We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend”
Review of Solscape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solscape
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

For the price that you pay for a train carriage room, I would expect more-damp and freezing cold. The staff were quite nice on check in but after that they dont really want anything to do with you because they are too busy hanging out with the long termers staying there.
The showers are cold. I apreciate that this is an eco hostel but for $68 I would at least expect a hot shower. Also, didn´t feel very comfortable using the kitchen because the long termers take over the space and you feel as if you are invading.

Overall quite disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessi_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolscapeEcoRetreat, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Jessi we're really sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience.

We've taken your comments very seriously, and have made some changes since your stay.

- we have installed backup gas heating for the showers for when the solar heating is inadequate or their is heavy usage.

- we have improved and focused our volunteer induction process to educate our volunteers - who share the communal facilities with guests - on how guests like yourself experience them as a group, and have set clearer expectations on their interactions in the communal facilities to give guests priority of access and to foster an atmosphere of inclusion and community. Our staff work very hard to create a warm inviting culture and our guests are of utmost importance to us!! We were not aware that there was this 'other side', and since we have put into action steps to manage this.

- at times Volunteers may also help out at Reception if needed, and this would of been the case for your experience of a staff member being inconsistent in being a 'host' - from Reception to later on in the evening Shared Facilities. We have addressed this in our Volunteer induction and Reception training.

- We have increased the warmth of the bedding we provide in all rooms, and we have made available hot water bottles. All rooms have heaters.

Although we wish that it hadn't been like this for you, we appreciate that you shed light on areas that needed improvement. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    63
    29
    20
    10
See reviews for
22
81
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

This place was a mixed bag of experiences, mainly negative. On the positive side was the view and some of the people we met there. On the negative was a rooster crowing from 4.30am right through to 8am! That in my opinion is appalling. Why the camp owners do not have the rooster away from the camp is a mystery as it guaranteed a really bad nights sleep for me and my partner. Also there was no hot water, only warm water during the day and then cold at night. The fridge had no shelves so all the food was piled from the floor up. The toilet light did not work. The site that our tent went on wasnt flat which is odd considering it is exclusively a tent site. On the whole, great idea, terrible execution.

ps: the tipi's are ages away from the camp ground through the bush, no car access, dark and a bit dank.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takuhaha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolscapeEcoRetreat, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback, though it is really unfortunate to read of your negative experience.
We seek to create a positive quality of experience for all our guests, so we have taken your comments seriously and since your stay we have made improvements.

- in regards to the rooster, it was a tricky situation that we were unable to remedy as urgently as we would of liked as it was not actually a rooster of ours on our property, but at a close neighbours. We have managed to come to a community agreement on him and ... how shall I say... he has 'moved' on since.

- we have installed backup gas heating for the showers for when the solar heating is inadequate or their is heavy usage.

- we had a rough run with our fridges for a short spell this summer, giving rise to our main ones requiring servicing, and we had to use our spare one/s in the interim. We do sincerely apologise that the appliance was not of a good enough standard during your stay.

- thorough daily checks of our lights was refocused with staff.

- this is the first complaint we have received in regards to the flatness levels of our tent sites. This winter we will be looking at this space with your comment in mind.

The Tipi Retreat is intended to be a secluded, private space away from the main area, that is a retreat into nature. We do not allow car access as it important to us to eliminate the noise and pollution of cars. It is a unique experience that many guests rave about, but may not suit everyone. As it is situated in the forest, if the weather is particularly stormy and wet, it is not picture perfect for some expectations, yet during fine weather it is truly magic. We work hard to manage the area to a high standard with varying weather conditions. We market this accommodation as 'luxury camping' which correctly reflects the experience, and we provide quality beds and bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Whilst Solscape is definetly a eco retreat it is best suited to students and surfers only. The idea benind Solscape and the different forms of accomodation is great however the communal cooking area was undesirable. I felt like i was invading someones kitchen as the staff and longterm travellers take rain over facilities.The barbacue area was unkept and dirty so had to cook our meat on stove top instead. No space available to store your food either, each room should have an allocated area/cupboard . Compost kept under the sink in the kitchen area with no lid on is a bad idea as it attracts flies. I suggest either a lid get put on or it get kept outside. Like i said its fine as a backpacker for students or surfers passing through. Michelle

Room Tip: steer clear of the large earthdome if very tall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We booked in to solascape for new years for 4 days and stayed at the ivy cottage. We also had a group of 24 others staying in the tipi and tent retreat. Unfortunatly the weather was terrible with lots of rain, however we made the most of it and had a great time. Ivy was perfect for our group of 6. Ivy was also far enough away from the other tents and houses etc so we still had ou privacy. Would recommend this to anyone wanting privacy and great surf views

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neobarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I can't understand how this place has got any positive reviews. The staff were friendly when booking in but once off duty wanted nothing more to do with you. We stayed in one of the train carriages, which was a novelty but it was extremely cold-even with the heating on. There is also no hot water, neither for your shower in the morning or for doing your dishes in the evening-for 68dollars I would at least expect a hot shower. The place is also full of long termers who take over the kitchen/dining/common area in the evening so you feel about as welcome as a rat when you dare to venture in there to cook your dinner. Overall extremely disappointing. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank begley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolscapeEcoRetreat, Manager at Solscape, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello Begley, we're really sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience.
We have been made aware by similar comments here on tripadvisor of where we have needed to make improvements for guests, and take this seriously as providing positive experiences for our guests is a priority to us.

Since receiving your feedback we have made appropriate improvements...

- we have installed backup gas heating for the showers for when the solar heating is inadequate or their is heavy usage.

- we have improved and focused our volunteer induction process to educate our volunteers - who share the communal facilities with guests - on how guests like yourself experience them as a group, and have set clearer expectations on their interactions in the communal facilities to give guests priority of access and to foster an atmosphere of inclusion and community. Our staff work very hard to create a warm inviting culture and our guests are of utmost importance to us!! We were not aware that there was this 'other side', and since we have put into action steps to manage this.

- at times Volunteers may also help out at Reception if needed, and this would of been the case for your experience of a staff member being inconsistent in being a 'host' - from Reception to later on in the evening Shared Facilities. We have addressed this in our Volunteer induction and Reception training.

- We have increased the warmth of the bedding we provide in all rooms, and we have made available hot water bottles. All rooms have heaters.

Thank you bringing your experience to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

After a long drive from Auckland,i found Solscape Eco retreat Hostel in Raglan...5-6 km from downtown,great location and views above the famous surfing beach just few minutes down hill...you can rent surf gear or take surfing lessons.
first time crashing in one train wagon! don't how they moved them! but they look so cool...if you want more silence you can stay in one Tipi following the small road into the forest.
i arrived alone driving and then i came back to AKL with 4 new friends!
love BBH hostels
cheers
betour

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Beach, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Great location and views, nice helpful people, & affordable. I had a great time & will be coming back for sure. Thank you Solscape.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelShapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raglan hotels
2.8 mi away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Raglan Palm Beach Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
234 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solscape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solscape

Property: Solscape
Address: 611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Raglan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Solscape 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private facilities for couples, families or small groups. For those happy to share facilities take your pick from recycled railway cabooses and earth domes or experience glamping in our Tipi Forest Retreat set in native bush. The Te Ao Whanga Eco Camp provides a limited number of tent and van sites with solar heated showers and an indoor-outdoor kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Solscape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solscape Hotel Raglan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing