it sleeps 6 with a private hot tub and with your dogs in high season and on top of that you booked and stayed for 2 extra nights privately with me - so a little bemused by this statement. If it was not value for money why would you book and stay for extra nights?

Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackss007...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tinkers Retreat”
Reviewed August 11, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this holiday cottage after looking at all the positive reviews and pictures on Trip Advisor.
Upon arrival at Tinkers Retreat first impressions were quite good. However the house had a lot of dust and cobwebs joining furniture to the walls in most rooms. Dont think any of the furniture has been pulled out and hoovered behind or underneath for quite a while as there was a tissue behind the bed in the main bedroom and a receipt dated 2016 under it.
My wife had to spend a considerable amount of time removing all the cobwebs and dust in most of the rooms. The frying pan was well used and burned so had to buy a new one. The conservatory needs a deep clean. The Hot tub did not look fresh and you had to add chemicals yourself without clear instructions.
Overall Tinkers Retreat is in an ideal rural location for a dog friendly holiday.The garden is well secure and the dogs really enjoyed it. The property just needs a deep clean.
Feel bad about writing this review as the owners seem nice but really disappointed.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2018
I have to say I am somewhat dumbfounded by your review here. Not once did you mention of any this whilst you were staying. You were asked on several occasions during the week if everything was ok and you said yes. You emailed me to say you had ran out of tabs for the hot tub which a further supply was made almost immediately and I specifically asked if you would like Alex to come round that afternoon to assist as you stated in your email you were having problems adding the chlorine. Not once did you respond.
It's a shame you did not pick up your dogs waste from the garden on departure as asked in our letter - there is nothing I like more than having to clean up the garden from dog poo..I am sorry that you could not find the time to let me know that you had so many issues with the property whilst you were staying so that they could have been sorted there and then. Unfortunately, unless you tell me something is wrong, then nothing can be done to rectify the matter.
Many thanks for the obvious lack of communication during your stay - you had my contact number to call me in the middle of the night when you locked yourself out and yet you couldn't use this number to tell me of all these 'problems'. It's funny how everyone else manages to look after the hot tub themselves when they stay - the instructions are the first thing in the manual to the house. If it was so bad on arrival (I can tell you it had been deep cleaned before your arrival and had been refilled with fresh water) as we do after every customer - after all who wants to sit in someone elses used bath water - then surely you would have complained there and then? You stayed for a whole week, ran into my partner down the lane walking your dogs, etc. etc. and said nothing?
Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairenor...
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real retreat”
Reviewed August 2, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a fantastic week here with our two boys (7 and 9) and our dog. The property is in such a peaceful location, it has a huge garden and the hot tub is great. The owners are very helpful and responsive. We shall definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2018
Claire. Thankyou for such a fantastic review and I think your two boys should be commended as the house was left just perfect - are you sure you have two boys as mine were definitely not that tidy! Joking aside, a big thankyou for leaving the property so beautiful and I am glad you had a great week - that's what holidays for . Please do come back soon. Emma
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R
1 review
“Tinkers Retreat, Worstead, Norfolk”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Spent the week at this lovely place with husband, 4 youngsters aged 21-25 and 2 dogs. Modern furnishings, clean and well equipped. Hot tub was a hit with all and dogs loved the garden which was large and secure. Luckily we had good weather so had 2 bbqs. Good base to explore Norfolk and walked some 30 miles during the week with dogs of course. Peaceful quiet and secluded spot. Thank you for wine and biscuits. May well return. Sherringham Park is well worth a visit and enjoyed crab sandwiches in Cromer at Cafe Main would recommend. Also the Station Smokehouse at Wroxham excellent. Thanks again Emma

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Karen. Glad you all had a great time and you would be more than welcome to return any time. You were certainly lucky with the weather and seemed to have discovered some of the jewels that Norfolk has for visitors to enjoy. Thankyou for taking the time to review and hopefully see you all again soon. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives1...
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent property”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

4 adults with 3 dogs have just returned from a lovely peaceful weekend in this comfortable cottage. The hot tub was enjoyed by all, thank you.
Thank you very much for the little extras which were very appreciated.
One little suggestion is regarding the grass which had recently been cut but not collected which resulted in us constantly having the dustpan and brush in our hands.
However this was a minor detail.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2018
Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your weekend away in Tinker's Retreat. Apologies regarding the grass - our lawnmower seems to spit more out than it collects at the moment - perhaps we have been working it too hard!! If you would ever like to return you are all more than welcome and thankyou for leaving the property so clean and tidy - much appreciated. Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sstern66
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Area”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were 3 couples and really enjoyed the weekend, peaceful area, surrounded with fields.

The hot tub was really relaxing at night.

The only downside was the shower which had very low pressure and the Wifi was very slow too.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2018
Thankyou for the review, We are in a rural area of Norfolk so when you compare our superfast Broadband to that which you get in London - it will be slow. But it really isn't! As the saying goes here - " It' s Normal For Norfolk". A bit the same really as when you asked me where Starbucks is - we don't have Starbucks out here in the countryside. Despite this I am glad you enjoyed your weekend away using the hot tub and relaxing a little - that's what Tinker's Retreat is all about - getting away from everyday life for a while. Emma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing